Dell Laptop User Thread

Diavonex

On your TV:

1. Select the correct video channel e.g. Video1, Video2 etc

2. Have you tried AUTO/PAL/NTSF settings.

Diavonex

heatman said:
hi diavonex, i remember u mentioned b4 somewhere here abt the those f4 f5 f6 etc....key function. the short cut for tis n tat. can u repeat here again. thx.

Fn+Esc=Standby

Fn+F1=Hibenate

Fn+F2=Wireless ON/OFF

Fn+F8=CRT/LCD

Fn+F10=CD eject

Fn+Page Up/Down=Volume

Fn+Up/Down arrow=Brightness

F2=BIOS

F12=Boot priority

Ctrl+F11=Recovery

UBetcha

Hi, just bought a 6400, with integrated graphics.
How come the bold text displays blurry/discoloured, like the colours not uniform.
Anyone has the same experience?

Diavonex

UBetcha said:
Hi, just bought a 6400, with integrated graphics.
How come the bold text displays blurry/discoloured, like the colours not uniform.
Anyone has the same experience?

What resolution are you using?

1280X800?

UBetcha

Diavonex said:
What resolution are you using?

1280X800?
Hi Diavonex,

Yes, I'm using 1280x800, the default setting.
The display is 15.4" Wide Screen XGA TFT Display (1280x800 res.).

Thanks!

Crazy_

Juz bought an Inspiron 640m

Hi all,

Order an Inspiron 640m on last thurs. And the bank approved my credit card transaction on the next day. Decided that it was time for me to buy a new lappy as the last lappy was an Acer Travelmate P3 which was bought about 6 yrs during my uni days. After I finished by studies, was using my company provided lappy till I changed job earlier this month. Since then the Acer was not used.

Guess wat???? When I opened the Acer lappy. The whole casing broke into pieces. And my new company only provided me with a desktop.

So bo pian, was using my wify's company lappy till I decided to get a lappy. (Have to fight to use the lappy).

So my hunt started on last monday. Acer was out of my list as it was really cappy. This batt lasted me only a yr and the replacement that I brought also lasted for a yr which cost me $280. Secondly, I got really hot after only a short usage.

Cost is also a main point of consideration, so as Dell was having the festive offer. I took up the offer. I chose 640m over 6400 due to the sixe and weight. The operator was also very kind and offered to the free upgrade of ram to 1g and I took up the offer of upgrading the drive to a dvd rw gor another $52.

Was called up and was told that my new lappy will be delived to me this thurs at bout 6pm. I was informed that my lappy would be delivered only on the end of the month my the operator that took my order due to the festive holidays.

Over all, very haapy with the service and delivery time (only 5 working day althought the festive break).

Any advice on checking the new lappy when it arrive this thurs?

Diavonex

Welcome to the DELL family.

Just open the box, plug in the power and start using it.

stam

Diavonex said:
1. Update Windows XP.

2. Install antivirus

3. Install anti-Spyware

they got give anti-spyware??? anti-vrius only trial right?? :s11:

Diavonex

stam said:
they got give anti-spyware??? anti-vrius only trial right?? :s11:

For DELL you can choose to buy or not to buy the antivirus.

wainism

Hi Guys,

I am looking at the DELL 6400 series as I am looking for a dedicated video card.

a couple of questions that i hope u guys can help me with

1. there are 3 seperate options for the 6400 and when i config them in exactly the same manner, they are all different prices, any reason for this?

2. i am looking to get 2gb of RAM, does it make sense to get 2x1024 from DELL or get 1x1024 and get additional 1024 from sls? will there be any compatibility issues?

3. since i want 2gb of ram, and the processor speed is 667 and ram provided is only 533, should i just get 1x512 ram and get the a higher speed 2x1024 ram from sls to match the cpu?

Thanks!

skmok

My friend finally decided to get the 6400 too after using mine which i bought last month.

So he then asked me about the option for the 3 years complete cover which cost something like 300plus $$$ if needed. I didn't get that and just stick to the 1 year cover cos i upgrade my ram and hdd, so not much $$ left. Now that my friend say say and keep asking me, make me also abit like don't know got make wrong choice?

So tot ask all you guys here if the 3 years for 300plus is it worth? Does many problem appear after the 1 year?

Also if after 1 year, then got problem, i call up dell, will the charges be very high? I read through some threads but some say must get 3 years, some say no need.

I know its pretty subjective, but though maybe you forumers can sort of have some different opinion so at least my friend have better picture to decide. I mean , i didn't get cos purely base on $$$, so if my friend can have a better advise then better for him lor.

