CPF SA

Kaypohji

They don’t ? I thought they do... I asked for 20 years that time... I thought my agent told me can adjust the payout period... twenty is the max but Tokio marine is offering something that pays until 99 years

Buy from big companies should be safe. Like ntuc income, AIA etc

I assume there is some sort of protection by SDIC or smth ? But yes still got risk

Insurance annuity does not have 10 yrs. And there is chance that insurance firm will collapse

lordofthering

They don’t ? I thought they do... I asked for 20 years that time... I thought my agent told me can adjust the payout period... twenty is the max but Tokio marine is offering something that pays until 99 years

Buy from big companies should be safe. Like ntuc income, AIA etc

I assume there is some sort of protection ? But yes still got risk

If the insurance collapse really jialat. That may mean pick cardboard from 55-65. Of course can diversify by finding more firms.

Kaypohji

How much payout r u looking at? 2k each also? For insurance annuity there is a non guaranteed portion so consists of some risk not like cpf is guaranteed returns.

If the insurance collapse really jialat. That may mean pick cardboard from 55-65. Of course can diversify by finding more firms.

lordofthering

How much payout r u looking at? 2k each also? For insurance annuity there is a non guaranteed portion so consists of some risk not like cpf is guaranteed returns.
4k as a couple in real dollars

Enough to travel every few months and survive without a job. Anyway it not related to cpf so this will be my last post on this dream.

BBCWatcher

When one pass on the expense is reduced by half. Assuming hdb is paid, which mine is
No, that's not correct. For example, the household's electricity bill isn't cut in half when one spouse dies. There's typically some household expense reduction, but it's not half. Sometimes expenses go up because elderly spouses who support each other no longer do, then requiring some extra home care and associated expense.

There is a genuine misalignment here that requires a little careful thought and planning, at least if you're serious about it. And I think you should be. You could be the first one to go, and presumably you care a great deal about your spouse or partner's well being.

The better financial solution to this particular class of problems is what's called an "escalating, joint/contingent life annuity." The escalating part combats inflation, and CPF LIFE offers that option. The joint/contingent part means the couple is treated as a single unit, and the surviving spouse/partner continues receiving a monthly income for the rest of his/her life that's a particular percentage of the whole -- 75%, for example. The joint/contingent part is unfortunately not available via CPF LIFE, so you have to simulate it some other way.

As it happens, I think such a payout plan should be available -- a CPF LIFE "Partner Plan." Perhaps the government will take that idea into consideration.

SBC

55 to 65 is crucial period.

Good buffer is important to tie through.

I will rely on SRS as key backup.

Kaypohji

Eh we transfer from oa to sa. This is considered as top up under the RSTU right?

So meaning cannot be withdraw at all if we opt for BRS?

77james

Transfer is not consider topup if not wrong.

Only cash topup to SA then consider

Even do CPF refund to housing loan OA account also not consider topup but no tax relief

77james

If yr RA saving is less then 60k at age 65.

Will there be any CPF life payout. Or can never withdraw.

I read need 60k at current moment for CPF life to have annunity payout at 65 till pass on

BBCWatcher

It's up to the individual. Assuming this individual has less than $60,000 in her Retirement Account 6 months before Payout Eligibility Age (age 65 currently), this individual can either withdraw funds or join CPF LIFE, as preferred.

I read need 60k at current moment for CPF life to have annunity payout at 65 till pass on
No, there's no specific Retirement Account minimum for CPF LIFE participation, although obviously a $1 balance isn't going to work too well. The $60,000 Retirement Account threshold at age 64 1/2 only relates to whether CPF LIFE participation will be automatic or not.

The CPF Board has adopted a rule requiring that Retirement Account payouts of some kind (classic Retirement Sum Scheme or CPF LIFE) must start no later than age 70. So a member cannot really "sit" on a Retirement Account balance indefinitely.(*) However, a member who is not participating in CPF LIFE has until shortly before age 80 to decide whether to join CPF LIFE.

