Critical Illness coverage (CI)

windwaver

Hi, if I am not wrong, CI must ride on a life plan right? Cannot buy stand alone CI plan right?

CI plan only cover till 60 correct? How to lengthen that?

Project_Xco

Do note there are two types of CI plan. One is the normal cheaper CI (if you read the terms and conditions, usuallu can claim for stage 3 or advanced stage cancer). The other one is early CI where u can claim at earlier stage and premiums are more expensive.

windwaver

Do note there are two types of CI plan. One is the normal cheaper CI (if you read the terms and conditions, usuallu can claim for stage 3 or advanced stage cancer). The other one is early CI where u can claim at earlier stage and premiums are more expensive.

Is there a point in getting normal CI?

MikeZhang

U forgot to mention SA bruh.
WL $100k SA compared to term life $100k SA for Death/TPD/CI i doubt will still be cheaper rite?

Well you can always generate out for yourself and do a comparison on the CI rider cost for term and whole life. Then you will know which one is cheaper.

expert128sg

The point is, normal Ci covers u for dreaded illness such as stage 3 cancer, stroke, heart attack etc. Say if u kena stroke cannot work, where do u get money for living? Stroke doesnt take ur ife away btw.

And if u kena stage 3 cancer, while shield plan can cover for chemotherapy and hospital stay, ur specialized drugs are actually not covered. Where r u going to get money for the expensive drugs?

CI usually cover ard $100k to $200k. Don't get anything more cos too ex..

Early Stage CI imo is the redundant one (I find it more of a money making tool for insurance companies, just personal opinion). Reason being coverage is very costly, hence ur coverge not gonna be huge. Also, if u diagosed a tumor u may still be able to work after surgery to remove it. Surgery covered by shield plan. Why do u still need payout for such cases then?

At most get $50k coverage for Early CI if u see a need to. Anything more the financial advisor would be very happy.

Dun be kiasu end up spend too much on early CI premiums instead of focusing on CI where u would potentially need more money.

For reference: Term life coverage for male, 30, non-smoker, $800k on death/TI, $800k on TPD, $200K on CI only cost ard $150/mth only. Expensive?

My 2 cents.

haha...i beg to differ with the latter part since i got kins that detected early and ECI came in super handy.

but i do agree...it is costly (very) and not really necessary unless your other coverage are super adequate and u have money to spare

Best part is only paid for 3 yrs not even many yrs and can claim liao ... now the amount received can pay till the policy finish

evets

Hi, if I am not wrong, CI must ride on a life plan right? Cannot buy stand alone CI plan right?

CI plan only cover till 60 correct? How to lengthen that?

nowadays there are a lot of CI plans available. cover up to 100 yo, early CI, multi CI etc etc.

Witwit84

The point is, normal Ci covers u for dreaded illness such as stage 3 cancer, stroke, heart attack etc. Say if u kena stroke cannot work, where do u get money for living? Stroke doesnt take ur ife away btw.

And if u kena stage 3 cancer, while shield plan can cover for chemotherapy and hospital stay, ur specialized drugs are actually not covered. Where r u going to get money for the expensive drugs?

CI usually cover ard $100k to $200k. Don't get anything more cos too ex..

Early Stage CI imo is the redundant one (I find it more of a money making tool for insurance companies, just personal opinion). Reason being coverage is very costly, hence ur coverge not gonna be huge. Also, if u diagosed a tumor u may still be able to work after surgery to remove it. Surgery covered by shield plan. Why do u still need payout for such cases then?

At most get $50k coverage for Early CI if u see a need to. Anything more the financial advisor would be very happy.

Dun be kiasu end up spend too much on early CI premiums instead of focusing on CI where u would potentially need more money.

For reference: Term life coverage for male, 30, non-smoker, $800k on death/TI, $800k on TPD, $200K on CI only cost ard $150/mth only. Expensive?

My 2 cents.

