Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

chakuman

Hang on... getting a bit confused by this... does this mean if I upgrade to a HD set top box from Starhub, I can get all the free to air channels in HD? Aren't all the Starhub paid channels in HD already? Their basic tier stuff - aren't these all in HD format?

That depends on what kind of package you sign up for. And as long as your SH box is HD ready, you can receive MediaCorp HD channels for free.

Kiwi8

Anyone noticed DVB-T2 HD5 has no subtitles? Currently showing "Code of Law 2". DVB-T and DVB-C HD5 has the usual Chinese subtitles but not for the DVB-T2 one.

mingfreakrsx

True that Mio Tv is cheaper. No HD content fee as HD is included but under basis package it has less channels. Many good channels not there.
I think many good channels that are once available on starhub tv is now on mio TV, just some channels but some are exclusive to SH cable TV. :)

AnDyLe0

Anyone noticed DVB-T2 HD5 has no subtitles? Currently showing "Code of Law 2". DVB-T and DVB-C HD5 has the usual Chinese subtitles but not for the DVB-T2 one.

just tested... got subtitles now. chinese and malay.
sometimes the subtitles func may stuck, need to toggle the channel to revive it.

Kiwi8

just tested... got subtitles now. chinese and malay.
sometimes the subtitles func may stuck, need to toggle the channel to revive it.

Hmmm in that case then is probably my STB issue liao... I dun get any subtitles from the three selections. :o

Henry Ng

I think many good channels that are once available on starhub tv is now on mio TV, just some channels but some are exclusive to SH cable TV. :)

True, overall Starhub still have more channels than Mio and it has Tv anywhere which Mio do not have. Can even watch Tv on bus with TV anywhere. Waiting for SH to launch HD 8.

dankoo

Dont think its a long wait...the channel already opened as reported few pgs back just the transmission is on and off under testing.

Kiwi8

Does anyone have some problem in recording with the Aliexpress DVB-T2 box?

I find that sometimes the recording stops before the scheduled end time. Could it be due to the signal, or otherwise?

mrsun18

SilveR1_09

Btw do u have a DVB-T2 box already?

He does. I remember he went out to buy a Draco.
Even though he watches little TV as he mentioned.
It was to checkout the capability of his condo's MATV to receive the signals, and verify some other stuffs if I remember correctly.

Kiwi8

He does. I remember he went out to buy a Draco.
Even though he watches little TV as he mentioned.
It was to checkout the capability of his condo's MATV to receive the signals, and verify some other stuffs if I remember correctly.
I see... :o

AnDyLe0

Dont think its a long wait...the channel already opened as reported few pgs back just the transmission is on and off under testing.

no leh... just checked the starhub epg... prev not fully filled in... but yesterday all test channels fully filled in with "no transmission".
that means from now till cny there is no transmission.
after cny, still holiday mood... it will be wait long long again.
either they start b4 cny or it will be WLL.

chakuman

no leh... just checked the starhub epg... prev not fully filled in... but yesterday all test channels fully filled in with "no transmission".
that means from now till cny there is no transmission.
after cny, still holiday mood... it will be wait long long again.
either they start b4 cny or it will be WLL.

Lol they always put 'no transmission', the EPG not very accurate actually because they will update the EPG suddenly

AnDyLe0

Now Starhub has make HD upsize into their standard package and I could no longer opted out of HD so indirectly paying for HD channels. Furthermore some channels are only in HD format so NO HD box meant less channel available. Make to take up HD like a girl being gun pointed so not willing become willing, also no choice. Ahh ahh ahh . . . Sad indeed.

hd upsize is not included in standard package if u select "a la carte channels".
it costs $8 (exclude gst) for hd upsize.
i think wat u mean is those combo packs with contract, where basic+addon bundled together with great discounts. for combo packs, actually paying $4 (50% discount) more for HD upsize is still worth it because total savings are more than that. just the basic channels already $10 discount, plus all add-on channels around 50% discount.
btw... i think all channels got sd version, but not all got hd.

AnDyLe0

Lol they always put 'no transmission', the EPG not very accurate actually because they will update the EPG suddenly

but prev they only fill in 2-3 days... now 7 days fully filled.
anyway... they can let the test channels running during cny, then subscribers can enjoy hd unofficially.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.