Everybody’s mileage may vary. What might not be ideal to you doesn’t mean it isn’t ideal to others ma.
very correct. this is why i used the word most and not all. there will always be outliers.
Everybody’s mileage may vary. What might not be ideal to you doesn’t mean it isn’t ideal to others ma.
When you top up your Retirement Account via the RSTU Scheme those funds, plus accrued interest, cannot be used for CPF Investment Scheme purposes. That distinction doesn’t matter when the funds amount to $40,000 or less at age 54.9 since $40,000 cannot be “shielded.” But it could matter otherwise.2) I understand that upon reaching 55, an RA will be created. Money from SA will be moved to RA first before OA. As SA and RA has the same interest, and you can’t top up SA anymore once RA is created, you would want to avoid that situation and use the shield so that money from your OA will go into your RA first, so that you can have 2 pots of gold.
Am I missing something?
That’s right, and to preserve this option, or more of it, your Special Account cannot be “too full.” There’s no such problem with MA.3) also since we are on this topic of shielding, I understand that there is another “shielding”, i.e. if you are using CPF for housing loan, they will wipe out your entire OA and the maximum you can leave in your OA is 20k. If you have the liquidity and would rather enjoy the higher interest rather provided by CPF and pay any housing loan with cash, what you can do is to move any OA amount above OA into your SA, so that you don’t have to use CPF for servicing your housing loan.
This discussion already assumes you have at least one dollar available for MA and/or SA top ups, and you qualify for tax relief. If you’re not going to add a dollar to either, you’re not going to add a dollar to either. But, if you are, how should you prioritize the next dollar? That’s the question.most people, early in their career will not have much cash to top up. you will paying your study loan, your wedding, your car, your hdb. and also, most of our salary is not very high early in the career. this statement is irrelevant to many of us.
That’s correct, but the government also doesn’t allow indiscriminate use of SA funds. In fact, the government allows almost no use of SA prior to age 55. We’re talking about early career here — age 30, let’s suppose — and MA is clearly more liquid than SA. I would also point out this cohort now has CareShield Life premiums ahead of them, and MA dollars can also be spent (to applicable limits) on care for elders and other qualified family members, and their premiums.this statement is correct for the young. but our garmen do not allow indiscriminate use of ma. i have used my ma for delivery for both kids and a number of minor operations. my ma is still at bhs.
That can happen, but that’s an excellent reason to squeeze in MA tax reliefs first, while that’s still possible. (However, even at the BHS you still might be able to squeeze in some tax reliefs, although that gets harder as you progress in your career and get closer to or reach the CPF Annual Limit. See how this all fits together?)you can check out with many here. if they are in their mid 30s or older, they would have maxed out bhs.
Right, and you just agreed that it’s close to inevitable that MA will reach the BHS. So the basic idea is to strike while you can: take the tax relief first that’s harder to claim later. (You might also claim SA tax relief, even in the same year, if you’ve got additional dollars. This is just about prioritization for the next dollar you’ve already decided you’re allocating to CPF.) SA tax reliefs are strictly limited to $7,000/year, so they’re “gated.” But with no CPF Annual Limit constraint. They are less difficult to claim secondarily.in other words, our ma is a big overkill for most of us. topping up ma would be topping up into the irrelevant portion of the fund. yes, i know that ma will overflow into sa once it is max.
When you top up your Retirement Account via the RSTU Scheme those funds, plus accrued interest, cannot be used for CPF Investment Scheme purposes. That distinction doesn’t matter when the funds amount to $40,000 or less at age 54.9 since $40,000 cannot be “shielded.” But it could matter otherwise.
I don’t think this distinction is too important, but as a “tie breaker” it might be.
That’s right, and to preserve this option, or more of it, your Special Account cannot be “too full.” There’s no such problem with MA.
This discussion already assumes you have at least one dollar available for MA and/or SA top ups, and you qualify for tax relief. If you’re not going to add a dollar to either, you’re not going to add a dollar to either. But, if you are, how should you prioritize the next dollar? That’s the question.
That’s correct, but the government also doesn’t allow indiscriminate use of SA funds. In fact, the government allows almost no use of SA prior to age 55. We’re talking about early career here — age 30, let’s suppose — and MA is clearly more liquid than SA. I would also point out this cohort now has CareShield Life premiums ahead of them, and MA dollars can also be spent (to applicable limits) on care for elders and other qualified family members, and their premiums.
That can happen, but that’s an excellent reason to squeeze in MA tax reliefs first, while that’s still possible. (However, even at the BHS you still might be able to squeeze in some tax reliefs, although that gets harder as you progress in your career and get closer to or reach the CPF Annual Limit. See how this all fits together?)
Right, and you just agreed that it’s close to inevitable that MA will reach the BHS. So the basic idea is to strike while you can: take the tax relief first that’s harder to claim later. (You might also claim SA tax relief, even in the same year, if you’ve got additional dollars. This is just about prioritization for the next dollar you’ve already decided you’re allocating to CPF.) SA tax reliefs are strictly limited to $7,000/year, so they’re “gated.” But with no CPF Annual Limit constraint. They are less difficult to claim secondarily.