Is 200k CI sufficient when someone gets cancer or stroke? Even if he/she recovers, he/she may not be the same again and may not be able to hold the same job again, probably has to take on a less stressful job etc. I was thinking if 500k is sufficient for cancer treatments nowadays? I have a few relatives who had cancer and that's what made me realise that CI insurance is very impt as the relative who had CI insurance could really afford the more expensive treatment plus go for TCM treatments and alternative treatments. May I know the term life 800k death/tpd/ti 200k CI is from which insurer? The premium is cheap.

Nystalia1990

CI and death can cover till 99 also... only TPD max cover till 75, some companies 60.

If ur CI is rider, it covers u as long as the basic policy is inforce.

Bro, AXA only got standalone Early Stage CI nia. CI comes as rider.
AXA has standalone CI which is called LivingEnhancer.

Nystalia1990

Is 200k CI sufficient when someone gets cancer or stroke? Even if he/she recovers, he/she may not be the same again and may not be able to hold the same job again, probably has to take on a less stressful job etc. I was thinking if 500k is sufficient for cancer treatments nowadays? I have a few relatives who had cancer and that's what made me realise that CI insurance is very impt as the relative who had CI insurance could really afford the more expensive treatment plus go for TCM treatments and alternative treatments. May I know the term life 800k death/tpd/ti 200k CI is from which insurer? The premium is cheap.

Getting CI coverage is to cover your future income. Treatment can be covered by hospitalisation plan.

For AXA assuming age 30 and coverage until 65, 800K death/TPD/TI and 200K CI it is around 115 per month. If 1 million death/TPD/TI and 200K CI, it is around 125 per month.

MikeZhang

Aviva currently has 20% perpetual discount on their term plan. For age 30 can easily get less than 100 bucks per mth.

Witwit84

Getting CI coverage is to cover your future income. Treatment can be covered by hospitalisation plan.

For AXA assuming age 30 and coverage until 65, 800K death/TPD/TI and 200K CI it is around 115 per month. If 1 million death/TPD/TI and 200K CI, it is around 125 per month.

Hospitalisation plan doesn't cover for alternative cancer treatments right? It only covers when u are hospitalised. I do not think that a cancer patient stays in the hospital throughout the whole cancer period, so what happens to the medication when he is discharged? Is it also covered by hospitalisation insurance?

expert128sg

Hospitalisation plan doesn't cover for alternative cancer treatments right? It only covers when u are hospitalised. I do not think that a cancer patient stays in the hospital throughout the whole cancer period, so what happens to the medication when he is discharged? Is it also covered by hospitalisation insurance?

yeah thats why i bought CI and ECI. Is to cover the post hospitalization bills.

normally if u buy the H&S with riders it covers the next 90 to 365 (depending on which company) days for post treatments. But is definitely not enough

freeloop2

Life insurance with ESCI covered SGD 170 per month

what do u guyes think this plan? Aviva whole life plan, totoal sum assured 200K, 100k for early stage, 100k for late stage or TPB or death. monthly premium about SGD 170 for 25 years. i have a separate H&S plan btw, 27 yo male.

MikeZhang

what do u guyes think this plan? Aviva whole life plan, totoal sum assured 200K, 100k for early stage, 100k for late stage or TPB or death. monthly premium about SGD 170 for 25 years. i have a separate H&S plan btw, 27 yo male.

Your based sum assured is 50k? I would suggest not to go for multiplier for whole life plan. Get a based sum assured of whole life plan and enhanced it with a term plan.

haoKRR

Any reason why u only want to be covered 25yrs to age 52?

Not sure if the plan u refering to got multipler or not. If yes, what is the basic SA?
If this plan got no multiplier, note that if u tio early CI u claim 100k. If u pass away at age 50 ur legacy only left 100k.
If got multiplier, the coverage would be much worst.

Personally i find the coverage low from every aspect.

till age 52? no la, life plan cover till u pass on.
25 years is the yrs he need to pay

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.