CPF OA

dork32

Your reply looks contradicting. Own family talk about trust, other people family talk about mistrust. :s8:

you posted too quickly lah

i am just looking from another angle. i really sounded ridiculous, right?

many of us are also doing such things.

cheongmanz

There are many gaps that can be exploited in what henry posted.

but they are a family. they dont sabo each other. they trust each other. no need lawyer, court or anything to ensure that they keep to their part of the deal.

What problems?

My father has a joint posb account with me, but the whole 6 figure balance in it is his and earning 0.05% only

I brought my to a bank and made him sign all the required documents to open a joint savings account that offer 1% interest. Then I transfer 49k from our joint account to the new account (with his prior knowledge).

Without telling me, he told my sis that 49k has been drawn from his posb without his knowledge or permission and he is not happy.

He also told another sis, I had use his money to buy a hdb flat as I had prior to that bought a hdb flat in his sole name in preparation for a day when my sis would kick him out :s13:

But he never question or tell any of my sis that he is receiving the monthly bank statement from the new bank that shows the 49k plus better monthly interest.

Now he doesn't trust me. Like that how?

Never trust anyone with $$$, including close ones, unless you are fully prepared to lose the whole lot.

:s8::s8::s8:

BBCWatcher

but they are a family. they dont sabo each other. they trust each other.
We understand that! But creditors and courts don't care about the trust relationships and informal assurances/insurances within families. They just want, and will get, their assets if there's a problem. The insurance characteristics of family relationships are enhanced when titles to assets are reasonably well distributed across the family. It's like having multiple watertight compartments on a ship instead of having the whole ship sink when there's a single misfortune. And even the most responsible family member -- not a given in the thread starter's case -- can experience misfortune.

With respect to children, they're not legally competent to hold and manage title (with rare exceptions), but that's not any sort of argument for why an adult who can hold title ought to be zeroed out. It is an argument why parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc. -- the caregivers and extended caregivers of children -- ought to have separate legal title to assets, to some degree anyway. ("Zero is the wrong answer.")

And Dork32, why are you protesting? You're really, really having trouble accepting a rare complement. You didn't zero out your parent's assets. There is still significant asset title diversity in your extended family.

dork32

henry, u come from a crazy family? u dont trust each other but keep on shafting money up each other?

dork32

We understand that! But creditors and courts don't care about the trust relationships and informal insurances within families. They just want, and will get, their assets if there's a problem. The insurance characteristics of family relationships are enhanced when titles to assets are reasonably well distributed across the family. It's like having multiple watertight compartments on a ship instead of having the whole ship sink when there's a single misfortune. And even the most responsible family member -- not a given in the thread starter's case -- can experience misfortune.
creditors and courts dont care. but do they have any involvement here?

mother give son hdb. what has that got to do with creditors?

BBCWatcher

YES! That's an omnipresent risk everybody faces, to some degree.

Extending the ship analogy, it's possible for a ship to run into an iceberg or a rock. If any hull breach results in water flooding the whole ship, the whole ship sinks. Compartments -- separate asset titling -- prevent the loss from spreading. Random bad luck happens occasionally, through no fault of your own. And fault is still possible, of course.

If a mother gives up her only home and most or all of her money, then anything bad that happens to you is disaster for her, automatically. The whole family ship sinks, with all hands on board.

....But that's not you, Dork32. That's NOT what you did, and I don't know why you're spending so much time and effort arguing in favor of something you didn't do.

cheongmanz

mother give son hdb. what has that got to do with creditors?

For TS's mom case, it does make a difference.

Good ending
TS is trustworthy and filial. TS stay with his / her mom forever

Bad ending
TS got into trouble for whatever reason that leads to him losing his house and money. TS's mom lan lan suck thumb because she doesn't leave plan B for herself.

henrylbh

For TS's mom case, it does make a difference.

Good ending
TS is trustworthy and filial. TS stay with his / her mom forever

Bad ending
TS got into trouble for whatever reason that leads to him losing his house and money. TS's mom lan lan suck thumb because she doesn't leave plan B for herself.

TS may be protecting his mother/inheritance from the mother's lover?

maple96

hi guys, just for discussion sake.

