Dell Laptop User Thread

Garf83

Hey ppl... i jus realise... Dell changed the Intel Core Duo processor for 6400 & 640m... my 640m is with the T2300E Core Duo... seems like now they switched to T2050... :s22:

samuel21

YAH...but u can upgrade it to 1.83! and the cost is much less than that when u are at 1.66....

anyway i got the 1.66 -> 1.83 one haha

Hey Garf u didnt get anything to care for your lappy arh? What if got a lot of dust and stuff haha...

Garf83

samuel21 said:
YAH...but u can upgrade it to 1.83! and the cost is much less than that when u are at 1.66....

anyway i got the 1.66 -> 1.83 one haha

Hey Garf u didnt get anything to care for your lappy arh? What if got a lot of dust and stuff haha...
huh? wat things u mean? i gotta a Crumpler lappy bag... then i can use the same LCD cleaning kit for my LCD monitor & TV on my lappy screen... mmm... thinking of getting 'rollers' to stick onto the bottom of my lappy... let the heat disperse faster although its not tt hot lah... :) wat else u gona get?

Cantabile

stam said:
dell direct enables u to open yr media files(movies/songs) and DVD/VCD/CD without booting into windows. just press the dell direct button, will have a programme for all these. :)

Thanks stam! for your reply. sounds like a great functionality. how do i customise the inspiron 6400 to have this dell direct? is this the same as the dell media experience thingy? thanks again!

Garf83

Cantabile said:
Thanks stam! for your reply. sounds like a great functionality. how do i customise the inspiron 6400 to have this dell direct? is this the same as the dell media experience thingy? thanks again!
Dont need to customise... Inspiron 6400 & 640m comes with Dell Direct. the buttons are at the front part... jus press the button will do the magic... :) haha

RobVanDam

eh anyone know if dell has those keyboard covers, like one peice of cloth type....
apple sells them for their keyboards as well.. or one peice of silicone plastic one even better !!

stam

RobVanDam said:
eh anyone know if dell has those keyboard covers, like one peice of cloth type....
apple sells them for their keyboards as well.. or one peice of silicone plastic one even better !!
how does it look like??? :s11:

Cantabile

hi guys. why dun all of us share our configurations of our lappies, such as graphics, ram, processor, screen resolution, hdd, etc.? since dell lappies are configurable i thought this could be a reference for other buyers. also describe what your lappy is mainly used for.
i'll start... will be getting my 6400 at comex. here's roughly what i plan to get:
1.83ghz processor, x1400 graphics, 2gb 667mhz ram, normal resolution w trulife, 120gb 5400rpm hdd. used mainly for school, internet, and medium but graphics intensive gaming. pls give comments! haha i'm pretty worried about getting too powerful in some areas but not enought in others.. thanks!

samuel21

hey guys ask u all a question, why when i wan to create a parition on disk management, i cant find any options for me to create a drive one? Theres only C drive on my lappy...

Diavonex

Samuel, suggest you read your DELL manual before you start messing with you hard disk.

There should be a total of 3 partition; 2 partition are hidden; 1XFAT32 and 1XNTFS.

Your Windows XP+ Program Image is on the NTFS partition.

Your Ghost recovery program (Ctrl+F11) is on the FAT32 partition.

Think twice before you format.

Diavonex

samuel21 said:
hey guys ask u all a question, why when i wan to create a parition on disk management, i cant find any options for me to create a drive one? Theres only C drive on my lappy...

You can't create another partition with disk management.

You need PartitionMagic.

RobVanDam

stam said:
how does it look like??? :s11:
it looks like this

combo.jpg

RobVanDam

oh yeah btw anyone else with the XPS 1210 have ur keyboard keys keep on coming out, mine inparticular the R key keeps on coming out every couple of minutes ....

just have to plug it back in but gets kinda irritating.

Anyway called them up and they asked me take a photo of it and they will send me a new keyboard,
for those of you who are wondering the 1210 keyboard is very easily removed because you have to install the extra rams under it ..

samuel21

woot thanks diavonex for your help...now i just need to get partition magic...can use free trial anot?

theres someone called "greentea81" who is selling laptop keyboard screens, you may wanna ask him...i just bought one from him, but havent tried yet?

Garf83

yoo ppl... how much u ppl paying for the lappy keyboard screen? looks impressive sia... :) hehe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.