Digital Lock

Thoma5

No cons lah… use many yrs liao till now boh daiji…
My mother last time against… now love it… only problem tat she gt no fingerprint so she use pin code to enter home…

SecretAgent

Used digilock before. Expensive changing batteries every 6 months. After 3 years, died. Called the shop. After some investigation, say the mobo spoiled coz my batteries leaked. How can? I always buy new Eveready, always replace new batteries all together at one go, never use any cheapo brand battery. Shop say need to buy the premium Eveready, regular Eveready cannot. Can't remember what model Eveready they say must buy. Never tell me this before. Out of warranty. Replace mobo about same price as buying new digilock. Forget it, I switch back to normal lock. My parents had normal lock lasted 80 years before they pass away. Lousy digilock can't even last 3 years. My parents were very wise.
What Brand so we can all avoid...

TitanSmall

pls also note now digital locks installed require fire certification, do check in with the vendors before confirming,
and mechanical override key is also compulsory for ability to escape when battery die...

https://www.scdf.gov.sg/home/fire-safety/digital-locksets-on-fire-rated-doors
Based on my understanding, there is no point getting a fire rated digital lock by itself and install on your fire rated door. The door is fire rated with its original lockset. Once you changed it, it's not fire rated already per se.

The only way is one vendor install the digital lock on the door and send it for testing. If pass, then the set is certified.

That's what I read online anyway.

Asure7

using SingGate for gate only, as it is the only digital lock that can fit on most hdb gates, replace existing lock without any black box etc.
Changed to it cause need to cater for many ppl entering, no worries about losing keys etc.

Usually main door left unlocked unless everybody at home.

Mecisteus

buy those with rechargeable batt~ my one 6 mths still showing full batt~

another pros of using digital lock is able to see the logs, who & what time the door was opened~ i can see what time my kids went home~ :s22:
What brand ?

I think mostly don't recommend rechargeables.

My alkaline batteries can only last 3+ months on Philips.

sunsetbay

What brand ?

I think mostly don't recommend rechargeables.

My alkaline batteries can only last 3+ months on Philips.

Some OEM model, bought from AliExpress~ installed myself~ this was the 2nd digital lock, 1st one I retired it cos I dun want to waste money on replacing the AAA batteries anymore~ :s22:

Digital-lock.jpg

vasilli07

Now want to find models without keys also a bit difficult, I think it is mandatory for manufacturers to build backup keyholes into every digital locks?

Gate lock keys are usually at the back. I am not sure about gate design so I am not sure if you can use it.

For the door lock, choose mortise lock the surely will have keys.

ckunjie

I switched to a digital lock recently, and it’s been super convenient not having to fumble with keys anymore. The ability to sync it with my phone and unlock remotely is a big plus, especially when I forget to lock up before leaving. One issue I noticed is battery replacement, though mine lasts close to a year, so it’s not a huge hassle.

If you're getting one installed and need help with fitting or adjustments, locksmiths can make sure it’s set up properly. I once had to call an https://libertylocksmith.us/emergency-locksmith/ when I got locked out, and they sorted it out fast, really helpful in a pinch. You can check out their emergency locksmith services if you ever need one.

coyote

All of you who change to digital lock

not scared over time will spoil

and then have to change,

but the new locks do not fit the existing hole?

That will be the exact problem. Wooden doors can still chip and cut a little. Those metal gates, I have ask before, nobody wants to do.

sambawong

Anyone have purchase from Zansan ? NO Fire Label for HDB main door

I have bad experience with them, website is down. They install digital lockset and fire rated door for my hdb flat last November but have not provide me fire label for Fire rate door ( already more than 6months) keep chasing Darius Wong ( boss of Zansan) , he keep giving excuses of the suppliers have not reply him and thereafter with the constant of messaging him asking for update, he totally went missing and did not want to reply to my follow up. Something fishy.
I already report CASE.

menthol28

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.