(*) Although hypothetically a member receiving payouts can redeposit them back into the Retirement Account as long as that's below the Enhanced Retirement Sum -- and <$60,000 at age 64 1/2 would certainly be below the ERS if no other funds are added.

henrylbh

No worry. Just make sure got less than 140k working contributions in CPF by age 55 and you will get $900 quarterly from ah kong, if not ah gong, if you downgrade to a 2 rm flat, besides receiving your own CPF life payout from 65 :s13:

77james

It's up to the individual. Assuming this individual has less than $60,000 in her Retirement Account 6 months before Payout Eligibility Age (age 65 currently), this individual can either withdraw funds or join CPF LIFE, as preferred.

No, there's no specific Retirement Account minimum for CPF LIFE participation, although obviously a $1 balance isn't going to work too well. The $60,000 Retirement Account threshold at age 64 1/2 only relates to whether CPF LIFE participation will be automatic or not.

The CPF Board has adopted a rule requiring that Retirement Account payouts of some kind (classic Retirement Sum Scheme or CPF LIFE) must start no later than age 70. So a member cannot really "sit" on a Retirement Account balance indefinitely.(*) However, a member who is not participating in CPF LIFE has until shortly before age 80 to decide whether to join CPF LIFE.

(*) Although hypothetically a member receiving payouts can redeposit them back into the Retirement Account as long as that's below the Enhanced Retirement Sum -- and <$60,000 at age 64 1/2 would certainly be below the ERS if no other funds are added.

Thanks a lot. Seriously should give u a Phd in CPF knowledge.

Cause reading from CPF. Only stated min 60k for annunity payout at 65.

To have in depth knowledge, on different situations. what happen if lesser or more money in RA and what can we do with the money is really another case.

But if less than 60k. Mean still can opt for CPF life annunity lesser payout but still pay till we pass on?

henrylbh

What is meant by 'can either withdraw funds' :s22:

77james

Can either withdraw. Example if yr RA is 59k at age 65. U can withdraw Whole lump sum of 59k in cash out or choose monthly payout of 59k Using CPF life annunity

henrylbh

Can either withdraw. Example if yr RA is 59k at age 65. U can withdraw Whole lump sum of 59k in cash out or choose monthly payout of 59k Using CPF life annunity

Then you are terribly misled :s13:

If you have at least $60,000 in your Retirement Account (RA) six months before you reach your payout eligibility age, you will automatically be included in CPF Life.

Where you get info that U can withdraw Whole lump sum of 59k in cash if RA is 59k at age 65?

henrylbh

If you do not have the stated RA balances, you will stay on the Retirement Sum Scheme and can receive monthly payouts starting from your payout eligibility age until your RA balances are exhausted.

You can still join CPF Life before 80 years old.

yoongf

If RA balance is below 60K, member will remain on RSS scheme and the monthly payout will be adjusted to last till 90yrs old.

Alternatively, before 80yrs old, can opt to join CPF Life. The monthly payout need to go CPF counter to find out, as the online calculator does not have this feature.

A large number of Medeka and Pioneer Generation actually fall into this "below 60k scenario.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/govt-to-match-cash-top-ups-to-seniors-cpf-savings

maple96

this individual can either withdraw funds

If you have at least $60,000 in your Retirement Account (RA) six months before you reach your payout eligibility age, you will automatically be included in CPF Life.

Where you get info that U can withdraw Whole lump sum of 59k in cash if RA is 59k at age 65?

Misled by his PHD friend, who always try to fit everyone into his PHD crafted mould to a risk-free, one and only one secured route to rome of longevity

77james

I thought someone just share can either withdraw out as lump sum if didn’t hit 60k for CPF life anunnity. Cause without 60k u can’t qualify so should draw out whole lump sum better right since it yr money and u do not qualify as set my CPF

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.