Desktop shutdown and restart

mamboeidos

Currently having this issue is my desktop when I power up will startup then after a while will shutdown then start again.

This keep on happening unless I switch off the power supply..

any idea what can it be?

UPDATES:

Was told to bring my PSU in and either a refurbish replacement HX750I or a direct replacement of HX750 both are until and warranty over.

other than the corsair link support on the HX750I choosing the direct replacement of HX750 would be better than choosing refurbish HX750I ?

NightRaven49

Currently having this issue is my desktop when I power up will startup then after a while will shutdown then start again.

This keep on happening unless I switch off the power supply..

any idea what can it be?
sounds like power supply going to uplorry.

mamboeidos

sounds like power supply going to uplorry.

ah......so is most likely PSU going up lorry then have have this issue?

so now I need us to get a spare one and test to see if the same will happen?

also need to mention is that before this happens, my GPU the RGB light will not turn on but the fan will still spin and this causes no display.
only when the GPU RGB lights up upon start up will there be display to the monitor

my currently PSU is a Corsair HX750i.
what suitable PSU should I be getting to test?

thank you for the reply

liewhl

ah......so is most likely PSU going up lorry then have have this issue?

so now I need us to get a spare one and test to see if the same will happen?

also need to mention is that before this happens, my GPU the RGB light will not turn on but the fan will still spin and this causes no display.
only when the GPU RGB lights up upon start up will there be display to the monitor

my currently PSU is a Corsair HX750i.
what suitable PSU should I be getting to test?

thank you for the reply
Normally power cycle problem main problem is psu. Your psu still got warrenty or not, if still have warrenty just take it to rma and ask the guy to check for you, dun need to buy spare to test.

mamboeidos

Normally power cycle problem main problem is psu. Your psu still got warrenty or not, if still have warrenty just take it to rma and ask the guy to check for you, dun need to buy spare to test.

no more warranty already. it's been like 7-8 yrs? unless warranty is 10 yrs....

liewhl

found outmy PSU warranty is 10 years.... but not sure if only local purchase warranty covered or world wide.

so I just contact convergent and arrange for one?
Basically convergent only cover warrenty with their sticker on it locally. You can call them to check if not sure.

mamboeidos

Basically convergent only cover warrenty with their sticker on it locally. You can call them to check if not sure.

in that case where I go since they only cover for PSU with their sticker?

I got mine on q0010 in 2016 with a shop call ITMALLSG but I supposed close down already

NightRaven49

I got mine on q0010 in 2016 with a shop call ITMALLSG but I supposed close down already
like what liewhl mentioned, can call convergent and see if u bought a unit covered by them, just make sure u have the psu serial number on hand. even if not covered, u can look on carou for good deals on decent psus.

liewhl

Convergent is the local distributor so if your shop ITMALLSG sold you local unit, it will be cover under them.

It does not matter where you buy.

mamboeidos

was told to bring in to exchange for a refurbish replacement HX750I or a direct replacement of HX750 both are until my current warranty over.

other than the corsair link support of the HX750I, getting a new replacement of HX750 would be better than a refurbished HX750I right?

liewhl

it depend on you, normally good PSU can last quite long (8year for you) that why the warranty 10 year, i believe either of them should be good.

See your luck lor.

mamboeidos

in the end I got a hx750 since it is a brand new one which I believed can last longer Vs refurbished one.

but then still the same issue.... I remove the GPU also in case is GPU issue.

so it's motherboard or CPU then?

I dun think current MB like the b650m is compatible with my GPU or CPU right?

liewhl

Gpu yes, cpu no.

If mb or cpu spoil and it 8 year old already, I think it better to buy a new mb and cpu combo and do a small upgrade than fixing it.

Before you buy any part, have you try to boot from an external boot device like a Linux os to make sure that your boot drive is not corrupted or spoil?

dynamojack

Your issue sounds like mine leh. What I learnt from my ordeal is to keep spare parts lying around so you can one by one determine which part is at fault...I started from RAM then gpu then cpu then mb. The process very mafan but I enjoyed it.

if not your cup of tea i agree with liew bro, start finding new parts for upgrade...

neobear224

in the end I got a hx750 since it is a brand new one which I believed can last longer Vs refurbished one.

but then still the same issue.... I remove the GPU also in case is GPU issue.

so it's motherboard or CPU then?

I dun think current MB like the b650m is compatible with my GPU or CPU right?
Have you tried swapping GPU to the 2nd (PCIE x8) slot, do a 5 - 10 min GPU stress test via Msi Kombuster or Heaven Benchmark to rule out anything funny going on with the 1st PCIE slot (x16)?

Recently found out I had a defective PCIE X16 slot on my 9 year old MSI Z97 Gaming 5 Mobo. Symptoms were, GPU crashing randomly, hard freeze in game then PC reboot. Most likely wear and tear from many years of usage.

mamboeidos

Gpu yes, cpu no.

If mb or cpu spoil and it 8 year old already, I think it better to buy a new mb and cpu combo and do a small upgrade than fixing it.

Before you buy any part, have you try to boot from an external boot device like a Linux os to make sure that your boot drive is not corrupted or spoil?
this is abit beyond my knowledge lol.

But yes. if mb or cpu spoil might as well get a new rigg

mamboeidos

Your issue sounds like mine leh. What I learnt from my ordeal is to keep spare parts lying around so you can one by one determine which part is at fault...I started from RAM then gpu then cpu then mb. The process very mafan but I enjoyed it.

if not your cup of tea i agree with liew bro, start finding new parts for upgrade...
issue is that i do not have any spare parts to test.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.