Dell Laptop User Thread

bernier

Planning to install WinXP on my 1420.anything i need to know pre-cautions or problems encountered during installation?

Are all XP drivers for 1420 available?

Thanks!

zero7090

Hello guys
i'm going buy a Dell Vostro 1500 Notebook but i still hesitate cuz i read some review said it is heavy and sturdy . is this right ? also do anyone know how its performance on mutilmedia ?

Diavonex

DELL Vostro 1505

Pros:

* Top-Notch computing performance with the Core 2 Duo, great for multi-taskers
* Very respectable battery life
* Quiet under normal use
* Mostly cool running
* Good keyboard
* 802.11n wireless offering

Cons:

* Not much of a looker in terms of design
* No non-glossy option for high resolution or expanded viewing angle
* Some annoying pre-installed software (AOL, NetZero, MusicMatch etc.)
* No DVI port

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=3137&review=Inspiron+e1505+Core+2+Duo

Diavonex

Sorry wrong review; here's the right one

Pros

* Fast Core 2 Duo processors, and up to 4GB of RAM provide plenty of system performance
* Dedicated graphics option performs well
* Still available with XP and zero bloatware!
* Solid build quality and sturdiness
* Good keyboard and touchpad

Cons

* Not-so-stylish design
* Lower-resolution screen isn't great ... select the higher resolution option
* Average battery life
* A bit bulky and heavy for a 15.4" notebook
* Bad location for built-in speakers

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4000

li_chenwei48

bernier said:
Planning to install WinXP on my 1420.anything i need to know pre-cautions or problems encountered during installation?

Are all XP drivers for 1420 available?

Thanks!

Use the XP drivers from the Vostro 1400

It's the same

SecretZone

i have the intention of getting a vostro 1400, called up dell today to ask about warranty in japan. they say need to buy the 3 year premium plan then got internation warranty.. is there other alternatives?

PandaCat

BradenHeat said:
Brother brother...

just format that thing and partition it into two or three man -_-''

Check out the Software clinic, they're pretty up to date
Eh dun intend to parition the harddrive lehZ. As kinda also dun need tat as well. Btw fed it with tat burning program already, i tink will buy 1 later on as it kinda nt tat impt for now.

Just nw, went to Causeway pt Courts and saw all the dell laptops. Saw 1420 with the processor T7500 cost around $2200+ nia but warranty is only 1year while other specs, i didnt see much so duno worthwhile or not.

quekky

should i buy another d630 for personal use? using it for office now but i got special offer for personal set :alien:

Dj_SkyE

I ordered a Vostro 1400 today!
Upgrade till gao gao + 22" lcd = 2368 SGD!

SecretZone

yesteray went down to dell kiosk to check on the warranty issue and been told the 1 year warranty does cover asia pac which include japan :D so made my order for a vostro 1400 there as my very first laptop.

meanwhile thought ask around, where to get a good screen protector? does this model have any heat issue, such tat it will requires a cooler?

PandaCat

Dj_SkyE said:
I ordered a Vostro 1400 today!
Upgrade till gao gao + 22" lcd = 2368 SGD!
Hmm quite cheap lehZ. What specs did u chose?

SecretZone said:
yesteray went down to dell kiosk to check on the warranty issue and been told the 1 year warranty does cover asia pac which include japan :D so made my order for a vostro 1400 there as my very first laptop.

meanwhile thought ask around, where to get a good screen protector? does this model have any heat issue, such tat it will requires a cooler?
Hope u will njoy using it as i am currently v hapi with my first dell laptop. Hmm i also currently looking for a screen protector as well. Erm can any kind bro recommend? :)

quekky

arhhh, D630 no stock :sad: else will be a very good buy. imagine 3 years gold but price cheaper then vostro

anyone know where to get cheap screen privacy for 14.1" widescreen?

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:
Eh dun intend to parition the harddrive lehZ. As kinda also dun need tat as well. Btw fed it with tat burning program already, i tink will buy 1 later on as it kinda nt tat impt for now.

Just nw, went to Causeway pt Courts and saw all the dell laptops. Saw 1420 with the processor T7500 cost around $2200+ nia but warranty is only 1year while other specs, i didnt see much so duno worthwhile or not.
Not you brother...your computer needs at least two partitions.

One for swap, check wikipedia for pagefile or swap. Another for normal C Drive.
If you need any defrag tools i've got some info....Diavonex also got alot of lobang one =:p

BradenHeat

PandaCat said:

Hope u will njoy using it as i am currently v hapi with my first dell laptop. Hmm i also currently looking for a screen protector as well. Erm can any kind bro recommend? :)
Woot......enjoying what......prawns arh:o

Dj_SkyE

PandaCat said:

2.2GHz, 4MB Cache, 800 MHz FSB
Vista Ultimate 32 bit
14.1" Ultrasharp(TM) Widescreen WXGA+
2GB RAM
250GB HDD
GF8400 GS 128mb
2.0MP Webcam
9-cell batt
90w AC adapter
3 years warranty

+ E228 22" Monitor

PandaCat

Dj_SkyE said:
2.2GHz, 4MB Cache, 800 MHz FSB
Vista Ultimate 32 bit
14.1" Ultrasharp(TM) Widescreen WXGA+
2GB RAM
250GB HDD
GF8400 GS 128mb
2.0MP Webcam
9-cell batt
90w AC adapter
3 years warranty

+ E228 22" Monitor
Hmm quite gd specs. Hmm too bad that i kinda want midnite blue colour for my laptop otherwise i mite choose vostro 1400.

Dj_SkyE

PandaCat said:
Hmm quite gd specs. Hmm too bad that i kinda want midnite blue colour for my laptop otherwise i mite choose vostro 1400.

now 1420 3gb ram leh
haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.