dark exploration

li9ht5peed

there are
Scared alot of mosquitoes… though it seemed chilly cool & calm at night
there are no predators in the rainforest. no snakes, dogs, cats or boars. so no mosquitoes as well. if there are mosquitoes, beware! warm blooded predators could be lurking nearby

Sen Sen

there are

there are no predators in the rainforest. no snakes, dogs, cats or boars. so no mosquitoes as well. if there are mosquitoes, beware! warm blooded predators could be lurking nearby
Idk lah, perhaps only for me? Cos my blood type is the kind to easily attract mosquitoes.. (not sure about pontianaks though..)

li9ht5peed

Idk lah, perhaps only for me? Cos my blood type is the kind to easily attract mosquitoes.. (not sure about pontianaks though..)
always wear long 4 & boots with gutters. the biggest problem isn't mosquito but vines that trap your ankle causing ugly marks and thorns that pierce your skin. occasionally you might encounter sinking soil. suddenly sink 1 feet into mud so don't wear slippers or running shoes. some forests have many ants and they will bite you. leaves and branches fall constantly making you think someone is behind. squirrels jump around. bats fly around at night silently

carey

this one must wait until my youngest child starts working and my will is done. have to be prepared in case i don't make it out alive
Ubin got anything meh?

Last time army we walked all over Ubin, sometimes alone and nothing leh

The only scary thing that happened to me was during a night mission where we were supposed to land via assault boats and navigate to attack/raid an enemy camp site

As usual, SAF very KS and allowed us to do preps before our actual landing - so what I did during our recce was to attach a lume stick to a tall coconut tree so that our boats can land at the correct site

Why I did that because the landing site was near an abandoned Malay kampong and there was a cemetery there - old birds said that place not very clean

But when we did the actual mission, the lume stick was missing; heng I could still pick out the coconut tree I had identified earlier

We only breathed a big sigh of relief after we were like 2km away from the landing site 😄

li9ht5peed

i never saw ghosts before. my worry is getting lost in a forest at night. i always hike alone and at night. it's very easy to get lost. the moment you step inside a dark forest with no trails, the timer starts. you must find your destination and exit within 1 hr if slopes are involved and no food was brought along

if the forest is on level ground, at most 2hrs must finish if no food but got water, else you risk exhaustion and panic attacks. there's nowhere to lie down and sleep inside. everywhere got ants

it's very dangerous to bash your way through forests alone at night. you get tired very fast. and this is my favorite sport

never ever hike alone at night in a forest if the weather is bad. this is the worse combo because once the soil gets soft, and you go hungry, tired, thirsty and lose your direction, it is game over

li9ht5peed

night visit to the State Cemetery (Kranji War Memorial)
tt's very depressing to see so many 19 year olds who sacrificed their lives for our country. the youngest i saw was 18 years old. please serve your NS with pride and never keng

carey

i never saw ghosts before. my worry is getting lost in a forest at night. i always hike alone and at night. it's very easy to get lost. the moment you step inside a dark forest with no trails, the timer starts. you must find your destination and exit within 1 hr if slopes are involved and no food was brought along

if the forest is on level ground, at most 2hrs must finish if no food but got water, else you risk exhaustion and panic attacks. there's nowhere to lie down and sleep inside. everywhere got ants

it's very dangerous to bash your way through forests alone at night. you get tired very fast. and this is my favorite sport

never ever hike alone at night in a forest if the weather is bad. this is the worse combo because once the soil gets soft, and you go hungry, tired, thirsty and lose your direction, it is game over
I got enough of bashing through jungles during my army time :ROFLMAO:

On missions, we easily walked over 20km at night to reach our objectives when we were in Taiwan

Sometimes back in SG, our starting point is at Lim Chu Kang cemetery and our move off time is 1am - there's a slight rotting smell if the wind is "right"

Our worst experience in Taiwan was constantly having to make our camp among cemeteries - our S3 had a grudge against my OC and we always kena tekan by giving us the worst harbouring spots and trickiest routes :mad:

Funny story in Taiwan - we were approaching an enemy objective when the trainer said we were "contacted" and we moved into a hasty defense - a few of us jumped into a nice "trench" to return fire

But my CSM did not jump in and he just crouched by the trench and he looked at me strangely, saying he will tell me later

After the drill, I asked him when he never jump in to take cover - he said "do you know what was it that you jumped into? It was an excavated grave!" I let loose on him with a lot of choice words for not telling me in advance :mad:

li9ht5peed

it's different jungle trekking alone. you don't have any backup. i'm also filming as i hold the light source, compass and parang. so 4 things at once. need to cut branches, maintain direction, film and hold the light source. i can't film when going up some slopes. it's also impossible to walk in a straight line. some undergrowth is so thick that only a chainsaw will work, and you must maintain direction. i find it very tough and enjoyable. great exercise too. i'm drenched completely every time and to the point of starvation at times. there's also a constant element of fear which you won't experience since you're in an organized group with state mission support

li9ht5peed

18yo died of cancer and was buried before he could meet trump in white house

li9ht5peed

keppel reservoir
i did a day trip there. it's in my youtube channel. night trip is pending. it's very frightening to go alone at night. it's been raining this month and weather isn't ideal. i don't want to hike at night alone in a forest when it's raining. umbrellas don't work inside due to many branches and the soil gets soft from rain. even worse the rain clouds obstruct gps signals. i will get lost inside. it's too dangerous. need good weather & clear skies before trying again

Mila Azul

i did a day trip there. it's in my youtube channel. night trip is pending. it's very frightening to go alone at night. it's been raining this month and weather isn't ideal. i don't want to hike at night alone in a forest when it's raining. umbrellas don't work inside due to many branches and the soil gets soft from rain. even worse the rain clouds obstruct gps signals. i will get lost inside. it's too dangerous. need good weather & clear skies before trying again

i later go watch

I attempted the hike twice. The first time, I narrowly avoided a serious accident because I wasn't aware of the reservoir's presence. Luckily, I stopped to adjust my flashlight, or else I would have continued walking into the reservoir. :ROFLMAO:

li9ht5peed

i later go watch

I attempted the hike twice. The first time, I narrowly avoided a serious accident because I wasn't aware of the reservoir's presence. Luckily, I stopped to adjust my flashlight, or else I would have continued walking into the reservoir. :ROFLMAO:
actually the journey to keppel reservoir isn't hard. the path is there

i wanted to visit the japanese tomb at night. that's the more dangerous one. it's the one that's pending

Mila Azul

actually the journey to keppel reservoir isn't hard

i wanted to visit the japanese tomb at night. that's the more dangerous one. it's the one that's pending

Yup, I'm prone to carelessness and overestimating my abilities, which can lead to complications.

li9ht5peed

from the japanese tomb, if you walk west, it goes down a 40 degree slope. if you roll down that slope by falling, you might end up inside that reservoir at the back end. so don't go to the tomb at night. there's some danger

li9ht5peed

kampong wat selat muslim cemetery in kranji. some giddiness might be felt due to circular motion. burial plots are everywhere

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.