Maybe it should be reframed as...yes, early in the career, you may want to put in you ma first.
but like i said, early in the career, you do not have much money. after 10 year of working, i only had 50k of liquid asset. the next 10 years of my working, i was able to accumulate another 400k of liquid asset. it is only that when i start to build up that i am confident to put some into my cpf. by that time my ma reached bhs many times over. i am a typical salaried worker.
This discussion already assumes you have at least one dollar available for MA and/or SA top ups, and you qualify for tax relief. If you’re not going to add a dollar to either, you’re not going to add a dollar to either. But, if you are, how should you prioritize the next dollar? That’s the question.
Maybe it should be reframed as...
"What if early in your career you have money". Since you are making that assumption that "you do not have much money", there can always be another assumption made that "you do have much money"
If you have the money, what will you do? If you are still saying you wouldn't contribute to MA, then whatever you are arguing is arguing for the sake of arguing that MA should not be top-up.
of course, all this topping up occurs only if you have money. and i am tokking about most. i have colleagues that have parents that are so rich that they are still getting a sizable allowance from parents at the age of 50.
no i am not arguing that ma should not be topped up. i am arguing that topping ma and sa has no difference in the effect.
hence i mentioned earlier, there's a difference between what's idealistic and realistic. Knowing what's the "best" way one can do something first (idealistic), then work towards what is realistic for self.of course, all this topping up occurs only if you have money. and i am tokking about most. i have colleagues that have parents that are so rich that they are still getting a sizable allowance from parents at the age of 50.
no i am not arguing that ma should not be topped up. i am arguing that topping ma and sa has no difference in the effect.
Nobody stopping you to make a project, or simply just top up with sufficient room at the end of the year, with the remaining going into SA top-up.the other thing about topping ma is this. if you exceed one of the limits late in that year, they will refund the portion that exceeds without interest to you.if you rstu 7k, you can be sure that you will not be refunded.
even a civil service guy like me has fluctuations in bonus and ot pay, it will be difficult to predict what is the exact total contribution.
Nobody stopping you to make a project, or simply just top up with sufficient room at the end of the year, with the remaining going into SA top-up.
What you are suggesting is a very personal thing. There's a lot of things you can do to overcome it. like do projection/make assumptions.
What you are suggesting is simply saying, it is too tough for you, you just want to run away from the problem.
What you are suggesting is a very personal thing. There's a lot of things you can do to overcome it. like do projection/make assumptions.
Never say salary not much.....
How old are you btw?
hence i mentioned earlier, there's a difference between what's idealistic and realistic. Knowing what's the "best" way one can do something first (idealistic), then work towards what is realistic for self.
If we start with "realistic", then those ppl who might be able to be slightly "better" than most may not be able to realise how they can possibly do better.
top up at the end of the year, you will lose 1 year of interest. this would be compounded over 30 years. why not top the sa 7k first at the start of the year? at the end of the year, then top up the ma to the limits?
what run away from problem? i have more than 500+k in my cpf now. my annual contribution is more than 37k. i dont have any problems with top up because i cannot do it anymore. for your info, i have never topped up in my life. i am just employed everyday since i graduated.
i did not do any projection. i am just looking back at my life to do some reflection. looking back, i did not regret not topping up. if i have done so, i may not have enough for my 4th property
what i am suggesting is not personal. the majority of the people are like me. yes, there will be outliers. people that have a million when they are 25, or people that are still earning 1.5k at the age of 50.
idealistic is i have so much money at 25 that i dont know where to put it. realistic is that i dont.
you want to know what is idealistic? top up your sa all the way to frs. who cares about tax relief? your interest earn more than covers your tax relief.
to me, it is down to earth realistic and you consider the options that are available realistically. also idealistic options cannot be executed most of the time
Then make a projection first? Since we are talking about someone in their early career, they will kind of have an idea how far away they are away from their cap, their salary don’t suddenly jump to hit the cap, and if they can suddenly get 20-30k in bonuses, then this is no longer a concern no? No one say they can’t top up SA first if they wish to, and top up whatever is the excess into MA at the end of the year
Ya that’s for you at your age ma, we are talking about early career right? What if someone wants to do better than what you did? You block them meh?
And whatever you are doing is back testing, you don’t regret is fine, but some people just want to do better than what you did as they maybe more greedy than you? No?
Your suggestion of ignoring tax Relief makes sense too since the interest will make up for it. That can be a consideration so why not present it rather than having information catering to just the “most” and not “all”?
No one say they can’t top up SA first if they wish to, and top up whatever is the excess into MA at the end of the year
It appears so.so generally I am on the right track based on what I said above?
Sure. The core assumption here is you've got at least one discretionary savings dollar you'd like to deposit into CPF with tax relief.yes, early in the career, you may want to put in you ma first.