Data Science courses in singapore

majora

Hi all,

I planned to do a career switch and venture into being a Data Analyst/scientist.
However, I do have almost zero academic background in Data science. I am just holding a degree in biomedical eng from suss.

What is the next best route for me?
-A specialist diploma from local poly
-A part time degree
-Short courses(which last a few weeks) held in Singapore.

For those who have made a career switch to Data science, could you share some of your experience and which academy path(s) did u take?

Thanks!

Plow98

Hi all,

I planned to do a career switch and venture into being a Data Analyst/scientist.
However, I do have almost zero academic background in Data science. I am just holding a degree in biomedical eng from suss.

-A part time degree

For those who have made a career switch to Data science, could you share some of your experience and which academy path(s) did u take?

Thanks!

For Data Science and/or AI, your maths must be way up there amongst the best.

Amituofo

Cedr1c

Thanks for the suggestion, but I think that’s a full time course. Any other recommended part time courses ah?

No leh, AI quite specialised and niche, I not sure if NUS offers but for now only full-time, part time don’t think so.

HerbalTea1991

Hi all,

-A part time degree

Thanks!

Hello!

Any updates on the academic pathway that you took?

unhinged_loon

Hi all,

-A part time degree

Thanks!

Hi, I'm interested in such a career switch myself, and exploring options. There don't seem to be many on this island, unfortunately.

1. I'm a bit skeptical of the level of material taught at the polytechnics to be sufficient for jobs. I don't think they can go full on with the necessary probability and statistics foundation necessary for machine learning. If you want to see the amount of mathematics that go into machine learning, take a look at the original lectures by Andrew Ng (Stanford) on Youtube.

2. Would be good such as a Masters. They are rather costly though. I'm looking at those but they are more expensive for me because I already took a Masters locally.

3. Not very useful, IMO, unless you have a PhD in a quantitative field already and use those camps to primarily network. There are such special camps for PhD grads (or postdocs), but mostly in the US or UK. Furthermore, people with bona fide academic degrees especially in CS or data science will have an advantage.

MOOCs: probably even less creditability among recruiters than those boot camps.

---------------------

Before attempting to move to data science, see if you can grok the mathematics for it first.

Reivax91

If you want to try some courses to see if you like data science can try ISCA-SUSS business analytics course. I find it quite comprehensive for the price tag (after SSG grant).

But if you are serious into data science, should get a masters in stats/analytics/quantitative field at the very least.

mesglobal

Hey guys,

Anyone contemplating taking one of those Data Science course or masters?

I have a backround in marketing research and nowadays, big data and data analytics is required by a lot of companies. I am planning to venture into further studies in the field of data science.

Marketing research has always been a combo of marketing, applied research and good knowledge and understanding of statistics, regression etc. But high level Math was never required.

Given new developments, I am attracted by the prosepects of data analyst/data science roles. However, checking out most data science programs, a lot are geared towards high level Math (defined by me given that my background is Business and did not have a lot of advanced math subjects and heavy math courses like Advanced Calculus, etc).

However, I found recently about the program offered by Univ of London, a new masters in Data Science and do not seem to require deep background in Math and only require a preparation in programming which can be accomplished by taking a course they offer online.

Anyone who has considered this course offered by UOL?
Anyone who has completed Masteral from UOL via local teaching centres? How is the experience?

tecksiong

If you want to switch to Data Science but don’t have the background, no need to go all out for a part-time degree or master’s lah. Too expensive, too long, and a lot of cheem theory that you probably won’t use in real-world work.

For career switchers, Vertical Institute’s Data Science Bootcamp is a good option. Covers Python, SQL, Tableau. Designed for beginners, so don’t worry if your math not god-tier. SkillsFuture claimable also.

I don't recommend those taught by local polys because the lecturers are mostly uncle and aunties.

If just want to test waters, free Udemy or Coursera courses can try. But if confirm serious and want a structured, job-ready path, VI’s course is more practical. No need to waste time studying things that employers don’t even care about. 😎

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.