Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

BlackWing1977

Please la they dont need any 1% gst hike to find an excuse. How many decades of cny dunno hear interview these people always claim something happened like no rain, or no soil or whatever, thats why veggie or orange more exp. Bak kwa seller dun even bother to provide excuse, just whack 10% increase. Ai jio buay, mai jio suah.
I know.. but the GST hike is just another convenient excuse... fact is all costs in Singapore keep surging up and all PAP is able to do is keep issuing CDC to patch up the problem.

sales69

He should walk a few more steps to Prime mart Chai Chee.

$4 to $4.60 for 6 cans depending on promo.

PastaKong

One of the dumbest things that has been implemented.

Now we are being charged upfront just to teach us a lesson about how to recycle!

What makes it worse is the collection system itself. Look at those machines—how much can they realistically collect? For a nationwide recycling project, shouldn't the infrastructure be designed to handle recycling at scale?

The intention may be good, but the implementation feels poorly thought out. If the government wants people to recycle, the system should make recycling easier and more convenient—not create more hassle and make people feel like they're being penalised first.

eyz

Bring home?
Like I mentioned look at their web page
Very likely a machine is near you
If there's a supermarket there should be one

i just checked. the bcrs at shaw plaza is 350m away from balestier market.

cant possibly drive over and return.

stupid as f@rk

eyz

waiting for a champion to print the sticker and paste onto the can.

BBClone

Green Earth Warriors, please come in to defend this BCRS nonsense like you did with the 10 cents plastic bag surcharge. You know who you are, what you said.

Don’t be shy, no one will laugh at you, stupidity isn’t that rare. Given how many sinkies get scammed daily, you‘re not alone in being dense.

tatsit

that's why CDC does not help the COL problem, it exacerbates the problem. the landlords, will at every opportunity, increase the rents, especially when they know govt's solution is to give CDC vouchers.
Covid, price hike.
Post covid, another price hike.
8%, hike
9%, hike
Us tariffs round 1, hike
Us tariffs round 2, hike
Straits of hormuz, hike.
Bcrs, hike.

You guys are placated by cdc vouchers.

Joseph12

i just checked. the bcrs at shaw plaza is 350m away from balestier market.

cant possibly drive over and return.

stupid as f@rk
700 metres you cannot walk?
Anyway can check at home where's nearest machine

Just think out of the box
I was wondering where to get my ten cent recently and realised a hawker centre was between me and my next destination

Tayliatorhard

Should implement this "BCRS" Deduction on minister salary as well.

Every kilowatt saved from not using the air conditioning in their office and Parliament meeting, give them 10 cents back.

Every km they travel on public transport 10 cents rebate, if they squeeze during peak hour 20 cents rebate.

Sleep during meeting or do nonsense like folding paper crane, penalty 500 bucks.

Joseph12

waiting for a champion to print the sticker and paste onto the can.
Well given the inefficiencies of the operators and Grace's incompetence, the crooks can con Singapore of a few million and run off overseas before Singapore discover sticks and twigs and toilet rolls and crap instead of the 10 million cans

Joseph12

One of the dumbest things that has been implemented.

Now we are being charged upfront just to teach us a lesson about how to recycle!

What makes it worse is the collection system itself. Look at those machines—how much can they realistically collect? For a nationwide recycling project, shouldn't the infrastructure be designed to handle recycling at scale?

The intention may be good, but the implementation feels poorly thought out. If the government wants people to recycle, the system should make recycling easier and more convenient—not create more hassle and make people feel like they're being penalised first.
I don't think many machines maxed out

And we are talking about the normal machines not the giant size machine which are like have one HUGE metal space where a few bodies can sleep in

odyas

Today saw 1 lady struggling very hard to use the machine with the bottles on hand, think got a good 10 mins, in the end she just walked away holding the bottles.... well done government...

dexboi

willing seller, will buyer.
u can choose not to buy the overpriced drink.

Joseph12

Today saw 1 lady struggling very hard to use the machine with the bottles on hand, think got a good 10 mins, in the end she just walked away holding the bottles.... well done government...
Probably like not to be used with the machine
Like glass bottles.etc
System quite easy to use
Throw in bottles and will be accepted

eyz

700 metres you cannot walk?
Anyway can check at home where's nearest machine

Just think out of the box
I was wondering where to get my ten cent recently and realised a hawker centre was between me and my next destination

yah lazy.

just take it a donation to the poor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.