CPF SA

8zaoyu

My CPF current status

OA - 60
SA - 157
MA - 60

I have an old HDB flat, which is more than 40 years. Might want to ballot for BTO.

So for my situation, should I top up to 181k?

If you have a HDB flat whether just MOPed 5 yrs or a old 50 yr old flat, and had used CPF for housing before, CPF will retrieve back the CPF plus accrued interests, you will see a new statement then. Buy next property, it is up to you whether you want to pay by CPF or cash. Some high net worth people used cash in the millions having cashing out their old properties!

Gitaro

I just cross my fingers and pray there won't be any change in wiithdrawal principal in the next two years. I think shouldn't be any change as election coming. Any change in CPF ruling will have a little uproar.

What about Enhanced Retirement Sum? This is voluntary right? If I opt for BRS/FRS/ERS upon reaching 55, is this decision irreversible?

This one i not sure. My wife and I made up our mind on frs so we shut down on other amounts. Too many stuffs to remember especially now my hard disk space is limited liao.

polyglob

For kiasu people it is better to die with leftover money than to become broke while alive. Oh, even more so for kiasi people. :s13:

Put into cpf see money grow happily... but reality is are you able to use up the whole sum? 😵

For me i am in retrenchment age, i rather save money in cash and do investment, use whatever in my OA to clear my hdb before i turn 55 then whatever balance then transfer to SA.

Hence even if my SA can go to 1million, when i retired , like this slowly withdraw till i die also cannot use finish. End up pass to my kid.

What for right?

Gitaro

Change in withdrawal in excess of FRS at 55 is very very remote compare to change in interest rates or CPF Life payouts.

ERS is optional. Once you topped up to ERS, no way can take out except for non top-up money in excess of BRS with sufficient property charge/pledge.

But if you opt for BRS or FRS, you still have some leeway to increase it.

Oh yes correct. (I rem this now)

d3n

Thats why cash + investment beats putting all money into cpf basket.

At least u can withdraw from cash or investment.

Wait till u can withdraw cpf bit by bit die lo

Thats why i see those keep hurry pump money into SA... did they see this point? What if they get married buy house, OA boh money cos all stranded in SA, then use cash pay... worst still if kena retrenched how? Where to find cash to pay house. Then when retired all your cash goes to house and SA turn RA only let u withdraw bit by bit

Unless cfm wanna bbfa (no house & no commitment)... then pump all your money to SA and retire ‘gloriously’.

For kiasu people it is better to die with leftover money than to become broke while alive. Oh, even more so for kiasi people. :s13:

Thats why i see those keep hurry pump money into SA... did they see this point? What if they get married buy house, OA boh money cos all stranded in SA, then use cash pay... worst still if kena retrenched how? Where to find cash to pay house. Then when retired all your cash goes to house and SA turn RA only let u withdraw bit by bit

Unless cfm wanna bbfa (no house & no commitment)... then pump all your money to SA and retire ‘gloriously’.

Why would you want to withdraw your investment in lump sum?

It makes no sense at all for retirement.

Sent from . using GAGT

Gitaro

The key words: Diversification and trade-offs, on the premise of individual's financial position.

d3n

If u dun draw lumpsum, u sure u can use up before u die?

And of cos most of us can’t... end up u leave to your children. And worth it? You slog for years and your kids enjoy it in the end
Why would you want to withdraw your investment in lump sum?

It makes no sense at all for retirement.

Sent from . using GAGT

d3n

Exactly... only foolish think pump all to SA gaogao is good idea. (Haven tot of future commitments like house)

SA is one way traffic only in no out (cannot pay for house)

And eventually turns RA and lets u draw bit by bit.

The key words: Diversification and trade-offs, on the premise of individual's financial position.

If u dun draw lumpsum, u sure u can use up before u die?

And of cos most of us can’t... end up u leave to your children. And worth it? You slog for years and your kids enjoy it in the end

How can you use up your retirement fund fully when you don't know when you will die?

You see the logical problem with this?

Sent from . using GAGT

Exactly... only foolish think pump all to SA gaogao is good idea. (Haven tot of future commitments like house)

SA is one way traffic only in no out (cannot pay for house)

And eventually turns RA and lets u draw bit by bit.

That's the whole point of a retirement investment.

Even if you put everything into stocks, you will also only draw a portion of it each month and not the full sum.

The idea of liquidity is overrated and misunderstood by many when it comes to retirement investing.

Sent from . using GAGT

d3n

U dun understand what i mean.

Even if i draw out everything. I can put into a bank and slowly use. I never say use all at one go.

It still beats my money kena lock up in the cpf and i can only draw bit by bit till the day i die.

Which have more control?

How can you use up your retirement fund fully when you don't know when you will die?

You see the logical problem with this?

Sent from . using GAGT

d3n

Yes even if i put into stock everything i can still sell and replan what to do with it.

Self control.

Vs

Cpf locks everything and give u a fix amount to withdraw monthly and when u need more money do u think u can withdraw?

Gov control.

Keyword- flexibilty

That's the whole point of a retirement investment.

Even if you put everything into stocks, you will also only draw a portion of it each month and not the full sum.

The idea of liquidity is overrated and misunderstood by many when it comes to retirement investing.

Sent from . using GAGT

U dun understand what i mean.

Even if i draw out everything. I can put into a bank and slowly use. I never say use all at one go.

It still beats my money kena lock up in the cpf and i can only draw bit by bit till the day i die.

Which have more control?

Isn't it the same thing as CPF then?

What's the difference between it sitting in a bank and in CPF?

You are only gotta withdraw a portion of it each month anyways right?

Sent from . using GAGT

d3n

Cpf = fix amount every month nothing more even if u need it

Bank = any amount u deem fit. U decide

Keyword - flexibilty

My case, i rather cash+investment rich but cpf moderate then cash+investment poor but cpf rich
Isn't it the same thing as CPF then?

What's the difference between it sitting in a bank and in CPF?

You are only gotta withdraw a portion of it each month anyways right?

Sent from . using GAGT

Yes even if i put into stock everything i can still sell and replan what to do with it.

Self control.

Vs

Cpf locks everything and give u a fix amount to withdraw monthly and when u need more money do u think u can withdraw?

Gov control.

Keyword- flexibilty

I agree.

CPF lacks flexibility.

But in exchange, it offers security and stability.

Nothing is perfect in this world. Just because it lacks something doesn't mean its not good, at least in SG's context.

Sent from . using GAGT

d3n

Never say no good. My only comment is most keep think i must pump up my SA gao gao but never see next time this amount becomes restrictive. And too late cos cannot withdraw more then u put later.

For me i rather keep enough OA to finance my house and once finish then i pump the excess to SA. Meanwhile i save my cash and do investment. Wun bother to pump caah to OA just to transfer to SA and gets restricted later.

I agree.

CPF lacks flexibility.

But in exchange, it offers security and stability.

Nothing is perfect in this world. Just because it lacks something doesn't mean its not good, at least in SG's context.

Sent from . using GAGT

Cpf = fix amount every month nothing more even if u need it

Bank = any amount u deem fit. U decide

Keyword - flexibilty

My case, i rather cash+investment rich but cpf moderate then cash+investment poor but cpf rich

Why would you want to vary your monthly withdrawal from your retirement portfolio?

Even financial experts mostly agree to withdrawing 4% from your portfolio a year for retirement.

Sent from . using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.