Death in Dakota flat: MP hopes to build kampung spirit to help prevent ‘lonely passing’

Cowbellc

---While technology can be useful, Ms Gho acknowledged that it has its limitations.----
TRue. So much money was spend on rail still breakdown. Still got the audacity to raise fares😁
raising fares is limitless 😁
Anyway old ppl passing undiscovered is inevitable in this present society. Even 子孙满堂 oso no use. All r bz wif on their own, juz a matter of time to discovery, few hrs to few days only.

kopiOkid

Now only talk of hoping to build kampung spirit? What if she steps down as MP later? Who is going to continue the kampung spirit?

Did the whole cabinet talk of building kampung spirit?

Wondering what gov was doing for the past donkey years to prevent lonely dying

https://mustsharenews.com/lonely-passing/

:rolleyes:
It's all talk only. It's just because it happened in her ward that it becomes an opportunity for her to campaign about.

CCCustom

We talk about this for how mnay years?
Y so manual? Automate monitoring the living alone. B productive.
We discussed this in another thread.

What I can say is, that there are actually multiple projects involving a button or buttons, of some sort or other, that people have been working on, that I know of.

And guess what … every single 1 of them is stuck at the who and/or how of the monitoring component.
I have seen concepts and prototypes … press button for help, press button once a day to let people know you are still alive … press button for this, press button for that … all tio stuck at what happens after a button is pressed, or what happens if a button is not pressed, all of them because of 1 not-so-simple question: “Who pay?”

KPO_SAHM

Now only talk of hoping to build kampung spirit? What if she steps down as MP later? Who is going to continue the kampung spirit?

How to build kampong spirit if old folk is bad tempered , stubborn and self centered n couldn get along with anyone???

One of my hubby auntie super hot tempered. Couldn get along with all neighbors, family , cleaners n etc....everyday disturbing neighbors n quarrel with them. She goes outside keep scolding vulgarities at anyone. Very 疑神疑鬼...think everyone will harm her.

zuoom

Stop the kampung spirit idea lah. Now still got what kampung.

hachi

Good initiative, but it doesnt deter the fact help will be too late. Must have a good social life programs for elderly around the estate.
Like my mum, every morning go church exercise, chat with her frds, then play simple games and makan together. Also volunteer in giving out free food. Simple but fulfilling life

matrix05

Who is this joker with kampong spirit ideA? Where is the kampong? What is the role of mayor?

Apparatus

How to build kampong spirit if old folk is bad tempered , stubborn and self centered n couldn get along with anyone???

Many people don't know.

When dealing with elderly one must understand that a young one talking to a grandfather is just like talking nonsense because of the generation gap.

Also, don't attempt to change the old man's thinking, attitude and mentality..........you can't

And don't try to teach/correct the old man what to do even if you are right. It's like teaching your father how to suck milk. Try that to you father and see his reaction.

You need an elderly or not so elderly to deal with an elderly

kopiOkid

I have seen concepts and prototypes … press button for help, press button once a day to let people know you are still alive … press button for this, press button for that … all tio stuck at what happens after a button is pressed, or what happens if a button is not pressed, all of them because of 1 not-so-simple question: “Who pay?”

They can't even solve neighbourhood arguments over noise issues. Neighbourhoods experiencing noise problems have gone on for years without any resolution.

All these suggestions and campaigning are mere talk only.

Prime 13

I nominate indranee to set up a small govt organization to handle thish issue.

Apparatus

Why? You expect me to press button every day? Siao boh?

parchiao

Is she the first MP to come up with such a suggestion? Cannot be that there was no previous attempt right? Anyone knows?

wwenze

1965 - Give me your kumpong land, I give you HDB

2025 - 6 people and 3 income earners in average stay on one HDB, build kumpong spirit

images

Lchlch

I bet they dont know what is kampung spirit, do they?
look at our bto flats….all concrete, no green, chop down big trees, etc etc until what you see outside is just concrete walls.

kampung is not like that.

parchiao

Press button and kampung spirit kicks in.

Stubborn and don’t want to press button means our spirit have chance to live at the HDB until 99 years lease run out.

:frown:

miko66

All the empty talk when they dun walk the ground and attend the meeting regularly.

Kampung spirit is already dead.

If they'd walked the ground they'll noticed most neighbors are foreigners from different countries ...

... most 1 kind one kns

What kampung spirit !

Talk cock nia like i

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.