CPF System

culture_counter

Let's discuss this topic as above. Do you wholeheartedly trust your future retirement with the CPF System?

SBC

Agreed that CPF itself is not sufficent. Supplementing it with SRS. More than 65k now.

WWH123

CPF is a river that feeds into the pool of passive income. Already set aside for ERS. Of course won't be sufficient. Create other streams.

eternalxiii

In before akwl88:

- CPF has guaranteed returns

- CPF panel reviewing to raise rates to 6%

- Since CPF is enough for retirement planning, financial advisors are worthless because all they do is to earn high comms to buy car, condo, and take overseas trips

:s22::s22::s22:

Here's my view: There is no such thing as truly risk-free. The interest (money) has to come from somewhere. Right now the govt likes to say that SG has huge reserve surplus, so even if every single Singaporean were to withdraw his or her CPF today, the govt can pay up.

Somehow I doubt that. Even if they can do it now, in the next few decades the demographics will shift towards much more elderly who will be withdrawing, such that the outflow > inflow. And this trend is unlikely to be reversed since they cant open floodgates for FT anymore (guaranteed lose the next election).

So what it means is that either the CPF monies will be locked up for longer (remember the panel review to scrap retirement age :s13:) OR rates will go down for it to be sustainable. Either way, not good news for any young person who is intending to depend on CPF alone for the next 30-40 years.

Summary: CPF is not enough (especially if you already used it to buy house/pay education loan).

koja6049

cpf is a superior endowment policy compared to other endowment policies around

BBCWatcher

CPF is a government run compulsory (and optionally voluntary) savings program for citizens and permanent residents, highly Singapore tax advantaged, and with impressive real yields. This particular government has a AAA credit rating.

It's a terrific, high quality savings vehicle. To the extent you trust any single savings vehicle, this one is extremely trustworthy. However, portfolio diversification is still important.

eternalxiii

CPF is a government run compulsory (and optionally voluntary) savings program for citizens and permanent residents, highly Singapore tax advantaged, and with impressive real yields. This particular government has a AAA credit rating.

It's a terrific, high quality savings vehicle. To the extent you trust any single savings vehicle, this one is extremely trustworthy. However, portfolio diversification is still important.

Pardon me, is this post sponsored at $1 per post? Sounds too politically correct :s13:

Darkzi0n

i need around 2 mil to retire.. by the time i retire, i think min sum will probably be still below 1mil.... so no, cpf alone is not enough.

but then, to be fair, it wasnt designed to be adequate for everyone to begin with.. it is to ensure most ppl dont starve to death after they retire.

starfish.starfish

i need around 2 mil to retire.. by the time i retire, i think min sum will probably be still below 1mil.... so no, cpf alone is not enough.

but then, to be fair, it wasnt designed to be adequate for everyone to begin with.. it is to ensure most ppl dont starve to death after they retire.
You might live but will not be living :D

Earnasyougrow

Cpf better than let those ang moh countries jiak liao bee do nothing shake leg collect my taxes money as social welfare.

akwl88

In before akwl88:

- Since CPF is enough for retirement planning, financial advisors are worthless because all they do is to earn high comms to buy car, condo, and take overseas trips

Here's my view: There is no such thing as truly risk-free. The interest (money) has to come from somewhere. Right now the govt likes to say that SG has huge reserve surplus, so even if every single Singaporean were to withdraw his or her CPF today, the govt can pay up.

Somehow I doubt that. Even if they can do it now, in the next few decades the demographics will shift towards much more elderly who will be withdrawing, such that the outflow > inflow. And this trend is unlikely to be reversed since they cant open floodgates for FT anymore (guaranteed lose the next election).

So what it means is that either the CPF monies will be locked up for longer (remember the panel review to scrap retirement age :s13:) OR rates will go down for it to be sustainable. Either way, not good news for any young person who is intending to depend on CPF alone for the next 30-40 years.

Summary: CPF is not enough (especially if you already used it to buy house/pay education loan).

in before agent eternalxiii still defending his fat comms for zbl :s22:

heng moi nvr depend solely on CPF for retirement and only as a cornerstone :)

moi advice to eternalxiii gor gor: chiu not happy with cpf, chiu can no need receive cpf. pls donate all your cpf moolah to those who need it :D

cheers :)

Maeda_Toshiie

In before akwl88:

Who do you think is more likely to default? SG gahmen or private insurance company?

akwl88

Who do you think is more likely to default? SG gahmen or private insurance company?

If gahmen default, will pte insurance company still be standing?

If pte insurance company default, will garmen still be standing?

dendii

Let's discuss this topic as above. Do you wholeheartedly trust your future retirement with the CPF System?

If you rely on the CPF system for retirement, sad to say you are probably doomed. That applies to the middle-income earners.

You probably wont starve to death but you certainly won't be retiring comfortably as you would like.

Without any passive income to supplement your CPF Life payout, and with inflation as we see, future ain't that bright bro.

My advice. Insure yourself with the proper coverage first. Start investing on your own. Or explore a side business that is able to generate some form of additional income.

windwaver

It should be sufficient if you hit the max retirement sum currently at $161,000.

The problem is always with medical not with the retirement system.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.