Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

wongkc

Seriously I dun see how this is a sustainable business...

1KG of raw Aluminium only costs abt $3-4 per KG... scrap aluminium is even cheaper...

It takes 60-70 empty cans to have 1KG of aluminium...

If they pay us 10cents for each can... 60 cans is already $6... they already lose money just by paying consumers... not to mention the logistics to ship this to a 3rd party country for recycling... and the recycling costs...

standarture

But they said 1 million transactions, didn't say each transaction is how many containers returned mah.
So how it could still be 5.5 million containers returned with 1 million transactions, if each transaction was for a return of 5 - 6 containers :cool:

At first I thought this figure is unbelievable but then I realised 99% probably come from commercial side. Some use bottles to fill. Restaurant, coffeeshop, hawker canned drinks included also. Everyday could easily be thousand bottles and cans. But the figure still feels unbelievable.

Heriophant

1KG of raw Aluminium only costs abt $3-4 per KG... scrap aluminium is even cheaper...

If they pay us 10cents for each can... 60 cans is already $6... they already lose money just by paying consumers... not to mention the logistics to ship this to a 3rd party country for recycling... and the recycling costs...
The will gain a lot from 0.10 increment in prices :s42:

Joseph12

At first I thought this figure is unbelievable but then I realised 99% probably come from commercial side. Some use bottles to fill. Restaurant, coffeeshop, hawker canned drinks included also. Everyday could easily be thousand bottles and cans. But the figure still feels unbelievable.
Nah coffee shops & eateries if see customers walk off leaving cans on table just take & claim

I mentioned before
If let staff keep money can be $10 a day

Joseph12

I seen old guy packed many beer cans tightly & claim
Must be 18 cans
All same brand

In future beer manufacturers should like intravenous inject all the beer into these people Instead of paying the 10 cents per can

joesph

10¢ already added to the price of drink

Joseph12

Singapore government etc doing business should send shivers down your spine

This is Grace showing her incompetence

But let me tell you something
After paying 10 cents and she removes it later , no one will recycle the cans anymore

Uncle Lorger

I guess it’s just to try to prevent digging up more land for raw aluminium
recycling I think is cannot be profitable one

wongkc

Singapore government etc doing business should send shivers down your spine

This is Grace showing her incompetence

But let me tell you something
After paying 10 cents and she removes it later , no one will recycle the cans anymore

Please lor... even with 10cents return scheme... a lot of pple wun recycle the cans lor... too troublesome...

kyang69

dqdYHHf.jpeg

Joseph12

Please lor... even with 10cents return scheme... a lot of pple wun recycle the cans lor... too troublesome...
What
What
Whut?

You don't need 50% or 30% participating

Cos its not about participation
Its about bottles in system

Meaning entire block of flats of 200 inhabitants can don't participate
Cos one Mdm Sng participates will be enough

& we don't know how many bottles are in the system
If its 5.5 million, perhaps 8 million in total?
That $800000 waiting for you to earn

& all you need is a dumb Ah Goon to say I made $1800 from this per month for all hell to break loose
Thats only $21000 out of $800000

If you can weaponise this
There's say $800000 to be won

Asphodeli

Not profitable if the cost is privatized, but recycling uses lesser energy than mining...so if the cost is socialized...hehe...

Heriophant

What
What
Whut?

You don't need 50% or 30% participating

Cos its not about participation
Its about bottles in system

Meaning entire block of flats of 200 inhabitants can don't participate
Cos one Mdm Sng participates will be enough

& we don't know how many bottles are in the system
If its 5.5 million, perhaps 8 million in total?
That $800000 waiting for you to earn

& all you need is a dumb Ah Goon to say I made $1800 from this per month for all hell to break loose
Thats only $21000 out of $800000

If you can weaponise this
There's say $800000 to be won

I found chiu!!!!

wongminmin

not really sustainable business ba.
from what i see these (BRCS, plastic bag charges) is to reduce the waste and extend semakau landfill lifespan.

5.5m bottles/cans = 100–150 tonnes of packaging waste
if can recycle every, basically reduce 17,700++ tonnes of waste per year.
Come to think of it, the thing isn't about 10c.... is the gahmen trying to train the citizens to recycle. lol

China just banned non-degradable plastic bags else fines 100k rmb.

sacredrays

since they will use the deposit for cost of operation, it will be sustainable if more people do not refund.

which means that group of people who refuse to use it and waiting for it to die, while still buying those bottle/ can drink and destroying it, is actually funding it more. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Abletron001

since they will use the deposit for cost of operation, it will be sustainable if more people do not refund.

which means that group of people who refuse to use it and waiting for it to die, while still buying those bottle/ can drink and destroying it, is actually funding it more. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Bcrs drinks cost all see price increase..u see 10c..thats 2.40$ per ctn of 24 cans...we seller see $2.40 non gst rated increase plus $1 to 4$ increase in cost of goods..

Thats min 3.40$/ctn drink..

Benefit who sia.

Seller absorb, seller die.

Seller increase price...customer suffer..

If just refundable 10c still ok..money can take back...but implementation charge is what lah..

Abletron001

Been trying to resist, delay price increase....still managable before bcrs..after bcrs....cannot tahan already..come 1sep or 1 oct when all drink must bcrs, get ready for mass increase..

Then seller suffer a few mths.

After that become norm.

Then customer end up paying more...for nothing..but a project of wanton implementation

Joseph12

not really sustainable business ba.
from what i see these (BRCS, plastic bag charges) is to reduce the waste and extend semakau landfill lifespan.

5.5m bottles/cans = 100–150 tonnes of packaging waste
if can recycle every, basically reduce 17,700++ tonnes of waste per year.
Come to think of it, the thing isn't about 10c.... is the gahmen trying to train the citizens to recycle. lol

China just banned non-degradable plastic bags else fines 100k rmb.
Even if you recycle all.the bottles how much waste can you reduce

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.