DIY Desktop Specification

hanshi

Would want to replace my 3 year old desktop. Looking to DIY my desktop but no idea where to start looking. Hopefully I can find my answers here.

Uses of the desktop: Downloading, Gaming for Civilization 5, DOTA and WOW and playing of movies

Budget: Around $1.2K - $1.5K

Thanks.

Jian19

Need OS ? Monitor ?

MSI B85m-g43 + i5-4570 ~ $356
Kingston Value Ram 8gb ~ $81
WD Blue 1tb ~ $81
Plextor m5p 128gb ~ $169
Palit gtx760 2gb + fsp raider 550w ~ $399
Corsair 350D ~ $140
Samsung ODD ~ $21 (optional)

Total $1147

Can consider get 2tb hdd if u need more storage

Optional - win 7 64 bit oem $120, LG Ips234v ~ $228

melovelinux

Lol.. out of all gpu, y pick asus?

lol asus 770... jus give him gigabyte or palit will do.. almost $50 diff, can get another ram..

i forget see price tag, just random pick

Pai seh. Updated Thanks for pointing out

Updated:

2ikd0ki.png

royfrosty

hahaha he got budget mah:D

His that type of gaming gtx660 more then enough liao.

Cv 5 on my previous gtx660 already given 159fps
Dota 2 140fps
Wow vsync off 122.

All at ultra or high. Unless he planning to go for bf3 or 4 or crysis 3.

hanshi

Need OS ? Monitor ?

MSI B85m-g43 + i5-4570 ~ $356
Kingston Value Ram 8gb ~ $81
WD Blue 1tb ~ $81
Plextor m5p 128gb ~ $169
Palit gtx760 2gb + fsp raider 550w ~ $399
Corsair 350D ~ $140

Total $1147

Can consider get 2tb hdd if u need more storage

Optional - win 7 64 bit oem $120, LG Ips234v ~ $228

What will you recommend if the budget is nearer to $1.5K? Also what is the difference between intel i7 and i5? I will need the OS.

royfrosty

Also whats the difference between SSD and the normal hard disk.

SSD (Solid State Drive) It is base on flash memory, commonly used in thumb drives, SD cards, Compact flash. It has no moving disk/parts as compared to HDD. It is usually expensive than HDD. A 128gb SSD is already $139 compared to HDD 1tb ~ $81 But the plus side is, it is extremely fast, faster than a regular HDD. It is commonly used for OS, some games and important programs. Usually faster response.

A good speed comparison can be seen in the video link below.

Comparation of HDD and SSD in The Windows 7 StartUp Test - YouTube

What will you recommend if the budget is nearer to $1.5K? Also what is the difference between intel i7 and i5? I will need the OS.

Difference between an i5 and an i7 is the hyper threading technology implemented on the i7. i5 has no hyper thread. But for gaming purpose, i5 is more than enough. Games do not utilize hyperthreading. Although yes you may argue back that the FPS in games could lead to probably 10-15fps extra from i7. But the price isn't justifiable.

A good Graphics Card will do the job well and give you real performance push in gamings.

Don't worry, you are one of the 90% of the people whom will think that i7 is for gaming, till you read most of the threads here. Even you go to the outside reseller they most probably say that play games need i7. They didn't do any research and they just probably bang anything to get their commission.

And for your budget 1.5k you could get slightly premium stuffs.

MSI B85m g43 + i5-4570 ~ $356
Gskills Ripjaws 2x4gb kit 1600mhz ~ $95
WD Blue 1tb ~ $81
Plextor M5P 128gb ~ $149
MSI GTX760 Twin Frozr 2gb + Seasonic m12ii 620W ~ $499
Fractal Design Arc Midi or Fractal Design Mini ~ $129
Windows 7 Home Premium OEM 64bit ~ $115

Total $1445 buy at tradepac, DIY.

If there is a need to go for a gtx770 can always go for the Leadtek GTX770 2gb ~ $585

And a Seasonic 620W psu @ $118.

That would probably burst your budget.

Jian19

If u wan can get 2tb hdd

I think the $399 bundle is enough for ur gaming le

Total around $1.3k inclusive OS

Left $200 go jiak :D

melovelinux

If u wan can get 2tb hdd

I think the $399 bundle is enough for ur gaming le

Total around $1.3k inclusive OS

Left $200 go jiak :D

good idea also.

but 200$ can jiak wad:s8::s8:

jiak jumbo?:s22::s22:

Anyways, my reco is overkill, can drop to GTX 660 instead and drop ssd if u dun need and can get a good monitor:s13:

Jian19

Jiak buffet la :D

If u wan to use up ur budget can consider

16gb ram
256gb ssd
23-24" monitor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.