Dec Trip

pixio2

Hi all,
will be going to Taiwan in Dec (from 9th to 16th) with relatives. Staying near Fengjia nightmarket@ Taichung, near XiMengDing@ Taipei. I would like to seek advice on whether can add in any other interesting place to current itinerary.

9th Dec (with driver)- reach 桃園機場 ard 3pm> 大甲鎮瀾宮 (if times allows)>
Fengjia NM

10th Dec (with driver)- 彩虹眷村> 新社花海> 新社莊園/古堡> 百菇莊 (Lunch)> 薰衣草森林 > 纸箱王 (Dinner)> Fengjia NM
(will there be anymore flowers to see @ 新社花海 or I just choose to go to 薰衣草森林)

11th Dec (with driver)- 鹿港老街 (天后宮/龍山寺, 鹿港桂花巷藝術村, Lunch)>
鹿港工業區 (1- 白蘭氏健康博物館, 2- 緞帶王觀光工廠, 3- 台灣玻璃館 until 6pm) >一中街> Fengjia NM

12th Dec (with driver)- 一福堂 (local products太陽餅, 檸檬餅 will arrange to send to XMD accom)> 梧棲觀光魚港 (Lunch), fruit picking ( 苗栗大湖 or 金勇DIY休閒農場@新竹縣)> TPE XMD
(if fruit picking not in season, anywhere/places to recommend on the way from Taichung to Taipei? no theme parks, all adult/old people liao)

13th Dec (with driver)- 陰陽海> 黃金博物園區 (touch gold bar)> 黃金瀑布>
九份老街 (local product,souvenir, Lunch)> 十分老街 (放天灯)> 廟口夜市> XMD

14th Dec (with driver)- 宜蘭 (driver will plan itinerary)> XMD
(any special/must go to place in 宜蘭?)

15th Dec (OTOT)- 淡水老街> 漁人碼頭> ??
(any places to recommend, feel got a lot of time to spare)

16th Dec (with driver)- flight at 2pm, will leave for airport at 10am.

would appreciate any help in recommending places to go if you feel that the itinerary will still have spare time.
For 太陽餅, my cousin recommend 一福堂 but he's not sure if its 一福堂 or 一福堂老店? online recommend 阿明师太阳饼 and 太陽堂老店.
where to go for 鳳梨酥? CHIA TE or LI Yi?

TIA.

Doritoss

Hi there,

Sorry not much help for Taichung. But for Taipei on Dec 15th, you can visit Beitou, which has a lot of hotsprings and parks, Thermal Valley, on the way back from Tamsui to XMD.

If you are in need of any last minute souvenir or shopping, Taipei Main Station would be useful so you can shop there then walk back to XMD(it's not a far station, about 5 minutes).

You'll also pass Ningxia Nightmarket on the way back, it's from either Shuanlian or Zhongshan MRT station, and offers a lot of food for the last taste of Taiwan.

Hope it helps!

stormcontrol

Yilan is huge and plenty of things to do. I have only tried out Luodong myself and I really like Luodong NM and the National Center for Traditional Arts. I love the serenity and rusticness of Meihua Lake but it may not be for everyone. Incidentally I was told that peanut ice-cream roll originated there. Suao cold springs have been on my to-do list for the longest of time but might not be suitable for the time of the year. Wushigang and Jiaoxi are another two places I would love to visit in Yilan.

Do note for your 13th Dec itinerary that the road up and down the mountain is absolutely packed. For your reference when we boarded the bus at Jinguashi at 530pm we could only get off at Miaokou NM at 8pm. But that was a Sunday so it might be slightly better without the domestic tourists on wkdays. If you are gonna be up at Jinguashi might I suggest topping up a little extra for the benshan 5th tunnel experience to get into a real mine? The miner's lunch box there is kitschy but makes for a memorable experience/souvenir too.

There's a cartload of unique foods (taro balls, hong zao rou yuan, hakka glutinous rice cake etc.) and experience (teahouse? getting to 芋仔蕃薯) in Jiufen and miaokou NM certainly busted our guts so I'm really not sure how you intend to cram so much traveling and eating all in 1 day! :p

pixio2

Doritoss...I had also planned for TMS for last minute souvenir shopping on the last night (15/12), then maybe drop by Ningxia NM as you suggest.
got any other NM you recommend going in TPE besides Shilin NM?
my relatives are not into hotspings..that'll be for my solo trip next year...:)

stormcontrol...i'll like to go to Luodong NM, but have to depend on the driver as we'll going back to XMD, so I'm not sure whether the driver will want to stay in Yilan til the NM opens for business.
for 13/12 at Jin Gua Shi, I'm looking at panning for gold dust activity besides touching the gold bar. we'll be going to MiaoKou NM from Shi Fen after putting the sky lantern. if it's too late, maybe we'll just get the driver to drop us off at some NM in TPE area instead of Kee Lung. Lots of walking around will help us to eat more...=:p

Got any places/suggestions to get 鳳梨酥 recommended by locals?

