Detian coffeeshop chain.

Tetsuconek

https://detian.com.sg/#what-to-eat

Recently this coffeeshop chain bought over a 30-40 year old coffeeshop near my place. All the old stalls are told to vacate cos they bringing in their own curated stalls after they complete the renovation.

If you noticed, all it's coffeeshops islandwide always have the same stalls. Fu Lee Seafood, Fu Lee Cai Png, Yu Pan, charcoal master, chops and sear. The same few chain stalls.

Personally I dun like to support these chains or franchise kind of hawker stalls. Cos they the ones diluting the hawker culture and like everywhere I go I'm eating the same thing. Just like going to different shopping malls. It's all the same kind of shops inside the mall.

What do you think

wongminmin

u ever wonder why coffeeshop owners are selling to these enterprise.
Without raising rental price, the coffeeshop aren't sustainable business model.

This enterprise buyed over and bring in all the reputed chain stores.

u want to preserve culture, are u willing to pay more for your foods?

SecretAgent

This is the way to do business.
Find out and fine tune a formula then replicate and scale up.

Can Or Not

No wonder… I saw they advertised in Zaobao for hire… no wonder… they wore blue uniforms ?

Which area TS stays?

Can Or Not

You stay nearby Bo Bian have to buy from this KPT one… plus nowadays… pattern a Lot one people like… might not appeal to TS but might appeal to others…

cet87

our food court also change a lot.

now got mala hot pot, sour chili fish and shanghai dumplings..

Tetsuconek

Not like under Detian, the prices are cheap.. cheapest is $4.50. the very basic kway teow soup. the Chops n sear western cheapest is also $8.50 (basic chicken chop) n above. Fu Lee sea food was in the news for the wrong reason awhile back...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...emoves-service-charge-after-consumer-backlash

sales69

Yes this chain mostly no variety. If got other choices just jitao skip.

Laguna123

Soon they will manipulate the price island wide once they gain enough foothold.

Tetsuconek

This is the way to do business.
Find out and fine tune a formula then replicate and scale up.
No wonder culture is dying in SG cos all go for pro business model. Making it so hard and harder for stand alone hawker business to survive. All want to scale up, have chain, have central kitchen model.

End up the food the taste suck. Or everything taste meh meh similar.

It's a joke SG hawker culture is under UNESCO.

Malaysia food is much better than SG. This is coming from a Chao local born n bred sinkie like me

hammerhammer

So far cheapest kopitiam chain is Happy Hawker. Run by the wife of Koufu boss. Under the same group but more friendly pricing

wongminmin

Not like under Detian, the prices are cheap.. cheapest is $4.50. the very basic kway teow soup. the Chops n sear western cheapest is also $8.50 (basic chicken chop) n above. Fu Lee sea food was in the news for the wrong reason awhile back...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...emoves-service-charge-after-consumer-backlash
the sustainable model...is not about food prices.....

to apply for those enterprise stall, must have certain reputation.....these reputed stalls will bring customer flow.
then detian will do marketing and partnership with paylah/grab/shopback etc. The chain stalls able to keep food prices low to average price.

While old coffeeshop owner, just only know how to increase rental fees. forcing those old good stalls to leave, then slowly become vacant stalls....

my here got 8 coffeeshops all change to detian, broadway, kimly etc. The foods aren't unique, but the taste still acceptable and "standard". i like charcoal master, much better than old coffeeshop roasted delight.... :(

sales69

They are just marching in with their bands of brothers holding different store franchises.
Just go other KPT or food delivery.

Tried before some of their stalls at Tampines. Nothing spectacular and more ex.

Some time later went to Bedok. Also have the same chain. Curryneh why mostly same stores lol.

I just tabao from other KPT.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.