Intel i5 2400
16gb 1600mhz ram
Seasonic M12ll 620w psu
MSI twinfrozr III GTX 680
Samsung EVO 240 gb SSD
intel 180gb ssd
WD green 1TB HDD
Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2h-B3 mobo

It has worked greatly for me for around 1.5 years till many issues came which can be found in this thread.
"http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/hardware-clinic-2/custom-pc-problem-after-problem-5347107-2.html"

I've since made no changes except changing the adapter to DVI-HDMI adapter instead because to me VGA's visuals were just off .

Months passed since that problem and a new problem arose . The pc refused to boot into display unless I use onboard VGA which I went to check on my HWmonitor , my GPU was listed Intel HD graphics.

I then rebooted the pc using the reset button then it successfully boots normally with my GTX 680 . However that was ages ago . As time passes , the amount of times I needed to reboot my pc to get it to detect my GPU became more and more .

In a short period of time in this time frame , even when my gpu was working fine , I was having constant sudden freezes and in my MSI afterburner the voltage limit spikes up to maximum , the OV max limit spikes up , utilization shoots down to 0 , both memory and core clock spikes up . Note, these happened when the freeze happened . As time passed , the freezes stopped .

This month has became EXTREMELY vexing as it was a constant battle against my patience . If i was lucky it look at least 3 reboots . or when i'm extremely lucky it booted in the first try . but lately , it's taking a MINIMUM of 10 reboots . I know such reboots are definitely not healthy for the pc but it's the only PC I've got .

Then this happens seldom when i'm playing games , it freezes and gives a sound as if windows crashed and the screen goes black and i'm back to trying to make it boot up with my gpu detected.

TLDR: Pc used to have many problems , but fixed . but now pc takes at least 10 reboots to turn detect my GPU.

Solutions I've tried : Erasing contact points(didn't work at all), resetting Cmos(didn't work) , Increasing my power limit to 132% and downclocking my gpu (no idea what it did) and changing the position of my RAM sticks and reseating my GPU(this WORKED . for the first and second time only)

NOTE: I think this maybe the main cause but I used to have a power strip(not really a strip) that I've bought at a local tech expo for a very cheap price of $2 . It's a tall squarish power strip . I've been using it all along until i swapped it recently for a more stable looking but similar concept one . While swapping i've realized that the power square(lets just call it that) had loose bits in it . After swapping it , my PC booted up really greatly on the first try however it only lasted a mere 2 weeks before it got to where it is now . Thus I think the PC may had too much charge or too less charge going in to it .

Being a student , my budget isn't really that big but I've managed to obtain a part time job since 6 months ago and have been saving up and managed to come up with a sum of $600 . Seeing as to all the issues I've had , I'm asking you all the HWZ community to hopefully provide me with a solution to this problem . I have a ton of upcoming projects (holidays are ending today) and really can't afford to have this pc fail on me . Thus I'm here trying to get help from all of you .

I know it's a very long post but please try to help me . I've tried to make it as detailed as I could but if I ever missed anything or if you have any questions , please do feel free to ask and I'll try to answer them asap . Thanks for taking your time to read my lengthy post

wolnavi

bring both psu and gpu down to corbell for testing, u mentioned ticking sound in psu, and now u mentioned gpu going "crazy", maybe psu broke the gpu

anyways this psu model is problematic

isiahvic

bring both psu and gpu down to corbell for testing, u mentioned ticking sound in psu, and now u mentioned gpu going "crazy", maybe psu broke the gpu

anyways this psu model is problematic

Gpu ticking sound turned out to be something one of the wires in the harness touching the fan . I opened up the PSU and tightened the harness which eliminated the ticking sound . Many mention Corbell but is there a place that's nearer to me ? I live in mainly bukit merah area

wolnavi

Gpu ticking sound turned out to be something one of the wires in the harness touching the fan . I opened up the PSU and tightened the harness which eliminated the ticking sound . Many mention Corbell but is there a place that's nearer to me ? I live in mainly bukit merah area

oh i see.

msi is the distributor (distro) for msi and seasonic
Block 4012, Ang Mo Kio Ave 10, #06-04 TECHplace 1, Singapore 569628

http://corbell.com.sg/contact-us/

or do you have another gpu that you can use to test?

xtractor

I have a custom pc that has the following specs:

Intel i5 2400
16gb 1600mhz ram
Seasonic M12ll 620w psu
MSI twinfrozr III GTX 680
Samsung EVO 240 gb SSD
intel 180gb ssd
WD green 1TB HDD
Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2h-B3 mobo

It has worked greatly for me for around 1.5 years till many issues came which can be found in this thread.
"http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/hardware-clinic-2/custom-pc-problem-after-problem-5347107-2.html"

I've since made no changes except changing the adapter to DVI-HDMI adapter instead because to me VGA's visuals were just off .