Thanks forumers.

li_chenwei48

skmok said:
My friend finally decided to get the 6400 too after using mine which i bought last month.

So he then asked me about the option for the 3 years complete cover which cost something like 300plus $$$ if needed. I didn't get that and just stick to the 1 year cover cos i upgrade my ram and hdd, so not much $$ left. Now that my friend say say and keep asking me, make me also abit like don't know got make wrong choice?

So tot ask all you guys here if the 3 years for 300plus is it worth? Does many problem appear after the 1 year?

Also if after 1 year, then got problem, i call up dell, will the charges be very high? I read through some threads but some say must get 3 years, some say no need.

I know its pretty subjective, but though maybe you forumers can sort of have some different opinion so at least my friend have better picture to decide. I mean , i didn't get cos purely base on $$$, so if my friend can have a better advise then better for him lor.

Thanks forumers.

Seems like you kinda regret on not buying the 3 year warranty thingy, here's my suggestion
Suggestion:
Buy the extension before your 1 year warranty ends. I heard from notebookforum that you can do that if you havent bought it during the ordering process

li_chenwei48

Guys, I made my first call to the XPS Tech Support today for my 1 month old M1210.
Not because of any tech problems but I realised one small corner of my laptop is exposed.
And thanks to Dell, they agree to replace that part of the body for me
:)

skmok

li_chenwei48 said:
Seems like you kinda regret on not buying the 3 year warranty thingy, here's my suggestion
Suggestion:
Buy the extension before your 1 year warranty ends. I heard from notebookforum that you can do that if you havent bought it during the ordering process

Haha... well... not exactly regret but now that my friend keep asking and saying then make your heart like ya, should have hor, aiya...that type lor... makes you think too much into the future like what if spoil? what if replace expensive? etc etc...cos another 1500 for a new notebook next year ? i don't think so lah...hahaa

the 300plus i saved when i buy went to pay for other bills which was important for me.

So really can get the extended warranty when expiring soon? hmmm.. then next year then see how lor... haha...

Thanks anyway....

SeanDell

WTS: dvd+-rw from d600

Dear fellow latitude/inspiron users,

I have a dvd+-rw drive pulled from a D600 for sale. Would let go @139. Hardly used. Any interested? Please PM me.

Dell laptop used: Latitude C400, Latitude D400, Latidute D410, Latitude D600. Currently revert back to my trusty, good old C400 because couldn't get use to the Alps touch pad.

Anyone know why they made the shift from the Synatic touch pad.

wahoo

skmok said:
Haha... well... not exactly regret but now that my friend keep asking and saying then make your heart like ya, should have hor, aiya...that type lor... makes you think too much into the future like what if spoil? what if replace expensive? etc etc...cos another 1500 for a new notebook next year ? i don't think so lah...hahaa

the 300plus i saved when i buy went to pay for other bills which was important for me.

So really can get the extended warranty when expiring soon? hmmm.. then next year then see how lor... haha...

Thanks anyway....

is it Nearly $300 for 3 year warrenty or just for extra (2 year warrenty + 1st year Free )warrenty so total is 3year only.

So laptop max warrenty is 3 year la include the 1st year Free liao?>

Compare $300 / 3 year / 365 day = $0.27 Cent only per day
then if $300 / (2 year , 2nd and 3rd year ) / 365 day = $0.41 cent only leh per day.
At 1st see Extra $300 like bo huanot worth it for a cheap $1.5K laptop.
Not as if the laptop is $3K+ so die die need to buy extra warrenty cos $300 is just 10% of the $3k laptop, ratio is 1:10

but comapre to $1.5K laptop ratio is 1:5. like not worth it.
next time laptop spoilt just buy another $1.5K laptop lor , can get extra 1 year warrenty since new laptop sure had @ least 1 year warrenty..... and better newer technology. IT keep on fall ma.
your $1.5K can buy better laptop next time.

Unless u the sway type, After 1st year finish then start to spoilt ...... worst is LCD or Mobo spoilt / intergated graphic spoilt or , Cpu spoilt can LL liao....
if HDD spoilt or keyboard spoilt cdrom spoilt, usb or battery spoilt still can be save

Actually for 20cent ~ 50cent everyday is quit cheap too for your future laptop breakdown investment.

20 cent ~ 50 cent / day just for a peace of mind also nmv ok one ma.
a glass of can drink vendor machine outside already 80cent liao. i drink alsomot every day or take bus every day too. bus already like 80 cent also.

Paiseh I OT liao.

Up to you to decide lor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.