CPF Questions

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

Mistranslated

1. If your spouse pass away and you found out he/she did not nominate you for CPF, and nominated someone else instead. What can you do? Or what should be done? Or LL?

2. How to decide who to nominate for my CPF? Who did you give to? Did you split it into portions and give parents, spouse, children, etc? Or give 100% to 1 person? How to decide?

3. Besides CPF nominations, anything else need to do while still living? Prepare will?

qhong61

1. If your spouse pass away and you found out he/she did not nominate you for CPF, and nominated someone else instead. What can you do? Or what should be done? Or LL?

2. How to decide who to nominate for my CPF? Who did you give to? Did you split it into portions and give parents, spouse, children, etc? Or give 100% to 1 person? How to decide?

3. Besides CPF nominations, anything else need to do while still living? Prepare will?
To charity

reddevil0728

LL, unless you have evidence that the nomination is done fraudulently then can you go challenge it in court
Don’t nominate means follow intestate succession act, u can go consult whether you agree with the split or use it as the baseline to tweak it.

or really up to you? It’s like nobody can help you decide whether you like to eat laksa or not
Can check out mylegacy website.

can consider ACP, AMD.
Lol! No scare family don't burn u offerings next time?
If they believe in such thing.

sohguanh

They burn or don't burn, you will know meh?
Precisely you already burn to ashes put inside an urn hosted in Mandai Crematorium. How the hell you know they will burn or don't burn for you offerings. Ppl who think of such are those old era ppl with old fashioned thinking. Nowadays ppl is see monies. You die got how much monies to get. Filial piety? Wait long long lor. So best strategy is die as a pauper no monies. You don't trouble them and they don't squabble among themselves over your dead monies.

reddevil0728

Precisely you already burn to ashes put inside an urn hosted in Mandai Crematorium. How the hell you know they will burn or don't burn for you offerings. Ppl who think of such are those old era ppl with old fashioned thinking. Nowadays ppl is see monies. You die got how much monies to get. Filial piety? Wait long long lor. So best strategy is die as a pauper no monies. You don't trouble them and they don't squabble among themselves over your dead monies.
Actually by the same logic right, if die already will know got filial piety?

and whatever they do to squabble you also wouldn’t know so doesn’t matter die as pauper or got money ma.

Value.Matrix

1. LL no choice. CPF follows the nomination

2. I put percentage to ensure intestate act does not act out. For myself, wife 98%, parents 1%, sister 1%. The 1% 1% becomes 50/50 when wife is not around. You reminded me to add my children in lol. I have to update it.

3. Prepare a non-contestable, simple (straight forward) will (meaning non-ambigous). Else ugly sia if people start contesting it.

reddevil0728

2. I put percentage to ensure intestate act does not act out. For myself, wife 98%, parents 1%, sister 1%. The 1% 1% becomes 50/50 when wife is not around. You reminded me to add my children in lol. I have to update it.

3. Prepare a non-contestable, simple (straight forward) will (meaning non-ambigous). Else ugly sia if people start contesting it.
no such thing as non-contestable will one lor.

anything can be contested.

Even if simple straight forward non-ambiguous, ppl can still contest if done under duress or sound mind

sohguanh

Ppl contest becuz got monies so if you think you gg soon try to spend your monies more. Accident cannot forsee too bad. But if terminal illness or old age I believe one can sense their time coming.

starlight318

Ownself decide who to give la why need to ask other ppl? Better get a will done if you don't want to follow the standard intestate succession act.

sohguanh

Ownself decide who to give la why need to ask other ppl? Better get a will done if you don't want to follow the standard intestate succession act.
Ask other ppl to get some inspiration mah. If you don't like such topic can ignore wonderful feature in this forum.

sohguanh

Ask s-ghost be the executor of the will that say no burn no money.
There was a documentary done on this before. The lonely dead no ppl turn up the funeral operator will do some good deed fork out monies give the dead a decent end which I presume burn to ashes and a place for the urn in Mandai Crematorium.

DevilPlate

Always good to prepare Will. Make things alot simpler for your family.

sohguanh

Always good to prepare Will. Make things alot simpler for your family.
If not much monies also make a will? A bit waste of everybody time isn't it? Ppl want monies of the dead usually unless they want to keep the dead person clothes blanket shoes etc for remembrance so quarrel who shall get which item?

DevilPlate

If not much monies also make a will? A bit waste of everybody time isn't it? Ppl want monies of the dead usually unless they want to keep the dead person clothes blanket shoes etc for remembrance so quarrel who shall get which item?
Will is cheap…..few hundred nia to draft unless u HNW than probably need few ks to draft a complicated one whahaha

it will make things alot simpler and faster.
Anyway u sounded like hate yr kids so no Will better lah…..let them go thru the painful process lor LOL

sohguanh

Will is cheap…..few hundred nia to draft unless u HNW than probably need few ks to draft a complicated one whahaha

it will make things alot simpler and faster.
Anyway u sounded like hate yr kids so no Will better lah…..let them go thru the painful process lor LOL
No or not much monies the ppl won't go waste time get what probate etc lah. Only when got monies then make effort. This is only logical.

I see enough close to me case dead is a pauper very peaceful. Dead got monies so many quarrel among offsprings. Hence I think die penniless is best no create problem for your offsprings.

qhong61

No or not much monies the ppl won't go waste time get what probate etc lah. Only when got monies then make effort. This is only logical.

I see enough close to me case dead is a pauper very peaceful. Dead got monies so many quarrel among offsprings. Hence I think die penniless is best no create problem for your offsprings.
But u have fixed deposits.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.