Criteria for SIM UOL

taywk26

Hi guys,

I am curious for the criteria for uol banking & financial course, and from what i heard, ppl have say that this is based on a first come first basis as long as you meet the criteria which is for poly, a full cert of local poly and pass in o lvl eng & math, however, i just sent an email to the sim ge, and this is what they reply:

Dear xxx,

Thank you for writing in to us.

The general entry requirement for the Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Banking and Finance awarded by University of London is a local polytechnic certificate as well as meeting the English and Mathematics requirement in the GCE "O" Levels.

There is no specific GPA cut off point that the University has stated. As such, students who have met the above requirements will be eligible to apply. However, the selection of students are based on cohort merit. As such, we are unable to provide a percentage of students who were successful in their application.

If you have met the above requirements, you will be eligible to apply for the University of London programme. Kindly note that acceptance or rejection of your application will be at the discretion of the University and application fee will be non-refundable regardless of the outcome of your application.

The applications for the University of London programmes will be from Mid Jan to Mar for the August intake.

Hope this information helps.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance or clarifications. Thank you.

so i am very worried as my poly gpa is 2.3
can any seniors or anyone pls advise on this?:(:(

Havok_ex

This just means that on a particular year. Admission is based on a meritocratic scale. So if everyone in your year applies with a GPA of 3.8. You won't get in because you would be placed last on the scale and there won't be space for you. But this is unlikely since its sim. The average poly GPA is pretty low and the number of applicants is usually less than the maximum capacity of students they can take. I don't think anyone has ever been rejected from sim-uol yet.

taywk26

This just means that on a particular year. Admission is based on a meritocratic scale. So if everyone in your year applies with a GPA of 3.8. You won't get in because you would be placed last on the scale and there won't be space for you. But this is unlikely since its sim. The average poly GPA is pretty low and the number of applicants is usually less than the maximum capacity of students they can take. I don't think anyone has ever been rejected from sim-uol yet.

Hi, havok, pls note that the course i am trying to apply is those "hot" courses like accounting, banking & financial, etc.
I am not sure unless there is actually someone who has low gpa and managed to get in those hot course in sim uol:o

lolita_5

My friend gpa 1.9, he kena rejected last year

taywk26

He got rejected, is is due to the reason him being applying late?
Cos i heard that applying at the last few days is also one of the reason people got rejected by sim uol.

chiwawa23

What I heard is that they do not really care about your GPA as long as u got $$ to pay them can already, however, of course your GPA still must be at a certain level and not too low and like that they won't reject u for sure. Is it above GPA 2?? I am not really sure at their cap level.

taywk26

What I heard is that they do not really care about your GPA as long as u got $$ to pay them can already, however, of course your GPA still must be at a certain level and not too low and like that they won't reject u for sure. Is it above GPA 2?? I am not really sure at their cap level.

Hi chiwawa but from the email below sent from the sim ge, they have stated that they take those who are merit based....
Who do you hear your source from? Is it from the staff themselves?
And yes, my gpa is above 2, but not decent grade, and i have the $$$.
What do you think of my chances applying to those "hot" course like banking & financial, accounting?

lolita_5

He got rejected, is is due to the reason him being applying late?
Cos i heard that applying at the last few days is also one of the reason people got rejected by sim uol.
he applied even earlier than me

Relax, 2.3 is fine. Open house in March, just find some time go tcss with the people there and know more info about your course. Don't worry about the admission part

taywk26

he applied even earlier than me

Relax, 2.3 is fine. Open house in March, just find some time go tcss with the people there and know more info about your course. Don't worry about the admission part

But my gpa is somewhat similar to your friend gpa, if he got rejected, then i'm afraid i may get rejected too, i'm really scared :(

ftft58

just apply early lor....

but with the expansion of UniSIM, wont be surprised they try to scale down SIM GE progressively.

taywk26

just apply early lor....

but with the expansion of UniSIM, wont be surprised they try to scale down SIM GE progressively.

I'm not sure whether applying early helps, as there is people who say their friend apply early yet got rejected...:(:(:(

nasilemak100

just try apply lor. i forgot the registration fee liao. think about $70-$80 right? So exp.

ntu, nus like only $10.
'

MidnightVenom

Anyone more insights or opinions to share and advise, ppl?

I'm afraid I'm not familiar with those applying from poly but I believe you will get accepted. In fact even if let's say, they do not accept you for direct bachelors, you can always opt out for DE from UOL (diploma in economics) which is essentially equivalent to first year of UOL Banking and Finance as u said.

Have you heard back from them yet? Anyways I really do hope everything works out for u :s13:

I also applied for Banking and Finance this 2014 August intake.

IvanLim21

my friend gpa 1.9 he just got accepted for b&f aug 14 intake. Hope this ease your mind

laila12345

UOL SIM

Hi, I am currently graduating local poly with a very Low GPA of 1.6. I'm wondering if i'm able to get in SIM UOL with that gpa. I was told that they do not really look at gpa, and u just need to pay a lot as it's a private institute. But I just would like to know my chances. Advice anyone?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.