Current queue status at Parliament

localITguy

Yeah I believe this is quite a good summary of what's happening. LHL and LKY are totally different. Even many who vote opposition will still be respectful and grateful to LKY. I don't think the same thing can be said for LHL.

indeed. i will always be greatful to LKY for what he has done for us.:)

Lordzephyr9

to be honest, LKY did what he had to do during those troubling times. He had to rule with an iron fist as people are not educated enough to make the right decision. However, as the education level increase, people are able to think and make comparison thus the same method cannot be cloned and used on the current generation of singaporeans by LHL. honestly, he didnt make any breakthrough and only remains in his father's shadow.

A good example is this, 20-30 years ago, parents always tell their children that the apunehneh/policeman will catch them or beat up their child jialat jialat. Now? the kids knows that you are just giving empty threats and they will call the police to complain child abuse.

ngweiquan

May I know if I will be able to park at Raffles City Shopping Centre?

I need to drive as I will need to work in Malaysia later.

toolbox03

Those pop champagne one I believe most have stuck to their guns, did not go see ah gong and will continue to celebrate

But for the rest of us, we are able to differentiate how ah gong and the current PAP are no longer similar, my grandfather and my father trusted LKY and the old PAP to bring them through and on hindsight I am thankful that they did, if not maybe now I wont be able to type this out in the comfort of my own bedroom, with air con etc etc

However, do I myself trust the current PAP to do the same for me? Answer is no, regardless of anything, I will definitely vote Opp as our generation must take a stand to show PAP what they are doing is not ok, even if they are not voted out, drop to 50.1% support nia I see liao also song

Dont assume too much from forums nia, dont assume others are daft simply because we choose to turn up for LKY, our respect for him does not translate into votes for PAP

If you study human psychology, voting is an emotional process, never a logical one

Dont be surprised the vote will just go up cos of this

Chris008

Extremists in this forum might seems "alot" due to their repeated postings in each other threads.
u can see the usual suspects nicks.
but
once u factored these small numbers among the voters.
they are just minority.

And Giving respect and voting is 2 different issues.
Dunch understand why some daft sinkies like to link both issues.

:s22: :o :s22:

This is true.

There are many others slamming us for being brain washed and dumb too for wanting to pay respect. :o like as if we pay respect means one vote for them?

Anyway I am heading there tomorrow, anyone else too?

evilviser

Should be okay but better to go early, parking lots limited. Plus lots of people queuing now!

Adam80

can park either raffles city(3/entry) or peninsula hotel(4/entry)

exit by 8am(peninsula hotel)/7.59am(raffles city)

Successor.

to be honest, LKY did what he had to do during those troubling times. He had to rule with an iron fist as people are not educated enough to make the right decision. However, as the education level increase, people are able to think and make comparison thus the same method cannot be cloned and used on the current generation of singaporeans by LHL. honestly, he didnt make any breakthrough and only remains in his father's shadow.

A good example is this, 20-30 years ago, parents always tell their children that the apunehneh/policeman will catch them or beat up their child jialat jialat. Now? the kids knows that you are just giving empty threats and they will call the police to complain child abuse.

LKY didn't have a planned life. He fought everything with tears and sweat. He walked the ground personally and talk to his people personally.

LHL is different, he may be higher educated then LHL, but all his so called successes were pre planned. It is unrealistic that a peson could be promoted to the rank of BG in just 13 years, and a further 6 years to be the deputy prime Minister (after GCT became the PM), in which after being elected Teck Ghee MP, he was already a full fledged minister.

LKY actively led singapore to independence, he had to fought his was between a Malaysia Malaysian or a Malays only society during the Malaya-singapore independence, he had to fight for independence from the UK as well.

This cannot be learnt just by sitting at a desk and promotion just come literally to him. He didn't walk the ground, he didn't understood the people well enough, he didn't understood changes. All these LKY had done it umpteen times, and with precision.

I had not once doubted LKY and wasn't surprised he could make friends with former U.S. president Bill Clinton, US state secretary Kissinger, or even late UK PM, Margaret Thatcher. He studied not just to study, he had made use of his law knowledge to enable him to sign lots of treaties benefitting Singaporeans.

If you look at how LKY ensured Singaporeans had water supply, and he specifically included the clause for Malaysians to provide us with water for the next 50 years ending 2011 even after separation.

While what did LHL did? His law knowledge was used on signing lousy treaties with India (more notably the ****) just to squeeze singaporeans out.

In short, LKY walk the walk and talk the talk, LHL did none of those.

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
how about the normal queue? The priority queue is nearer but wait longer i guess.. The normal queue is a very long walk but faster..

normal queue from what i saw is not moving fast compared to first day

the snaking under the tentage like very bad..

Crooni

think it'll only get worse from now on. tmr is fri, ppl take leave cos sat no work. those chionging tonight is also cos fri leave.

Adam80

Thought raffles city got road closures?

paiseh forgotten

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/road-closures-for-lee/1744616.html
Stretches of South Bridge Road and North Bridge Road will be affected, spanning from Upper Circular Road to Coleman Street. Another stretch along High Street and Parliament Place will also be affected, between Hill Street in the direction of North Bridge Road and Supreme Court Lane. Only police and emergency vehicles will be granted access.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.