Objective: Take out maximum CPF OA (for whatever reasons)

Situation: To take over mom's flat. My SA met the current FRS. OA = $380k. My mom's RA met the Retirement Sum for her cohort. She used her OA to pay loan for flat. Current OA+accr interest is $100k. She sells flat to me for $350k.

Now, for me, i can fully pay the flat using my OA, as for her, she can get $350k in cash (correct me if i'm wrong). Assuming she doesn't keep a single cent, theoretically she can return the $350k to me and by doing so, I have "taken out" my CPF OA.

Does it work this way?

Based on what u explained above, u are exploring a "possible hack" so u can indirectly withdraw your CPF OA prior to 55.

For u to confirm if this hack works entirely and properly, it is best to meet HDB to discuss the conditions and requirements u need to meet before this transfer can be executed as u planned (without telling them the last bit where your mum will give u money :s13:)

Since u want to get the cash out ultimately, u would be exploring a resale transaction (not just add u as additional owner or transfer ownership), read some info here https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/r...changing-owners-occupiers/change-in-ownership

Per the hdb website which talks about part sale, it can be done between family members at a mutually agreed price. What about full sale?

You will have to pay your mum at least the cpf monies and accrued interest to be returned back to her CPF. If she is eligible to withdraw cos she is above 55, she can withdraw after that.

As to the $350k resale price, u have to check/confirm how much u are eligible to withdraw from your CPF for housing. Confirm with HDB whether independent valuation is required to withdraw that amt from CPF. If everything is ok, u can use your CPF of $350k to pay your mum, part CPF in cash and part into her CPF.

There u are your hack! Trust u will take good care of your mum

(i have no experience, just logical thinking based on what I read at HDB website)

rrr2015

100k not enough to make yourself disappear or hide safely lolz

i agree if everyone are trustworthy & act with integrity, society can do away with less rules & laws

what will happen if you run away with this 100k? you poor dad will have zilt, zedo, kosong, nothing.

Eighty7

i judge myself. there is nothing wrong with what i am doing.

i am tokkng to you now. is your name ownself

my heart is definitely better than many people here. definitely better than yours.

*Yawn*

Definition of Dork
a silly, out-of-touch person who tends to look odd or behave ridiculously around others; a social misfit

dork32

If a mother gives up her only home and most or all of her money, then anything bad that happens to you is disaster for her, automatically. The whole family ship sinks, with all hands on board.

in our society, if the son sinks, it is very likely the mom will give up everything, including her home and money to save him

you see screwing. his parents sold their home in sg such that he can train in the us. i have seen age group champions becoming mediocre adult swimmers. imagine if this guy ends up no 3 in singapore. he does not even get a chance to swim for the country

dork32

Based on what u explained above, u are exploring a "possible hack" so u can indirectly withdraw your CPF OA prior to 55.

For u to confirm if this hack works entirely and properly, it is best to meet HDB to discuss the conditions and requirements u need to meet before this transfer can be executed as u planned (without telling them the last bit where your mum will give u money :s13:)

Since u want to get the cash out ultimately, u would be exploring a resale transaction (not just add u as additional owner or transfer ownership), read some info here https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/r...changing-owners-occupiers/change-in-ownership

Per the hdb website which talks about part sale, it can be done between family members at a mutually agreed price. What about full sale?

You will have to pay your mum at least the cpf monies and accrued interest to be returned back to her CPF. If she is eligible to withdraw cos she is above 55, she can withdraw after that.

As to the $350k resale price, u have to check/confirm how much u are eligible to withdraw from your CPF for housing. Confirm with HDB whether independent valuation is required to withdraw that amt from CPF. If everything is ok, u can use your CPF of $350k to pay your mum, part CPF in cash and part into her CPF.

There u are your hack! Trust u will take good care of your mum

(i have no experience, just logical thinking based on what I read at HDB website)

yes this is logical. and it works

dork32

Bad ending

correct. there is a risk and there is no plan b.

but if one is confident that plan a can be executed to perfection, plan b is a redundancy.

BBCWatcher

in our society, if the son sinks, it is very likely the mom will give up everything, including her home and money to save him
Right, that’s precisely the point! SHE CANNOT rescue her child. She has already been zeroed out! The first catastrophe is the mortal one, financially.

Diversity of title protects the rescuer(s).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.