TIA

twosix

Doritoss...I had also planned for TMS for last minute souvenir shopping on the last night (15/12), then maybe drop by Ningxia NM as you suggest.

stormcontrol...i'll like to go to Luodong NM, but have to depend on the driver as we'll going back to XMD, so I'm not sure whether the driver will want to stay in Yilan til the NM opens for business.
for 13/12 at Jin Gua Shi, I'm looking at panning for gold dust activity besides touching the gold bar. we'll be going to MiaoKou NM from Shi Fen after putting the sky lantern. if it's too late, maybe we'll just get the driver to drop us off at some NM in TPE area instead of Kee Lung. Lots of walking around will help us to eat more...=:p

TIA

Ningxia nm is not big but got lots of good food. Another one I like is raohe nm. This one is big with good food too and got some shopping too.

For pineapple tarts, chiate and sunnyhills are top favourites.

dede1217

Ningxia nm is not big but got lots of good food. Another one I like is raohe nm. This one is big with good food too and got some shopping too.

For pineapple tarts, chiate and sunnyhills are top favourites.

For pineapple tarts, I prefer chiate ...
their pineapple wo egg is 32twd, with egg is about 37twd if i rmb correctly
with egg can keep one or two weeks only ...

ningxia is like 1 straight line 200m or so ....
not very long ...
raohe is better, bigger, more things to eat and look around

twosix

For pineapple tarts, I prefer chiate ...
their pineapple wo egg is 32twd, with egg is about 37twd if i rmb correctly
with egg can keep one or two weeks only ...

ningxia is like 1 straight line 200m or so ....
not very long ...
raohe is better, bigger, more things to eat and look around

With an egg yolk, less pineapple. Have to pay more. Bo hua.

stormcontrol

TIA

May I suggest 晴光夜市(雙城美食一條街)? My favorite food there is
阿宏乌骨鸡. Get it 白斩 so the chicken can soak in the sauce.

Also Shida if you have young adults who are into shopping. 燈籠滷味滷味 there is not bad even if it is the wet soupy kind which I am not partial to

NM generally start opening for business round 5pm FYI it *may* not be that rush. Also the road trip from luodong back to TPMS is around 90 mins according to my minsu host. So you should have plenty of time to get back to XMD!

You've already named the 2 favourite places for locals to get 鳳梨酥:)

pixio2

I guess that settle for the local products (pineapple tarts and sun biscuits) which i'll be buying from.
Chia Te (TPE) - 原味佳德鳳梨酥 & 蔓越莓鳳梨酥 will be the main buys.
一福堂/一福堂老店 (Tai Chung) - 太陽餅 & 檸檬餅 will be main buys.
TMS - for last min shopping.
the rest will be buy when I see what I like...:s13:

will go to 晴光夜市, 寧夏夜市, 饒河夜市 (as recommended by brothers here), not planning to visit 士林夜市. and 羅東夜市 while daytrip to 宜蘭.

I think it'll settle this Dec Taiwan trip. if got any spare time, will just plan on the spot or go where I feel like going.

Thanks for all the help/suggestions/recommendations by the brothers here.

twosix

I guess that settle for the local products (pineapple tarts and sun biscuits) which i'll be buying from.
Chia Te (TPE) - 原味佳德鳳梨酥 & 蔓越莓鳳梨酥 will be the main buys.
一福堂/一福堂老店 (Tai Chung) - 太陽餅 & 檸檬餅 will be main buys.
TMS - for last min shopping.
the rest will be buy when I see what I like...:s13:

will go to 晴光夜市, 寧夏夜市, 饒河夜市 (as recommended by brothers here), not planning to visit 士林夜市. and 羅東夜市 while daytrip to 宜蘭.

I think it'll settle this Dec Taiwan trip. if got any spare time, will just plan on the spot or go where I feel like going.

