tiny
sorry. you must live till 88 then break even.
You counted it based on principal value? Won't the dollar gets weaker by a certain percent over the years?
With the new recommendations, it seems like they may be removing the ceiling...
Does this calculation take the bequeathed amount into consideration?
yes ..........
Not really. Bequest is the leftover after calculating the payout. It is not taken into account in calculating the payout.
included 4% ra interest in the calculation.
Sorry, let me clarify my earlier question... Your calculation had factored the monthly payouts (fixed value) being drawn down from a lump sum (consistently growing at 4% PA) and therefore the "breakeven" age is 88?
Thanks.
Sorry, let me clarify my earlier question... Your calculation had factored the monthly payouts (fixed value) being drawn down from a lump sum (consistently growing at 4% PA) and therefore the "breakeven" age is 88?
Thanks.
my calculation is very simple.
according to cpf life calculator,
150k in retirement account at 65 will give a payout of 820/mth for a male
for the old min sum scheme. this 150k will earn an interest of 4%. if you continue to draw it down at 820 a month, it will last for 23 years, 88 years old
if you die before 88, the bequest amount of the min sum scheme is definitely higher than the cpf life standard (which is a joke).
if you die at 88, both schemes also 0 bequest, so break even.
if you die after 88, both scheme also 0 bequest, but cpf life will continue to give a payout whereas min sum dont. so you tan teo
I believe he needs to take a constant interest of 4% and assume it never change in order to do a projection. CPF Life pays a lower amount compare to CPF MSS and the former needs more years to get the same amount as the latter even if interest rate drops. The former will get a smaller payout and the latter a shorter payout period.

i see. using cpf life payout estimator using $80500, from age 65 monthly payout ~448-474. means this amount ~last for 14 years
if i live till 80++ means tan dioso good meh
that's how annuities work in a nutshell, they take the money from the ppl who lugi to pay the ppl who tan tio
You forget to add:
"after deducting whatever overhead/profit (black box model)."
Your monthly payout for life* from 65
Retirement Account Savings required at age 55
If you own a property and have sufficient charge/pledge on the property.
$660 - $720
Basic Retirement Sum (BRS)
($80,500 in 2016)
If you do not own a property or choose not to pledge your property.
$1,220 - $1,320
Full Retirement Sum (FRS)
($161,000 in 2016)
The FRS is 2 × BRS
If you wish to put more savings in CPF LIFE.
$1,770 - $1,920
Enhanced Retirement Sum (ERS)
($241,500 in 2016)
The ERS is 3 × BRS.
Basic Retirement Sum
Age 55 in 2016 $80,500
Age 55 in 2017 $83,000
Age 55 in 2018 $85,500
Age 55 in 2019 $88,000
Age 55 in 2020 $90,500
The main changes are out. The term Minimum Sum has been retired. Ok, bad pun.
Here are the quoted retirement sums and CPF LIFE monthly payouts for the 2016 cohort (those who turn 55 in 2016):
And the retirement sums up to 2020, increasing by 3% per year.
- http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/CPFChanges/COS2015_CPF.htm
Before the usual suspects show up to despair about how the retirement sum will keep increasing forever and ever, 3% a year is less than the current SMRA rate, so those who already have $80,500 or thereabouts are already set.
any idea when we need to make the choice of BRS, FRS or ERS? at age55?
they changed the minimum sum to retirement sum, make me feel my cpf unsecure, which's mean anytime they suka suka extended our retirement working age and the draw out of cpf retirement sum also extended beyond 65?