Months passed since that problem and a new problem arose . The pc refused to boot into display unless I use onboard VGA which I went to check on my HWmonitor , my GPU was listed Intel HD graphics.

I then rebooted the pc using the reset button then it successfully boots normally with my GTX 680 . However that was ages ago . As time passes , the amount of times I needed to reboot my pc to get it to detect my GPU became more and more .

In a short period of time in this time frame , even when my gpu was working fine , I was having constant sudden freezes and in my MSI afterburner the voltage limit spikes up to maximum , the OV max limit spikes up , utilization shoots down to 0 , both memory and core clock spikes up . Note, these happened when the freeze happened . As time passed , the freezes stopped .

This month has became EXTREMELY vexing as it was a constant battle against my patience . If i was lucky it look at least 3 reboots . or when i'm extremely lucky it booted in the first try . but lately , it's taking a MINIMUM of 10 reboots . I know such reboots are definitely not healthy for the pc but it's the only PC I've got .

Then this happens seldom when i'm playing games , it freezes and gives a sound as if windows crashed and the screen goes black and i'm back to trying to make it boot up with my gpu detected.

TLDR: Pc used to have many problems , but fixed . but now pc takes at least 10 reboots to turn detect my GPU.

Solutions I've tried : Erasing contact points(didn't work at all), resetting Cmos(didn't work) , Increasing my power limit to 132% and downclocking my gpu (no idea what it did) and changing the position of my RAM sticks and reseating my GPU(this WORKED . for the first and second time only)

NOTE: I think this maybe the main cause but I used to have a power strip(not really a strip) that I've bought at a local tech expo for a very cheap price of $2 . It's a tall squarish power strip . I've been using it all along until i swapped it recently for a more stable looking but similar concept one . While swapping i've realized that the power square(lets just call it that) had loose bits in it . After swapping it , my PC booted up really greatly on the first try however it only lasted a mere 2 weeks before it got to where it is now . Thus I think the PC may had too much charge or too less charge going in to it .

Being a student , my budget isn't really that big but I've managed to obtain a part time job since 6 months ago and have been saving up and managed to come up with a sum of $600 . Seeing as to all the issues I've had , I'm asking you all the HWZ community to hopefully provide me with a solution to this problem . I have a ton of upcoming projects (holidays are ending today) and really can't afford to have this pc fail on me . Thus I'm here trying to get help from all of you .

I know it's a very long post but please try to help me . I've tried to make it as detailed as I could but if I ever missed anything or if you have any questions , please do feel free to ask and I'll try to answer them asap . Thanks for taking your time to read my lengthy post

by reading everything then it must be the GPU giving u problem....why dont u try to use ur onboard graphic card and play some game for an hour or so and if u dont see any issue confirm ur GPU faulty.if under warranty send RMA if not get new GPU
And try to take out the GTX 680 before using the onboard graphic

isiahvic

oh i see.

msi is the distributor (distro) for msi and seasonic
Block 4012, Ang Mo Kio Ave 10, #06-04 TECHplace 1, Singapore 569628

http://corbell.com.sg/contact-us/

or do you have another gpu that you can use to test?

I see but sadly I don't see myself having the time to lug the entire pc there and seeing as to how my warranty ran out on my PSU( already took it apart to fix the ticking sound) and the GPU (15 months warranty) . Sadly I don't have any spare ones

isiahvic

by reading everything then it must be the GPU giving u problem....why dont u try to use ur onboard graphic card and play some game for an hour or so and if u dont see any issue confirm ur GPU faulty.if under warranty send RMA if not get new GPU
Will give a shot tomorrow and get back to you asap with results

wolnavi

I see but sadly I don't see myself having the time to lug the entire pc there and seeing as to how my warranty ran out on my PSU( already took it apart to fix the ticking sound) and the GPU (15 months warranty) . Sadly I don't have any spare ones

i think you are suppose to take out the psu and gpu of your pc and bring the gpu and the psu there

Sadly PSU doesn't have warranty as I took it apart to fix ticking noise and GPU's warranty has ended already .

oh like that don't think you need go corbell liao since warranty finish

ZrE0_Cha0s

i did suggest you just buy a new gpu since your mobo have been replaced and its working fine. for your final test, if can grab a spare gpu from some of your friends or relative and test it for a day or so and see if the issues still arise or not. if no, means that your gpu have reached its end of life.

lalalalalala

Sounds like mobo problem. Got try changing PCI e slot for ur GPU?

