CPF SA

vsvs24

He also didn't mention COY either, and I'm quite sure Dork32 is capable of posting in this forum.

I do. Maybe we evaluate the cost of bank branch queuing differently.

But it's not like that. It's not online shopping at Site A versus online shopping at Site L. The unit trust-based SA shielding method is the online shopping. You can do it from your sofa. (Well, most people can.) Buying a 6 month T-bill for SA shielding requires queuing at a bank branch. So the comparison is online shopping versus "brick and mortar" shopping. I find online shopping more convenient (less costly), so I assign some cost to the "brick and mortar" option. I also assign some cost to the risk that the SA interest rate will unpeg from its floor (rise above 4.0%) during the latter month(s) of the 6 month T-bill. Then I estimate what COY/EIR would be sufficiently attractive for me to favor T-bill-based shielding over bond unit trust-based shielding, and currently I have set those numbers to be 4.25%/4.33% based on how I feel about the net cost and risk differences. That also happens to be the equivalent of about half a month of SA interest at the floor rate (T-bill relative to unit trust).

How would you bid (COY) if you were bidding in the next 6 month T-bill auction for SA shielding purposes?🤔
I have already done SA shield in Jan 2022 using Nikko short term bond. At that time tbills was just paying 0.48%.

I don't like to drag. If I am to do SA shield now, I would choose to just get it done in 1 week using the Nikko Short term bond rather than over a 6 mth period with tbill. Then withdraw all my OA before I unshield and use it to apply tbills in cash or put in high interest savings accounts.

Did not do any analysis but just my personality to just get the SA shield done quickly.

dork32

He also didn't mention COY either, and I'm quite sure Dork32 is capable of posting in this forum.

I do. Maybe we evaluate the cost of bank branch queuing differently.

But it's not like that. It's not online shopping at Site A versus online shopping at Site L. The unit trust-based SA shielding method is the online shopping. You can do it from your sofa. (Well, most people can.) Buying a 6 month T-bill for SA shielding requires queuing at a bank branch. So the comparison is online shopping versus "brick and mortar" shopping. I find online shopping more convenient (less costly), so I assign some cost to the "brick and mortar" option. I also assign some cost to the risk that the SA interest rate will unpeg from its floor (rise above 4.0%) during the latter month(s) of the 6 month T-bill. Then I estimate what COY/EIR would be sufficiently attractive for me to favor T-bill-based shielding over bond unit trust-based shielding, and currently I have set those numbers to be 4.25%/4.33% based on how I feel about the net cost and risk differences. That also happens to be the equivalent of about half a month of SA interest at the floor rate (T-bill relative to unit trust).

How would you bid (COY) if you were bidding in the next 6 month T-bill auction for SA shielding purposes?🤔
all these are one time cost. whether it is queing or taking one day leave and bus fare. i leave it to the individual whether they want to factor it in or not. this is because the amount shielded differs from person to person. i estimate that i will be shielding 300k. taking .3% on 300k for 6 mths is 450. taking 0.3% on 50k is much lower. it should up to the individual how many % is needed to recover this cost. the most important is to set the base number from which they can build from

BBCWatcher

Thank you Dork32 for finally giving me permission to set my T-bill "hurdle rate."😃

dork32

I have already done SA shield in Jan 2022 using Nikko short term bond. At that time tbills was just paying 0.48%.

I don't like to drag. If I am to do SA shield now, I would choose to just get it done in 1 week using the Nikko Short term bond rather than over a 6 mth period with tbill. Then withdraw all my OA before I unshield and use it to apply tbills in cash or put in high interest savings accounts.

Did not do any analysis but just my personality to just get the SA shield done quickly.
i just want to say this. before, we want the shielding period to be short coz the longer it is, the longer you lose your 4% interest at sa. but these days with tbills earning above 4%. there is really no hurry to get your money back to sa. in fact. it would be better leaving it in tbills.

yes i would say what you have done then was a good move. Now the situation has changed. it might be better to use tbills to shield these days

BBCWatcher

i always say this. it is your money, no one can stop you.
but if you come here and post rubbish, whether it is ang moh or sinkie, i will shoot them down.
But you didn't shoot anything down. You've acknowledged that there are differential costs and risks, you've acknowledged that the zero cost/zero risk hurdle rate is 4.00% EIR (which would be 3.92% COY), and you haven't offered any specific estimate for what the (higher) hurdle rate should be. You evidently won't even say what your current hurdle rate is, as is your right. Mine is currently 4.33% EIR/4.25% COY. Thanks very much; it's been a thrill.

reddevil0728

But you didn't shoot anything down. You've acknowledged that there are differential costs and risks, you've acknowledged that the zero cost/zero risk hurdle rate is 4.00% EIR (which would be 3.92% COY), and you haven't offered any specific estimate for what the (higher) hurdle rate should be. You evidently won't even say what your current hurdle rate is, as is your right. Mine is currently 4.33% EIR/4.25% COY. Thanks very much; it's been a thrill.
I thought dork mentioned what is the base rate mathematically?

how ppl value time and convenience is a different matter all together.

BBCWatcher

So what would your COY bid be in the next T-bill auction if you were using that T-bill for SA “shielding”?🤔

reddevil0728

How would each tax bracket and age affect the decision?
if you are of low tax bracket or no tax bracket. the savings from tax you get might be less than the additional compounded interest u get with OA to SA transfer

BBCWatcher

depends on your tax bracket
Agreed. It also depends on:
  • What your OA dollars would be doing otherwise. (Will they be invested? What will they earn?)
  • What other tax relief opportunities you have.
  • Whether SA rates will increase above the floor rate and by how much.
I'll expand on these points a bit. In the recent past OA to SA transfers often made a lot of sense, and they still may make sense. However, even T-bill rates are fairly elevated right now, and you may be able to place OA dollars in T-bills. (That's not necessarily a recommendation just an option.) Given where T-bill rates are right now SA's 4.0% floor rate is a somewhat less attractive. (Although you can invest some SA dollars in T-bills too, so there's that.)

Note that if your MediSave Account is below the Basic Healthcare Sum then you have tax relief opportunities making Voluntary Contributions to your MA. And it's part of the same tax relief opportunity ($8,000 for self between MA VCs and SA top ups, total). If you're "early career" and can make MediSave VCs of $8,000 I probably would (primarily because MA dollars can be useful at any/every age), so you wouldn't be making SA top ups, not yet.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.