DIY - Changing Engine Oil

X66

I am glad that there are people who find my article useful. To answer some of the question...

So what I did is invest in this:

FUMOTO ENGINEERING

Been using this for ages. So I don't need to remove the bolt and risk stripping the threads. Only sucky part is that its very expensive (cost me USD25).

Interesting! Can write a guide with picture and share with us how you did it?

thanks for sharing.

Can you PM me where to get the extractor?

Will PM you. Cheers

Good write-up by TS on oil changing but would be ideal if TS were to provide environmental awareness such as using drip tray for such DIY in case of accidental spills and such.

Fortunately, I have not once spill any used engine oil with this extractor. I have been deposing the used engine oil in the big drum for used engine oil at the car workshops.

TS, assuming you buy turtle oil at 29.90, changes every 5km, that means every 10k u will spend about 60 on oil...

why not try oil like mobil 1? definitely can last 10k and cost less than 60 for 4 quartz...

I tried mobile 1, shell helix and the engine oil turn super black after 5,000km. Maybe it's my car. Hence I decided to change ever 5000km instead. I do not wish to have super black engine oil to stay in my engine for more than 5,000km. :)

Change at 10k.

This is meant for those who wish for an oil change in between the AD's interval.

Some oil filters are located on the top of the engine, so you can DIY the replacement.

YES!!! This is what exactly what I do. Change engine oil myself at 5,000km. Bring to workshop for proper servicing at 10,000 km (and hence change the oil filter) At the 15,000km change engine oil myself again to make sure the black engine oil dun stay in the engine for more than 5km. Hope this answer the question on engine oil filter =)

AL5509

I tried mobile 1, shell helix and the engine oil turn super black after 5,000km. Maybe it's my car. Hence I decided to change ever 5000km instead. I do not wish to have super black engine oil to stay in my engine for more than 5,000km. :)

YES!!! This is what exactly what I do. Change engine oil myself at 5,000km. Bring to workshop for proper servicing at 10,000 km (and hence change the oil filter) At the 15,000km change engine oil myself again to make sure the black engine oil dun stay in the engine for more than 5km. Hope this answer the question on engine oil filter =)

Nice!
Can see you really take very very good car of your car.
However, sad to say it only last us 10years (unless renew COE).

Nevertheless, it always feel shiok and nothing beat that that of driving off with a fresh EO.

matrix05

GPGT + step-by-step + in good English = solid and useful.

BTW, don worry abt the black color, it has no bearing on the quality of the oil. By 2K, the color would be burned off and it will turn black but your oil is still good until 10K (synthetic).

TopGun

Actually,TS if your car is out of warranty, you may follow a 15k service interval. Change engine oil every 7.5k and use oil from mobil or castrol which you can get from Amazon. Don't really have to do it every 5k unless it's TC and driven harshly.

X66

Nice!
Nevertheless, it always feel shiok and nothing beat that that of driving off with a fresh EO.

Yeah, that's why I change every 5,000km. Cannot tahan the engine feel about the 5000km. Driving off with a fresh EO is really Shiok!

BTW, don worry abt the black color, it has no bearing on the quality of the oil. By 2K, the color would be burned off and it will turn black but your oil is still good until 10K (synthetic).

Thanks! I have learnt something new today. All the previous mechanics that I have met told me "Wah, your engine oil very black!" Basket, gena con liao.. Haha

Change engine oil every 7.5k and use oil from mobil or castrol which you can get from Amazon. Don't really have to do it every 5k unless it's TC and driven harshly.

Forgive my ignorance, what is TC?

escksu

Interesting! Can write a guide with picture and share with us how you did it?

Sorry, I don't have a pic of the valve. But its very easy to replace the drain bolt with the valve when you do an oil change. Just remove the drain bolt, clean the threads of the hole, Put some teflon tape around the threads on the valve (I use silicone gasket sealant (those red or grey type ones. Only those can withstand oil and high temp).

Turn in the valve and tighten it. Thats all (but as its brass threads and not steel, do not over tighten it). After that, its good to go.

Useful for those who DIY oil change so you do not risk stripping the threads of your oil pan and its much easier to control oil flow. Can't do that for bolts as after you losen the bolt the oil just come gushing out and its impossible control. Confirm hands get dirty and the oil is HOT!!!

AL5509

Yeah, that's why I change every 5,000km. Cannot tahan the engine feel about the 5000km. Driving off with a fresh EO is really Shiok!
But just wonder that since you change every 5k, why never consider to use semi synthetic EO?

Sound just kinda over-kill for this short duration of usage thou.

Nevertheless, many not all drivers will treat the car like our 'child', if can afford it, do not think we will go any grade lower thou.

But this is what you can consider.
Just my 2cents worth.

otacon

Heng I ride Honda wave no such thing as oil filter.

Anyway, it's rather difficult to change oil filter. Need a specialised tool, go stockist and buy, and the preparation works.

What TS has shared is his experience, albeit a more non-messy way to change oil. Also, replacement of oil filter for every 2 oil change is acceptable

Up for ts.

I been changing EO, oil filter n spark plugs for my superfour. tiring as my body not in good shape but satisfying job

escksu

But just wonder that since you change every 5k, why never consider to use semi synthetic EO?

Sound just kinda over-kill for this short duration of usage thou.

Nevertheless, many not all drivers will treat the car like our 'child', if can afford it, do not think we will go any grade lower thou.

But this is what you can consider.
Just my 2cents worth.

Me is "kiasu" type. Usually change my oil when it doesn't smell good. After around 3-4K....... Btw, everytime change oil confirm change filter as well.

For me, its used to be only fully synthetic (Amsoil Signature, Redline, Motul 300V) but now I use Penzoil ultra which I know is group 3 oil (not really consider synthetic) but then heck..... bo chup as long as long as it decent oil. 3-4K don't need so good lar.....

Then I also don't trust engine oil alone, confirm add a bottle of my usual additive I have been using for years. Btw, in case if you wonder it works. It works at least to the point of coating my engine. Cause did an overhaul recently my interior is fully coated with the additive. Crank, etc... all different colour.

Btw, changing oil for me is more of fun than hassle. The process of jacking up car, go underneath blah blah.....tinkering around looking at the axles, suspension etc, its just so fun.

btw, I also love to take out spark plug once in a while to check. Too lean? too rich? timing etc......

I don't know, can't explain why but its just so fun.

X66

I don't know, can't explain why but its just so fun.

Totally agree, it's like bonding with your vehicle

tiring as my body not in good shape but satisfying job

Yeah, changing the engine oil can be a tiring affair, especially if you have to jack up the car and climb under etc. Hence, I use the extractor and save me the trouble to climb under. Old liao back will ache easily. lol

Thanks a lot for the video!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.