Cyclist alleges actor Chen Hanwei knocked him off bike with Mercedes after failing to signal

sciprof

Drive merc and continental cars feels like king of the roads mah so no need signal when driving

fly1111

Chen has expressed his willingness to take responsibility for the incident.

Local actor Chen Hanwei allegedly knocks down cyclist after failing to use turn signal​

A man has accused local actor Chen Hanwei of knocking him off his bicycle after failing to signal before making a turn.

The man, a 33-year-old teacher identified as Mr Zhuo, sustained abrasions to his arms and legs as a result of the incident.

According to Shin Min Daily News, the accident occurred last Thursday (8 Aug) on Irrawaddy Road near Balestier.

Mr Zhuo reported that he was cycling on the leftmost lane when a white Mercedes in front of him suddenly slowed down and turned left into an apartment complex without signalling or giving way.

Unable to stop in time, Mr Zhuo collided with the left side of the car, lost his balance, and fell off his bicycle.

chen hanwei cyclist

Source: Shin Min Daily News

“I suspect the driver didn’t notice me cycling behind,” he said.

Claims driver refused to take responsibility for accident​

The driver of the Mercedes then exited the vehicle, and Mr Zhuo immediately recognised him as Chen.

chen hanwei cyclist

“He didn’t apologise at the time and just kept asking if I was okay,” Mr Zhuo alleged.

“It felt like he wasn’t genuinely concerned about me and was more focused on making sure I was fine to avoid taking any responsibility.”

Mr Zhuo added that he initially hoped to resolve the matter privately, but Chen was purportedly unwilling to exchange contact information.

“He even mentioned that there was no pedestrian crossing, so he didn’t need to give way to me,” he continued.

“I believe he should take responsibility for the incident, and I hope this serves as a reminder for other cyclists to stay vigilant on the road.”

Fortunately, Mr Zhuo did not sustain any serious injuries and his bicycle was not significantly damaged.

Chen Hanwei admits not signalling but he slowed down​

Confirming the incident to Shin Min Daily News, Chen stated that he was on his way home when a bicycle suddenly rammed into the left side of his car.

The 54-year-old actor immediately exited the vehicle to check on the cyclist and offer assistance.

Noting that the cyclist was not wearing a helmet, Chen asked if he was okay and if he was injured.

However, Mr Zhuo continued recording the incident, prompting Chen to suggest calling the police.

While contacting the police, Mr Zhuo reportedly left the scene, leaving his bicycle behind.

Mr Zhuo later explained to Shin Min Daily News that he had to leave urgently due to an urgent matter but subsequently filed a police report.

mr-zhuo-cyclist-chen-hanwei.jpg

Chen admitted that he did not signal before making the turn, though he had slowed down.

Contrary to Mr Zhuo’s claims, Chen also expressed his willingness to take responsibility for the incident.

“If it’s my fault, I will handle it; if it’s the other party’s fault, I said there is no need to fine him or make him pay for my car repairs. It’s a minor issue,” he said.

Police confirmed receiving a report at 4.20pm on 8 Aug regarding the collision between a car and a bicycle.

The cyclist sustained minor injuries but did not seek medical attention. Investigations are ongoing.

Featured image adapted from Shin Min Daily News.

Wa his really quite photogenic. Why need to call in the media leh? If cyclist is right just lodge a police report… no need to use the media to pressure the person??

songboh9696

I am sorry nowadays drivers will anyhow drive without signals if want to charge Chen Hanwei for this offences every drivers will get charged on the road

It work two ways cyclists should also pay attentions to vehicles
it is not nowadays... when i got my licence in 2002, the driving culture here IS ALREADY like that haha..

PiKa

seems like the cyclist bo skill
on the road, no helmet.
cannot gauge the safe distance to travel on the road.
not defensive riding enough.
this incident considered lucky for him.
he shouldnt have leave the scene before the official report is lodged, no matter how urgent as it is police case liao.
sounds fishy.

King.Koopa

“He didn’t apologise at the time and just kept asking if I was okay,” Mr Zhuo alleged.

“It felt like he wasn’t genuinely concerned about me and was more focused on making sure I was fine to avoid taking any responsibility.”

