Dell Laptop User Thread

ShougunX

Shinji_U said:
1) You can't bring back and change the LCD, you can only request to upgrade the LCD but it will be a totally different price, cause during purchase, upgrading is cheaper than after sales upgrade.

2) The Complete cover warranty form Dell is more or so insurance like cover if you cross reference it with an insurance policy for notebooks.
thanks for the info man!!

Hmmm...insurance is cheaper than buying the warranty...think i would purchase an insurance for my lappies from ntuc....

btw, although glossy lens are reflective (u basically can't see nuts under the sun), they make the graphic sharper. so i think i may still upgrade the lens to gloss...

scramblur11

ShougunX said:
thanks for the info man!!

Hmmm...insurance is cheaper than buying the warranty...think i would purchase an insurance for my lappies from ntuc....

btw, although glossy lens are reflective (u basically can't see nuts under the sun), they make the graphic sharper. so i think i may still upgrade the lens to gloss...

u can actually return the laptop to dell within 1mth of purchase if u wan....den buy a new laptop with the improved screen....

but to return the laptop to them, u have to pay them $50 I think for the admin charges....but u can try complain to them that the screen nt up to ur expectation, request to waive off... :yawn:

ShougunX

scramblur11 said:
u can actually return the laptop to dell within 1mth of purchase if u wan....den buy a new laptop with the improved screen....

but to return the laptop to them, u have to pay them $50 I think for the admin charges....but u can try complain to them that the screen nt up to ur expectation, request to waive off... :yawn:
Really!!! wow...,maybe i can lie thru hor....haha

lenney

Is Dell Ultrasharp 19" LCD @ 588 a gd buy? Anyone know it is 16.7 or 16.2 million colour?

theory_87

lenney said:
Is Dell Ultrasharp 19" LCD @ 588 a gd buy? Anyone know it is 16.7 or 16.2 million colour?
dots... as if ur eyes is so powerful to c the 0.5m color diff...

lenney

Do you need a powerful eyes to c the diff? But cant blame those colour blinds. :D

theory_87 said:
dots... as if ur eyes is so powerful to c the 0.5m color diff...

gamzen

I using Dell 700m and Dell 630m. Anyone know where I can get cheap ram for my Dell 630m?

cyberian

GreenArrow2002 said:
Thinking of upgrade my i9300 ram to another 1g. Which shops in SLS selling compatible ram?

Base on Kingston website, you can use the following ram:
KTD-INSP6000A/256 256MB Module

KTD-INSP6000A/512 512MB Module

KTD-INSP6000A/1G 1GB Module

sandyph

Shinji_U said:
1) You can't bring back and change the LCD, you can only request to upgrade the LCD but it will be a totally different price, cause during purchase, upgrading is cheaper than after sales upgrade.

2) The Complete cover warranty form Dell is more or so insurance like cover if you cross reference it with an insurance policy for notebooks.
heh, how to change LCD ? I kinda regret only having 1280x800 screen and more after seeing the gorgeous screen of 710m

if I change LCD, will they buy my old ones (since im not using it anymore) ?

ShougunX

gamzen said:
I using Dell 700m and Dell 630m. Anyone know where I can get cheap ram for my Dell 630m?
Wa Hi5, same as me 700m & 630m. But erm, sorrie i dunnoe whr to get cheap ram. For me i dun do much gamin, 512 is enough.

Shinji_U

Go convergence and buy Kingston DDR2 SO-DIMM Ram modules lor, Kingston has the most compatibles SO-DIMM modules for notebooks, other brands, ermm... not so sure...

darrenlee78

sandyph said:
heh, how to change LCD ? I kinda regret only having 1280x800 screen and more after seeing the gorgeous screen of 710m

if I change LCD, will they buy my old ones (since im not using it anymore) ?
no they wont trade-in i believe :)

PierceLee

Kingston memory

Shinji_U said:
Go convergence and buy Kingston DDR2 SO-DIMM Ram modules lor, Kingston has the most compatibles SO-DIMM modules for notebooks, other brands, ermm... not so sure...
Regarding Kingston memory for notebooks, I was told by a SLS shop that Kingston "value RAM" series will NOT work on Dell notebooks. They have tested on many Dells and were unsuccessful. Another shop refused to sell me the RAM unless I bring down my Dell notebook for testing. These Kingston "value RAM" series has part numbers starting with "KVR".

Kingston's website site has a "find memory" function and it shows a few that are compatible to Dell. Those have part numbers starting with "KTD-INSP" (wonder if they are specially made for Dell Inspiron) but I couldn't find them in SLS.

Can anyone who has tried Kingston "value RAM" (DDR or DDR2) on a Dell notebook prove or disprove this?

Yxy

They are talking rubbish...
I have 2 pieces of Kingston ValueRAM KVR533D2S4/1G (1GB PC2-4200 CL4 200-Pin SODIMM) in my Inspiron 9300 (self-installed) and they work perfectly fine.
But then, those are DDR2. Maybe DDR1 has compatibility issues, I dunno...

Hmm...Convergent website lists these @ $139 each...rather cheap

PierceLee said:
Regarding Kingston memory for notebooks, I was told by a SLS shop that Kingston "value RAM" series will NOT work on Dell notebooks. They have tested on many Dells and were unsuccessful. Another shop refused to sell me the RAM unless I bring down my Dell notebook for testing. These Kingston "value RAM" series has part numbers starting with "KVR".

Kingston's website site has a "find memory" function and it shows a few that are compatible to Dell. Those have part numbers starting with "KTD-INSP" (wonder if they are specially made for Dell Inspiron) but I couldn't find them in SLS.

Can anyone who has tried Kingston "value RAM" (DDR or DDR2) on a Dell notebook prove or disprove this?

Shinji_U

PierceLee said:

I'm using Kingston Value RAM SO-DIMM 2x1GB on my notebook. Who say can't.

They just want to earn more from you by asking you to buy the more expensive RAMS so they can earn a higher margin or ask you to bring your notebook down so they can charge you for installation fees and earn more.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.