Curious - "3rd kind" encounter

Crexzz

Just wondering if anyone has got any close encounter of 3rd kind in Japan.

At places like -
1) famous battle sites
2) Castle ground
3) Hotel
4) Onsen

etc

zetsueix

Hmmmm.... I actually bought this book, Yurei Attack!: The Japanese Ghost Survival Guide and there is a list of haunted places in Japan. I thot it was quite intriguing and I do intend to check out some of the listed places. During my previous trip, my fren joined me for a few days and I kinda want some company at least if I am going anywhere spooky and haunted but in the end, my fren did not want to engage in such spooky adventures so no go for me :(

Yurei Attack!: The Japanese Ghost Survival Guide: Hiroko Yoda, Matt Alt, Shinkichi: 9784805312148: Amazon.com: Books

That said, I have heard 3 separate accounts from 3 different frens that they felt something amiss at Fushimi Inari near Kyoto. You know, the one with the many red Torii gates. 2 different frens stated that they felt kinda spooked out at the part when the path split into 2 ways. I went once before but I dun really feel anything, I think I am too happy taking photos really to notice such stuff. I actually wanted to try going during sunset, I was told it is really eerie and creepy making your way down after the sun set. And of cos, no one in the right mind wanna accompany me.

As for hotels, I was told that most hotels and places are considered "clean" cos the Japanese are very respectful to the dead and deceased. Maybe this is why I felt at ease even when I pass by hills of gravestones even when I am out on my own.

I would be most intrigued to hear out others' experiences if any!

Crexzz

The following is lifted from Japan Times

1) Sunshine 60

Build a massive shopping and entertainment complex in Ikebukuro (at one time the tallest building in Asia) on the very site where seven Japanese war criminals were executed and you are bound to piss off some ghosts. In fact, its construction was plagued by many incidents (injured workers, strange apparitions and so on). Even now people sometimes spot strange fireballs floating around.

2) Oiwa Shrine

Properly known as Oiwa Inari Tamiya Jinja, this shrine was the former home of a woman who was poisoned by her husband and came back as a ghost — her hair disheveled and one eye hanging out for added effect — to haunt him. This story is the basis for “Yotsuya Kaidan,” arguably Japan’s most famous ghost story. Even today, the staff and cast of theater and movie productions of the tale pay their respects at the shrine first — or risk suffering the wrath of Oiwa.

3) Ireido

The Ireido, or Hall of Repose, is located in Yokoami-cho Park, where throngs of people seeking refuge during the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923 were burned to death. The park also served as a makeshift crematorium for 38,000 bodies. Graphic photos are on display in the Ireido, a cavernous Buddhist-style memorial hall built in 1931 that was also used to placate the souls of the firebombing victims of World War II.

4) Hakone Yama

This hill located in Toyama Park, the former site of the Army Medical College and Hospital, now houses several medical research facilities, one of which is rumored to have been the training center for the Imperial Army’s notorious Unit 731. Bodies left over from medical experiments are said to have been secretly buried here, and human bones continue to be unearthed within the park grounds. Especially terrifying after dusk, night strollers have reported hearing wailing, sobbing and other mysterious voices here.

5) Masakado’s grave

Located in Tokyo’s financial district, this is the final resting place of an angry samurai rebel from the Heian Period named Taira no Masakado. His decapitated head mysteriously resisted decay for three months, its eyes continuing to roll in their sockets, and eventually somehow propelled itself from Kyoto to Edo. Construction workers who disturb the grave risk accidents — or even death.

zetsueix

Yup, Sunshine 60 at Ikebukuro is listed as one of the haunted places in the book as well!

Nalgene123

Don't know whether this can be counted..a few years ago in Kyoto...my hotel room was situated at the end of the passageway next to the staircase....heard a knock on my door at around 11pm...went to open the door but didn't see anyone outside or along the passageway

lapucelle

Stay here 1 year plus liao. Never had any encounters. Then again don't believe in such stuff.

coldkey

That said, I have heard 3 separate accounts from 3 different frens that they felt something amiss at Fushimi Inari near Kyoto. You know, the one with the many red Torii gates. 2 different frens stated that they felt kinda spooked out at the part when the path split into 2 ways. I went once before but I dun really feel anything, I think I am too happy taking photos really to notice such stuff. I actually wanted to try going during sunset, I was told it is really eerie and creepy making your way down after the sun set. And of cos, no one in the right mind wanna accompany me.

I went there on a early morning and it was relatively quiet due to light morning drizzle. Didn't get spooked out or anything but did have to reconfirm with the maps a few times at junctions to make sure I wasn't going the wrong way.

I didn't feel the effect much because I have lazy eye (only 1 eye active, so cannot watch 3D without glasses) but I suspect the way the big and small torii gates alternate and the curved hilly path might play some tricks to people and cause disorientation.

snap99

l7sextu.jpg

i went to this hike couple of years back ... quite spooky looking place. when the fog settled in, there was eerie silence. I quickly moved on soon after pic was taken .....

cpuer

l7sextu.jpg

i went to this hike couple of years back ... quite spooky looking place. when the fog settled in, there was eerie silence. I quickly moved on soon after pic was taken .....

i got myself to a similar environment in Takao san, but i was scared of bear rather than spirits, almost wanted to play a bell sound ring tone to keep bears away.:o

snap99

roF1iFL.jpg

there was this other place .... one of the peaks around Murodo area at tateyama (alpine route). There is an old dilapidated monument to ww2 soldiers. Its all ruined, there is this epitaph remaining. Although its a peace monument, its a spooky place, becos of the fog, and that i was the only person there. Perhaps if the wether was bright and sunny it would be more cheerful, but again a place i wont dwell on a foggy lonely day.

Crexzz

On my most recent trip, I climbed over a low fence to take pictures from inside an abandoned building, by myself. It was unsettling.

I'm chicken **** lor. It was probably nothing. :)

oh i know why..... you forgot to say ëxcuse me when you're there right? :o

plus1 hardcore photographer spotted

Crexzz

l7sextu.jpg

roF1iFL.jpg

there was this other place .... one of the peaks around Murodo area at tateyama (alpine route). There is an old dilapidated monument to ww2 soldiers. Its all ruined, there is this epitaph remaining. Although its a peace monument, its a spooky place, becos of the fog, and that i was the only person there. Perhaps if the wether was bright and sunny it would be more cheerful, but again a place i wont dwell on a foggy lonely day.

whoah... good stuff you got there...... my balls would be up in my throat at any slightest sound in such enviroment :eek::eek:

evilerniex

l7sextu.jpg

where is this place? looks creepy!

reminds me of time i went hiking in banji-iwa in tohoku. there was a trail down to the river which i went alone coz my frens lazy to trek down. there wasnt anyone else at banji-iwa coz it was slightly drizzling that day, and the place wasnt a tourist spot. when i was down at the river, i felt a bit spooked, maybe coz i was all alone. so quickly took photos then chiong back to join my frens

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.