Wtf more he want? Give him a kiss on his injury ar :ROFLMAO:

jeffprobst

Wait, the cyclist was coming up from behind the car. even though Che was also wrong for not turning on signal while turning in, but the car so big and in-front of him, yet, cyclist still crushed into the car from behind. now want to kpkb? sounds like a cyclist problem as well.

Chw did came down asked if he is okay as also proven by the cyclist. but cyclist felt Che did not show much concern? wth he want? Poke his pigu?

When police was called, cyclist suddenly got urgent matters and left? Then now post police report?

Is it want hush hush money? cyclist motive very fishy.

blurredprint

The part where he run off leaving bike behind after CHW poh mata sounds like b@lls shrink for failed scam :s22:

ghregular

Hanwei told Shin Min he had told the police he would bear full responsibility if he was proven to be at fault.
He added that if Zhou was found to be at fault, he would not need him to pay for him the car repairs as "it's a small matter".

wa so generous

sciprof

Er.. Sing guang huai Fang shi

Roadster01

Cyclist was behind the car? Then cyclist did not keep safe distance and hence hit the car in front of him.

still expect car driver to acknowledge fault? Lucky he wasn’t whacked with a huge bill for damaging car!

Lasogette

Sing guang huai fang shi?

popopola

Chen has expressed his willingness to take responsibility for the incident.

Local actor Chen Hanwei allegedly knocks down cyclist after failing to use turn signal​

A man has accused local actor Chen Hanwei of knocking him off his bicycle after failing to signal before making a turn.

The man, a 33-year-old teacher identified as Mr Zhuo, sustained abrasions to his arms and legs as a result of the incident.

According to Shin Min Daily News, the accident occurred last Thursday (8 Aug) on Irrawaddy Road near Balestier.

Mr Zhuo reported that he was cycling on the leftmost lane when a white Mercedes in front of him suddenly slowed down and turned left into an apartment complex without signalling or giving way.

Unable to stop in time, Mr Zhuo collided with the left side of the car, lost his balance, and fell off his bicycle.

chen hanwei cyclist

“I suspect the driver didn’t notice me cycling behind,” he said.

Claims driver refused to take responsibility for accident​

The driver of the Mercedes then exited the vehicle, and Mr Zhuo immediately recognised him as Chen.

chen hanwei cyclist

Mr Zhuo added that he initially hoped to resolve the matter privately, but Chen was purportedly unwilling to exchange contact information.

“He even mentioned that there was no pedestrian crossing, so he didn’t need to give way to me,” he continued.

“I believe he should take responsibility for the incident, and I hope this serves as a reminder for other cyclists to stay vigilant on the road.”

Fortunately, Mr Zhuo did not sustain any serious injuries and his bicycle was not significantly damaged.

Chen Hanwei admits not signalling but he slowed down​

Confirming the incident to Shin Min Daily News, Chen stated that he was on his way home when a bicycle suddenly rammed into the left side of his car.

The 54-year-old actor immediately exited the vehicle to check on the cyclist and offer assistance.

Noting that the cyclist was not wearing a helmet, Chen asked if he was okay and if he was injured.

However, Mr Zhuo continued recording the incident, prompting Chen to suggest calling the police.

While contacting the police, Mr Zhuo reportedly left the scene, leaving his bicycle behind.

Mr Zhuo later explained to Shin Min Daily News that he had to leave urgently due to an urgent matter but subsequently filed a police report.

mr-zhuo-cyclist-chen-hanwei.jpg

Chen admitted that he did not signal before making the turn, though he had slowed down.

Contrary to Mr Zhuo’s claims, Chen also expressed his willingness to take responsibility for the incident.

“If it’s my fault, I will handle it; if it’s the other party’s fault, I said there is no need to fine him or make him pay for my car repairs. It’s a minor issue,” he said.

Police confirmed receiving a report at 4.20pm on 8 Aug regarding the collision between a car and a bicycle.

The cyclist sustained minor injuries but did not seek medical attention. Investigations are ongoing.

Featured image adapted from Shin Min Daily News.

Cyclists, PMA, PMD, walking smoking uncles are the pests of sg!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.