sunzoner

Insurance company is just like bank.
At sunny day, they lend you a umbrella.
When raining, they took it away !

And CPF life is any different?

no wait... it is different...

in Sunny day, it takes money away from you, in raining day, I dunnoe if they give you anything back...

tiny

The monthly payout how come it is not being pegged to inflation?

gerbers76

cpf no hope jus use it to buy big hdb and invest it.
i dun think i can take back any when i retire!
faint when think of it! all my hard earn money in gov hands.

cscs3

If the govt present no choice to you, then vote for another party loh.

In USA, they do the same.

How do you know another party will not do the same or something worse?

Just like the co-pilot theory ?

hwmook

Just like a person complaining that he is getting fatter everyday and doing nothing to improve it.

Just a frog getting slowly cooked in a pot of hot water, his reason for not jumping out is the next pot might be even hotter.

Keep it simple stupid. The best principle is simplicity, if you think so much you won't ever get down to doing it, vote for change, make them learn a lesson.

sunzoner

Then vote in another party loh. Else how? Keep doing the same thing (vote for incumbent) and hope it will change for the better?

sanzhu

u r du7mb

u actually belive u going be paig

pioneer generation has sucked billions from the budget

guess wad

u take the future generations slavery to pay for you

simon_84

cpf no hope jus use it to buy big hdb and invest it.
i dun think i can take back any when i retire!
faint when think of it! all my hard earn money in gov hands.

if you don't go for the singaporean dream of owing a hdb, you would have more than enough to meet the minimum sum.

cpf life ensures that you have a monthly payout that is suppose to last 20 years after official retirement age.
unless you're damn good in generating passive income per month then this scheme probably is useless to you.

orwell76

if you don't go for the singaporean dream of owing a hdb, you would have more than enough to meet the minimum sum.

cpf life ensures that you have a monthly payout that is suppose to last 20 years after official retirement age.
unless you're damn good in generating passive income per month then this scheme probably is useless to you.

I calculated minimum sum is at $530k when I am 67, can CPF Life honor payouts of $4100 a month?

simon_84

The monthly payout how come it is not being pegged to inflation?

correct, minimum sum scheme pegged to inflation but cpf life doesn't...
anyway best is to take up the standard plan with higher payout.

simon_84

I calculated minimum sum is at $530k when I am 67, can CPF Life honor payouts of $4100 a month?

my dad only got 1k plus only, you ever heard anyone paid that high before ?
even if cpf life cannot afford to pay out so much, well at least there is some money for your descendents ?

orwell76

even if cpf life cannot afford to pay out so much, well at least there is some money for your descendents ?

so it's CPF AfterLife fund?

orwell76

this one you would have to ask the high net worth individuals, provided that they are willing to disclose :s13:

I not high nett worth but got lots of cpf can kpkb or not

cpf%2B2015.jpg

sunzoner

What is the purpose of CPF? To save for my retirement? or to pass money to my descendents after I left?

The policy must match the objective. Since CPF's declared objective is for me to save the money for my retirement, I would say it failed shall I be unable to access the money when I want to retire.

Why would CPF life be unable to pay out? Wasnt the money transferred to government through a bond? Hence, safe? The government would just need to check its committed payout obligation. Then, it sells the "investment" to fund the payout.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.