Crysis 3 running at below expected performance on Desktop Pc.

FinalTidus

my rig-->

Initially I set to maximum settings but disabled AA totally. I got only an average of 20fps... At 1920 1200 resolution.

Then I tried to lower the settings to high only everything. AA remains disabled. I got about 30fps.

My graphics is the Gtx 560Ti Oc. is it insufficient??

Jian19

Crysis 3 bloody demanding...u need at least a 280x or gtx 770 ...

FinalTidus

Crysis 3 bloody demanding...u need at least a 280x or gtx 770 ...
wah zhun boh? need until so high end?? I understand it's equally intensive as crisis 2. Crisis 2 no problems at all with Max settings.

Jian19

Totally diff beast :s13:

crysis-fr.png

FinalTidus

I am using windows 8.1 64bit. could this also be the reason instead of running win 7?

GrimaH

my card should be on par with the gtx 650ti boast edition. still below lei...

The differences are:
- You're running at 1920x1200, not 1920x1080;
- You're using Max settings, not just High.

The 650Ti Boost Edition should be slightly but notably better than 560 Ti, and there are also more optimized driver updates for the 600 series in the latest games compared to the 500 series, so all that would quite adequately address the frame rate difference.

I'm not sure what Tom's Hardware uses for the base CPU, so I can't comment on that. I remember it's also 2500K.

FinalTidus

The differences are:
- You're running at 1920x1200, not 1920x1080;
- You're using Max settings, not just High.

The 650Ti Boost Edition should be slightly but notably better than 560 Ti, and there are also more optimized driver updates for the 600 series in the latest games compared to the 500 series, so all that would quite adequately address the frame rate difference.

I'm not sure what Tom's Hardware uses for the base CPU, so I can't comment on that. I remember it's also 2500K.
Yeah it could be I am running windows 8.1 64bit too. :(

royfrosty

Yeah it could be I am running windows 8.1 64bit too. :(

I dont think its an os issue. The card you have is average for this game. This game is really hard to drive also. On 760 this game in wet weather conditions it drop till 30fps. When good or indoor conditions it is as good as 70fps max.

on r9 280x im on constant 60fps to 70fps max. Even if on xfire also very hard to hit 100fps lol.

yukita

should be ok running on 560ti leh ....

have you search on the web if its slower? previously i play on win 7 seems quite good :D

FinalTidus

should be ok running on 560ti leh ....

have you search on the web if its slower? previously i play on win 7 seems quite good :D
That's what I thought also lei... :( GTX 560Ti is still a very powerful card.

Sibei sian... :(

Ark Law

Initially I set to maximum settings but disabled AA totally. I got only an average of 20fps... At 1920 1200 resolution.

Then I tried to lower the settings to high only everything. AA remains disabled. I got about 30fps.

My graphics is the Gtx 560Ti Oc. is it insufficient??

GTX580 barely scrapes 50fps at all High only (AA off) at 1080p leh :s22:

Psychedelic Senses

I think this game needs an i7 and of course a decent gpu to get the best performance. Read from somewhere that this game utilizes hyperthreading. I upgraded my gpu from a gtx 670 to a gtx 780 and played this game and I can barely see any improvements in frames per sec. On average I get 40ish-50fps.

FinalTidus

OK guys. I did more research and found out this game is really punishing pc hardware. You need more than 4 cores CPU to just maintain above 30fps which BTW is ridiculous. So I conclude that it's my CPU which is bottlenecking.

This is one game that utilises a lot of CPU power.

bhtan83

OK guys. I did more research and found out this game is really punishing pc hardware. You need more than 4 cores CPU to just maintain above 30fps which BTW is ridiculous. So I conclude that it's my CPU which is bottlenecking.

ur gpu is really not that great to run crysis 3... time to get a 780 and u'll see much improvements. ur cpu is not bottlenecking at all.

Duinchlfc

this is the outcome of game developers prioritising for consoles instead of of optimizing for pcs.If only we can get rid of directx and let developers get hardware level access.Then even your card will be able to output mind numbing visuals.

Ark Law

So I conclude that it's my CPU which is bottlenecking.

(2500K + 770) > (2500K + 7870) > (2500K + 580) > (4960X + 560ti) > (2500K + 560ti)

Your main bottleneck is the GPU, not the CPU

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.