Thanks for all the help/suggestions/recommendations by the brothers here.

if you like steamboat or tenpanyaki buffet, can also try 公馆 area. it has a few steamboat cum tenpanyaki buffet restaurants. there is also a nm there. famous stores include 青蛙撞奶 and kua pao.

pixio2

thanks twosix, I was thinking of asking for place to go for steamboat as I think it'll be nice to have steamboat in low temperature Dec. but certainly not Ma La steamboat as scared of having stomach upset.

you got any recommendation for Xiao Long Bao? 鼎泰丰 and 點水樓 are the popular choice online...but I scared of long waiting time.
also for Taiwanese local cuisine? I've been to 伍角船板 on my last trip few years back, would like to try some other places for local cuisine. is 欣葉台菜創始店 recommended or is it over-rated due to advertisement?

TIA.

twosix

thanks twosix, I was thinking of asking for place to go for steamboat as I think it'll be nice to have steamboat in low temperature Dec. but certainly not Ma La steamboat as scared of having stomach upset.

you got any recommendation for Xiao Long Bao? 鼎泰丰 and 點水樓 are the popular choice online...but I scared of long waiting time.
also for Taiwanese local cuisine? I've been to 伍角船板 on my last trip few years back, would like to try some other places for local cuisine. is 欣葉台菜創始店 recommended or is it over-rated due to advertisement?

TIA.

XLB, must try 杭州小籠湯包 next to CKS memorial hall. Won't lose to DTF, and cheaper too. Ate 伍角船板 before and dun like it.

and if you like guo tie 鍋貼, try 八方雲集. it is a chain, so can easily find a branch.

stormcontrol

TIA.

It's 5 choose 2 for soup bases @ 马辣 XMD. Only 1 option of the 5 is the stomach upset giving kind.

pixio2

one more question, does anyone know of any shop in TPE which sells 柿饼 (persimmon cake ) or is it only available in 新竹?
if it's only available in 新竹, any shop to recommend (preferably if it's near to a fruit farm).

does 佳德 do delivery to hotel if you buy their products exceeding certain amount? if I go on 14/12 to buy, will they do delivery on the 15/12 to the hotel?

TIA.

stormcontrol

one more question, does anyone know of any shop in TPE which sells 柿饼 (persimmon cake ) or is it only available in 新竹?
if it's only available in 新竹, any shop to recommend (preferably if it's near to a fruit farm).

does 佳德 do delivery to hotel if you buy their products exceeding certain amount? if I go on 14/12 to buy, will they do delivery on the 15/12 to the hotel?

TIA.

From their FAQ: 有的!訂單消費滿消費滿1200元以上,可選擇宅配,運費另計.並需在時效內完成滙款,或在線上完成刷卡付款~
貨品皆系工廠直接出貨,採事先預訂方式,門市現場購買者恕無法提供現場配送

I saw 柿饼 in taipei so i'll go out on a limb and say it's possible to find. I can't remember where I saw it at though, so sorry about that.

twosix

TIA.

Check with hotel whether they have forms to order from chiate. Then you pay the hotel rather than make a trip to their shop.

dede1217

711 also sells chia te pineapple tart (without egg yolk)
one flavor only , that time i went there

else if u hit certain amt, they can send to your hotel

pixio2

I guess i'll just ask the driver, see if he can drive us to any fruit store while on the way from Taichung to TPE, or if he know of or got any lobang for the 柿饼 and 釋迦 (latest order from relative).

Some restaurant going for meal- 杭州小籠湯包, 马辣顶级麻辣鸳鸯火锅, 伍角船板 (so can go to the Carrefour nearby to buy 杯杯面).

Thanks for all the help/advices/recommendations from stormcontrol, twosix, doritoss and dede1217.

twosix

I guess i'll just ask the driver, see if he can drive us to any fruit store while on the way from Taichung to TPE, or if he know of or got any lobang for the 柿饼 and 釋迦 (latest order from relative).

Some restaurant going for meal- 杭州小籠湯包, 马辣顶级麻辣鸳鸯火锅, 伍角船板 (so can go to the Carrefour nearby to buy 杯杯面).

Thanks for all the help/advices/recommendations from stormcontrol, twosix, doritoss and dede1217.

take note 釋迦 cannot keep for too long as it will rot fast.

pixio2

Few yrs back, we ordered 3 boxes of 釋迦 (in box of 9 or 12) from our tour guide who had a relative who owned a fruit farm in Taitung. He delivered the order to our hotel on the last day before we go to the airport and gave us 1 additional box of 12 pieces of 釋迦.
so maybe we will ask this driver if he had any relatives who owned fruit farm too...:s13:
now left only changing of NTD and see if the freebies from Taiwan Visitor Association is You You card. still got 8 more days..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.