Cpu temps unusually high

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

autoclicker37

So i just built a com
i5-6600
Asus b-150 pro gaming aura
Gtx 1070
V750 psu
16 gb ddr4 ram corsair vengeance lpx 2133mhz

But the thing is the cpu temps are SUPER high, like 100 degrees celcius even though i don't do anything, i installed the cpu fan, i even tried different fans and even reapplied my thermal paste, updated my bios and everything idk what's going on can someone help this is like making me damn stress dhejejej

ZrE0_Cha0s

Is your fans running? And which cooler r u using? Some more what are u doing when the temp are 100 deg?

xtractor

try go to bios.....load optimized default.....restart and see if it work

Phen8210

even no fan also wont so hot??, ur heatsink properly mounted anot, check ur fan gt plug in or nt and whether its spinning

sacredrays

your heatsink got mount properly? make sure nothing obstructing the heatsink from touching the cpu flatly.

FinalTidus

So i just built a com
i5-6600
Asus b-150 pro gaming aura
Gtx 1070
V750 psu
16 gb ddr4 ram corsair vengeance lpx 2133mhz

But the thing is the cpu temps are SUPER high, like 100 degrees celcius even though i don't do anything, i installed the cpu fan, i even tried different fans and even reapplied my thermal paste, updated my bios and everything idk what's going on can someone help this is like making me damn stress dhejejej
If you have ensured that u reapplied thermal paste properly and mount the cooler correctly, and your casing well ventilated, then I suspect it's probably your sensor gone haywire.

Either live with it or RMA liao

Masa27

Sorry to hijack, what's the limit for cpu? Is 85-87 deg c normal for 4790k when converting videos?

Koenig168

Sorry to hijack, what's the limit for cpu? Is 85-87 deg c normal for 4790k when converting videos?

Normal for air cooling. I won't worry if temp is below 90.

Edit: I'm sure you know this but it seems that some people here are a little dense and need the obvious stated - In case for some weird reason you do video encoding 24/7, do note that running a CPU at sub-90 temps for extended periods of time will shorten the shelf life.

joshuaho

That is seriously wrong advice bro. Anyone here in the right mind would not recommend hovering just below 90 degrees over extended periods of time. It simply kills the shelf life of the CPU.

On a side note, best to hover in the 70s range, 60s would be best though. These temps could be achieved with air coolers such as the noctua d15, be quiet coolers and the CM vapour chambers.

Normal for air cooling. I won't worry if temp is below 90.

Krabs.

degradation comes from excessive heat & voltage

if no overclock , even if you stress the cpu for extended hot period of "months" , there is enough headroom before it degrade to the point the stock voltage cannot sustain and bluescreen error
that is the warranty part of intel ..... it guarantee this clockspeed capable even if you run it near the thermal limit

degrade means you need higher voltage to sustain a clockspeed stable without error , and more voltage means higher temp , it goes in a negative spiral that accelerate the rate it degrade
it doesn't concern non-overclock because they cannot change voltage setting

Ark Law

That is seriously wrong advice bro. Anyone here in the right mind would not recommend hovering just below 90 degrees over extended periods of time. It simply kills the shelf life of the CPU.

On a side note, best to hover in the 70s range, 60s would be best though. These temps could be achieved with air coolers such as the noctua d15, be quiet coolers and the CM vapour chambers.

Mai fear 90deg lah, in Intel I trust. These are my normal usage temps :s13:

PFXTQoZ.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.