I feel is your mobo voltage controller module uplorry already

Either that or you tinkered with your PSU and affected one of the 12v rails

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

Takeitallaway

Most likely psu since u rmaed ur mobo. one of the most important part not to save on is the psu as it affects longevity of the parts direcrly.

isiahvic

i did suggest you just buy a new gpu since your mobo have been replaced and its working fine. for your final test, if can grab a spare gpu from some of your friends or relative and test it for a day or so and see if the issues still arise or not. if no, means that your gpu have reached its end of life.

Yes I apologize for not giving you a reply , but at that time the pc worked fine and really didn't want to spend a ton of money getting a replacement card of the same level as they still did cost quite a bit(to me at least) . That's one thing that's possible however i'm afraid that i might damage the gpu as the previous GT620 I used to test , is currently dead from what , i have no idea .

isiahvic

Gave it a shot , played basic games like minecraft, sims , league for around 2 hours all was well . Pc booted straight up on stock VGA with GPU removed . other then the low fps which is to be expected , nothing else went wrong .

isiahvic

One more thing ! When it doesn't detect my gpu , I go into bios and suddenly both of my GPU fans ramp up to maximum and stays that way until I reboot .

isiahvic

Sounds like mobo problem. Got try changing PCI e slot for ur GPU?

I feel is your mobo voltage controller module uplorry already

Either that or you tinkered with your PSU and affected one of the 12v rails

Ohmy I was thinking of that too but seeing as to how I already replaced it makes me unwanting to purchase another one but if that's the case then I'll have no choice either way . I have to be very certain on which part has to be replaced as if I were to purchase a GPU/mobo and the same thing occurs , i'm absolutely done .

I'm unable to use the other 2 PCIE slots as my GPU is way too big . If i were to use the other 2 slots , I won't be able to plug in any drives as it completely shuts off any clearance from the SATA plugs .

PSU only thing i've tinked with were open up to check what was causing the sound and found out it was just the harness being loose . (Note that this happened way after the all this chaos happened)

isiahvic

Most likely psu since u rmaed ur mobo. one of the most important part not to save on is the psu as it affects longevity of the parts direcrly.

I knew that when I was buying the parts , I was originally going to settle for a Cooler master B600W PSU but at that time they ran out of stock and provided me the current Seasonic one for the same price . Seeing as to it had 20W more I didn't think much at that time and just went ahead in purchasing that.

lalalalalala

Ohmy I was thinking of that too but seeing as to how I already replaced it makes me unwanting to purchase another one but if that's the case then I'll have no choice either way . I have to be very certain on which part has to be replaced as if I were to purchase a GPU/mobo and the same thing occurs , i'm absolutely done .

I'm unable to use the other 2 PCIE slots as my GPU is way too big . If i were to use the other 2 slots , I won't be able to plug in any drives as it completely shuts off any clearance from the SATA plugs .

PSU only thing i've tinked with were open up to check what was causing the sound and found out it was just the harness being loose . (Note that this happened way after the all this chaos happened)
If u got time then remove your mobo and test lor (yes I know thats a big hassle and I myself would be lazy to do it too)

Place your mobo on cardboard box and boot with GPU on another pcie slot. If that is the problem then maybe consider getting pcie extension as your solution.

Anyway I would still recommend changing your mobo as the tracks may have degraded due to the voltage surges

xtractor

Gave it a shot , played basic games like minecraft, sims , league for around 2 hours all was well . Pc booted straight up on stock VGA with GPU removed . other then the low fps which is to be expected , nothing else went wrong .

There u go 2 hrs of gaming u encounter no issue at all but just only low fps then confirmed ur gpu die off already :s13::s13:
either RMA ur GPU if still under warranty or time to move on and get a new GPU or 2nd hand one
but before that try to use the 2nd PCI E slot and see whether it work for ur GTX 680 to double confirmed if the mobo giving u the same issue instead and i doubt so...and waste of time anyway as u already replaced it

Yes I apologize for not giving you a reply , but at that time the pc worked fine and really didn't want to spend a ton of money getting a replacement card of the same level as they still did cost quite a bit(to me at least) . That's one thing that's possible however i'm afraid that i might damage the gpu as the previous GT620 I used to test , is currently dead from what , i have no idea .

still for me i would get a new GPU covered with warranty anything wrong u can get exchanged and even if u going to upgrade u can use that GPU back again and u will not get to know which part give u problem u wont solve any of ur problem too...unless u got fren that u can borrow the GPU to test

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.