CPF SA

doratch

Sorry, noob here. How is 300k enough for retirement, assuming you have 300k in sa.

From 55—85 years old. A good 30 years with 300k. Each year only 10k. Every month less than 1k to draw out.

In my case wife not working at all, but that time the 2 of us sure jiak sia one la.

You can use the CPF LIFE calculator to estimate.
Using 300k as a retirement sum at age 55, the CPF LIFE calculator estimated a monthly sum of $2116 to $2353 payout for standard plan from 65yrs old onwards.

CPF is generally a function of age :(

Too much in CPF means you are slowly growing old. In your 30s, 40s and 50s soon. What is that few hundred k when you are at that age :(

Time is more precious

Yar
Marry young get BTO raise kids
Work lifelong don’t even look at CPF
whoever don’t use CPFOA for HDB is just plain stupid

hardwaregone

Screen shot the amount in the life calculator and compare to a few years later or before.

The numbers won't remain constant and may differ alot in future.

The numbers reflected are probably base on the current cohort of PG or MG. :(

darknite84

Transfer OA to SA, once hit FRS, cannot deposit 7k cash for tax rebate anymore. Take note that for RSTU, any cpf or cash will be placed into a different bucket for cpf life. It will not be allowed to be withdrawn. So just try to make sure your RSTU amount doesn't gets too ridiculously big.

Gitaro

Hi the interest from OA or SA? Thinking of doing the same.

Once you fulfill your minimum sum requirement (for me it was $176 k under FRS), any balance amount in SA and OA will continue to earn interests at prevailing rates. As I am >55 now, I can withdraw any amount anytime. I had even paid back under voluntary housing refunds so as to increase my balance in SA/OA so as to earn more interests risk-free.

If one day the rule changes and not to my favour, (I think unlikely for those of us already >55), I will just withdraw all before the rule comes into effect.

KnyghtRyder

highsulphur

You can only top up beyond FRS if you are above 55. Otherwise topping up to the prevailing FRS is the max.. the calculation you attached shows it clearly.

Where did it state there's no FRS cap for topup when one's above 55?

KnyghtRyder

Where did it state there's no FRS cap for topup when one's above 55?

You can top up beyond FRS after 55 because that is how for some people you get to the ERS... it is in the example shown in the message I replied to..

And I didn't say there was no cap... The cap is obviously the ERS..

highsulphur

You can top up beyond FRS after 55 because that is how for some people you get to the ERS... it is in the example shown in the message I replied to..

And I didn't say there was no cap... The cap is obviously the ERS..

Oh thanks.

Mysterio2020

Dear all,

Please advise me on the following.

OA: $62,996
SA: $166,311
MA: $60,000

Property
Net Amount Used (OA): $159,703
Accrued Interest: $25,639

Investment
Net Amount Used
OA: $66,929
SA: $30,000

Given that as at 1 Jan 2020:
Basic Retirement Sum (BRS) 90,500
Full Retirement Sum (2 x BRS) 181,000
Enhanced Retirement Sum (3 x BRS) 271,500

I am 53 this year. Should I top up OA or can I still top up SA? How much can I top up? At the bare minimum, I should top up OA by the net amt used + accrued interest for property so that I can enjoy the 2.5% interest, am I right?

Can I pledge my property for the ERS? What's the implication when I sell my property beyond 60 years of my age? The proceeds will go to my retirement account because of the former?
WHat elese can I do?

Dear all,

Property

Investment
Net Amount Used

I am 53 this year. Should I top up OA or can I still top up SA? How much can I top up? At the bare minimum, I should top up OA by the net amt used + accrued interest for property so that I can enjoy the 2.5% interest, am I right?

Can I pledge my property for the ERS? What's the implication when I sell my property beyond 60 years of my age? The proceeds will go to my retirement account because of the former?
WHat elese can I do?

you can still transfer OA to SA fill up $181k now

SKenny

K5fDKzGl.jpg

52 years.... starting pay at 20 years old was $650

Sent from Xiaomi MI 9T using GAGT

I am also above 50 years old but my SA only has about $100k. :(:o:(

yoongf

What is your spouse CPF figures?

Dear all,

Property

Investment
Net Amount Used

WHat elese can I do?

iceblendedchoc

Dear all,

Property

Investment
Net Amount Used

WHat elese can I do?

You can transfer your OA to SA if you do not want to use cash. The limit is Th e current FRS.

You can pledge your property for BRS only. If you sell your property after you pledge, they will deduct the money to make up of whatever you pledged for CPF Life first before they release the money to you in your RA.

iceblendedchoc

On the contrary, if I’m CPF board, I might be worried that many of us manages to have their FRS/ERS.
This would mean that I need to find a way to commit your LIfE payout for a lifetime.

Just work with HDB to increase hdb pricing and they will solve that problem for those who like to use cpf for housing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.