CPF SA

Just a note, topping up of kid's SA under RSTU does not qualify for tax relief. Only spouse, parents and grandparents qualify, subject to conditions listed on CPF's website.

yar did $7000 cash topup to aunty polar in May already,next year do on new year day:s12::s12:

BBCWatcher

yar did $7000 cash topup to aunty polar in May already,next year do on new year day:s12::s12:
Not on January 1. Your recipient gets no extra interest if your top up is credited on January 1 versus January 31, but you lose almost an entire month of bank interest on your cash. True, bank interest is pretty low right now, but why not keep the bank interest?

A top up via PayNow QR on January 30 is fine. The only reason you'd do it any earlier is if you're trying to beat some other contribution (a compulsory contribution), and your recipient has very little room to some limit that applies, such as the Full Retirement Sum.

Now best time to pump in stock market wor

:(

You do voluntary contribution and jiak cai png ah. How u hit 121k so early
:(
K4y6Xk2l.jpg

Now 126k liao... :(

Lucky lor... :(

Sent from . using GAGT

StaRChO

Hi All,

Example: If RSS is an option, would you choose it over CPF life if currently, your RA is around 160k? You are 63 years old now.

Appreciate your response

reddevil0728

Hi All,

Example: If RSS is an option, would you choose it over CPF life if currently, your RA is around 160k? You are 63 years old now.

Appreciate your response
How old do you expect yourself to live until?

That makes a difference in the decision

henrylbh

Hi All,

Appreciate your response

First log in and note how much is your monthly payout from age 65. Next use CPF Life Estimator and note how much is the monthly payout. Next ask God hoe long you would live. The former would last to about 86+ and the latter last for life.

BBCWatcher

A couple points:

1. "Relax." You don't have to start classic RSS or CPF LIFE payouts until as late as age 70. So you need not make any payout plan decision for 6+ more years, whereupon you have that much more information about your health. Generally speaking you should wait to start payouts until you actually need the payouts.

2. "You can change your mind, sort of." If you start classic RSS payouts, you still have the option to switch to CPF LIFE as long as you do it no later than age 79.9 (a couple months before your 80th birthday). Naturally since you've drained a significant chunk of your CPF Retirement Account by then your CPF LIFE monthly payout won't be as large compared to starting payouts from the beginning with CPF LIFE.

cscs3

A couple points:

1. "Relax." You don't have to start classic RSS or CPF LIFE payouts until as late as age 70. So you need not make any payout plan decision for 6+ more years, whereupon you have that much more information about your health. Generally speaking you should wait to start payouts until you actually need the payouts.

2. "You can change your mind, sort of." If you start classic RSS payouts, you still have the option to switch to CPF LIFE as long as you do it no later than age 79.9 (a couple months before your 80th birthday). Naturally since you've drained a significant chunk of your CPF Retirement Account by then your CPF LIFE monthly payout won't be as large compared to starting payouts from the beginning with CPF LIFE.

Point #1. Is age 65 but option to extend to age 70. (Higher pay out due to interest accumulated for another 5 years).

You will receive a letter at age 64 so you can indicate to opt out from that.

BBCWatcher

Point #1. Is age 65 but option to extend to age 70. (Higher pay out due to interest accumulated for another 5 years).

You will receive a letter at age 64 so you can indicate to opt out from that.
No, it's the other way around nowadays. The CPF Board won't start CPF LIFE payouts until age 70 unless you, the member, take action. If you do nothing, the default is age 70 payout start no matter how many inquisitive letters the CPF Board might send. Likewise, the default CPF LIFE payout plan is the Standard Plan. If you want another payout plan you have to take action.

For older cohorts the defaults could have been different, but that's the current policy and practice.

ranchfarm

Hi, I read that topping up $7000 to SA annually with cash is the best recommendation around here. Is there any advantage to topping up more than 7000 for that 4%?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.