CPF stock limit calculation

feareality

Good morning everyone, would like to seek your guidance on how much more new cpf funds I can invest into the CPF investment scheme given the below secnario:

CPF stock limit :25k
Cpf initial investment amount :20k
Current market value of cpf investment:15k

How much new funds can I put in? Is it calculated by cpf stock limit minus current market value (10k)?

Thanks guys!

Sent from Under Your Bed using GAGT

Layers

i am so confuse by it i just look at the amt stated in cpf that i can invest can liao. dun think so much.

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

henrylbh

Good morning everyone, would like to seek your guidance on how much more new cpf funds I can invest into the CPF investment scheme given the below secnario:

CPF stock limit :25k
Cpf initial investment amount :20k
Current market value of cpf investment:15k

How much new funds can I put in? Is it calculated by cpf stock limit minus current market value (10k)?

Thanks guys!

For the start, the first time using CPF-OA for investment, the stock limit is calculated at 35% of OA balance, with first 20k not investible.

Example if one has say 30k, 10.5k is investible. But the first 20k is not investible, hence the stock limit is 10k as the first 20k is not investible.

Once you have started investing OA, you to know the available stock limit, your current OA balance, the amount of CPF used and the cost of investment to ascertain the available stock limit. You may also need to know the balance with CPFIA agent bank, if you want update.

Best is just to call up your agent bank to know the available stock limit or log in to your CPF and check. But this info is only updated once a month around the 12th of each month based on OA of previous month. To know the actual amount, if you think it's higher, call CPF to update the available stock limit.

Current market value of investment has no bearing in the calculation of available stock limit.

In your case, I assume the stock limit of 25k was based on OA balance of about 71k plus.

20k has moved from OA (used) to CPFIA, leaving 51k in OA.

Available stock limit is -

OA + 20k (cost of investment) = Total x 35% less amount used (20k) or
51k + 20k = 71k x 35% = 25k less 20k = 5k.

But if you have balance fund in CPFIA or just bought or sold shares that are not yet recorded, then the calculation gets more complicating.

feareality

Thanks guys, I'm using ocbc and indeed it did shows the cost of investment. The cpf board wasn't clear if market value plays a part in calculating the stock limit, so thanks very much for your kind reply

Layers

i am using dbs. the acc show the amt of fund available for investing

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.