Dell Laptop User Thread

PandaCat

slack said:
I'm currently playing World In Conflict on my 9600pro and P4 1.6ghz single core. everything low can play quite smooth haha. But well this gfx card has served me well for abt 3 yrs so well I would want a better card now and esp if its a laptop, since laptop gfx card can't be upgraded.
I intend to play Call of duty 4 and the Pro evolution soccer 2008 series, and fm2008 too.
and of course WIC would definitely look and play better on a 8600GT than a 8400GS.

So i'm now torn between deciding whether to sacrifice portability for performance. the best 14inch i seen is a nec versa with 8600GS series but its $2400..ex imo...

probably have to go down and see the vostro/insipiron 15 inch one more time and see if i can tahan the weight haha...
Well i currently playin fm2008 on my lappy. It is quite smooth and fine. But i tink those games that u mentioned, i tink might need 8600GT. I brought my current 1420 just few wks ago at $2030 with 3years completecover. :)

Btw u can go to any COURTS store to test the weight as now all COURTS stores gt sell DELL lappy except u cant choose the specs u want.

slack

PandaCat said:
Well i currently playin fm2008 on my lappy. It is quite smooth and fine. But i tink those games that u mentioned, i tink might need 8600GT. I brought my current 1420 just few wks ago at $2030 with 3years completecover. :)

Btw u can go to any COURTS store to test the weight as now all COURTS stores gt sell DELL lappy except u cant choose the specs u want.

yeah COD4 and WIC are rather taxing games. but i'm also using this laptop for work and most likely will be commuting to work with it, by bus and/or train. Although if i get the 1520, I can give myself the reason of working out my arm muscles! haha....
but the NEC laptop(http://www.nec-online.com.sg/Products/Product_Details.asp?CID=2&RangeID=3&CatID=6&ModID=480) looks so much better and so is the build(I was playing with it at best denki).

dilemma, I think i just might end up waiting for SITEX at the end of the month

sharkfynn

Dell Discount Coupons

anyone knows where i can get a dell discount coupon? all the websites with discount coupons are not singaporean leh.

Diavonex

From the Vostro 1400 Manual

2007-11-13_190643.jpg

PandaCat

slack said:
I think i just might end up waiting for SITEX at the end of the month
Hmm if u dun mind waiting, u can wait till SITEX as am sure at tat period DELL will have more promotions at a reasonable rate with many goodies. :)

U can also check out other brands durin sitex also as can compare pricing and specs which u definitely will get you more dilemma with many different offers and pricing. :)

PandaCat

Btw it seems Dell opened up another direct store beside the branch at suntec. It open at funan.

cracker

PandaCat said:
Btw it seems Dell opened up another direct store beside the branch at suntec. It open at funan.

Yup, u r rite,,,beside these 2 shops; u can do direct purchase from their retail tie-up with COURTS.

gundamz

Repair of LCD is very EXPensive!!
How about get a new laptop?

temporary solution:
plug a lcd monitor to your vga port and use it from there.

Diavonex

gundamz said:
Repair of LCD is very EXPensive!!
How about get a new laptop?

temporary solution:
plug a lcd monitor to your vga port and use it from there.

You can replace a LCD at SLS (4th floor) for less than $300.

abduls85

Hi there

Can any kind soul using dell vostro or inspiron 1420 enligthen me on the battery life and the weight of the following laptops ? Kind of considering getting one if there is any good promo during sitex 2007. Thanks in advance for any help provided.

cracker

abduls85 said:
Hi there

Can any kind soul using dell vostro or inspiron 1420 enligthen me on the battery life and the weight of the following laptops ? Kind of considering getting one if there is any good promo during sitex 2007. Thanks in advance for any help provided.

i am using the 1420 with the normal 6 cell battery.

wt is abt 2.5 kg...w/o battery is 2.2 kg
battery life : abt ~ 2.5 to 3 hrs using wifi to serve

based on SITEX 2007 website , Dell isnt involved. Quite a surprise !! But I am surprise they will have some kind of promotion during tat particular weekend.

abduls85

cracker

abduls85 said:
Hi there

Thanks for the prompt reply. Was browsing the net and came across these two website which were great. And provided me with the much needed info.

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Dell-Inspiron-1420.5513.0.html

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Dell-Vostro-1400.5527.0.html

Another questions is it feasible to carry around a 2.5 kg laptop around when you go to work or school ? Isn't kind of heavy !

whether 2.5 kg is light or heavy is subjective....but to me, if I were to bring a notebook outdoor very often, be it work or school; I will go for sth at a max of 2kg.
frankly speaking,,given a choice now,, i will top up the extra bucks to get the sony vaio sz-55 at $2.5k.

PandaCat

cracker said:
i am using the 1420 with the normal 6 cell battery.

wt is abt 2.5 kg...w/o battery is 2.2 kg
battery life : abt ~ 2.5 to 3 hrs using wifi to serve

based on SITEX 2007 website , Dell isnt involved. Quite a surprise !! But I am surprise they will have some kind of promotion during tat particular weekend.
I also currently using 1420 but is with 9cell battery.

For me carryin my lappy around is no problem at all as i always bring it go woodlands library and outside.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.