DNS-323 Network Storage

seeyourhead_jiejie

it is the western digital 1.5TB with EARS

i have been running it for almost a year now...
but so fast degraded?

mine die faster.. :s22:
i running 3x 1tb as raid5.. for about less then 6mths only..

didnt do any scan until i feel its slowing down.

2 hdd error detected on the dns343...

took out and scan on my PC..
1 of it fail smart test.
1 of it sector got problem..

cdo_saturday

Yup, about 10-15 min walk from the nearest bus stop. Check your disk's warranty status at WD website, it should state how much warranty you still have left. If it states the total 5 years then it should be no problem. Otherwise it's Achieva for u.

If you have experience using unix, you could try fsck. See http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fsck/ for more info.

i tried the first line -
rsync -av inreto.de::dns323/fsck .
and got the error -
rsync: getaddrinfo: inreto.de 873: Name or service not known
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(124) [receiver=3.0.5]

abit too chim for me. I shall now do the traditional format and see how it goes :o

VinceGan

i tried the first line -
rsync -av inreto.de::dns323/fsck .
and got the error -
rsync: getaddrinfo: inreto.de 873: Name or service not known
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(124) [receiver=3.0.5]

abit too chim for me. I shall now do the traditional format and see how it goes :o

LOL. actually should be:
rsync -av www.inreto.de::dns323/fsck .

cdo_saturday

LOL. actually should be:
rsync -av www.inreto.de::dns323/fsck .

Thanks VinceGan. i tried that too, as well as anyhow humtum a 'www.inreto.de/dns/fsck .' but same error .

I found out that I had to disable ffp before I can run the dns-323 scandisk. Did that and managed to run the scandisk. I'm now at 94% liao.

edit: spoke too soon. looks like i'm stuck at 94%...if it still doesn't move soon, i will continue another day.

VinceGan

Thanks VinceGan. i tried that too, as well as anyhow humtum a 'www.inreto.de/dns/fsck .' but same error .

I found out that I had to disable ffp before I can run the dns-323 scandisk. Did that and managed to run the scandisk. I'm now at 94% liao.

edit: spoke too soon. looks like i'm stuck at 94%...if it still doesn't move soon, i will continue another day.

Funny, that shld work unless ur dns323 cannot access the internet. Oh well, you could point your browser to www.inreto.de/dns/fsck then just download watever is there into your dns 323 but heck... I think you can download those disk diagnostics tools from their website, create a bootable cd and just run the tools from there.

larlee_sg

Do you guys leave it running 24/7?
how can you secure the data on it?
i tried to remove all account and create a admin account.
my office lappy cannot connect to it while my personal lappy can.
i reckon it could be due to the domain or workgroup thingy.
but after entering the admin ID and PW, the office lappy (Vista) still cannot connect.

do i need to install addons like NFS?

seeyourhead_jiejie

Do you guys leave it running 24/7?
how can you secure the data on it?
i tried to remove all account and create a admin account.
my office lappy cannot connect to it while my personal lappy can.
i reckon it could be due to the domain or workgroup thingy.
but after entering the admin ID and PW, the office lappy (Vista) still cannot connect.

do i need to install addons like NFS?
of cos leave it 24/7

NAS is for running 24/7 isnt it ? :s11:
if not then get a USB external hdd can already. :o

cdo_saturday

Funny, that shld work unless ur dns323 cannot access the internet. Oh well, you could point your browser to www.inreto.de/dns/fsck then just download watever is there into your dns 323 but heck... I think you can download those disk diagnostics tools from their website, create a bootable cd and just run the tools from there.

yah lor that's why i was puzzled. can ping out no problem. Anyway, my scandisk passed and I'm back to using my WD10EADS. Hope no more input/output errors :s12:

Thanks for your advice during the past few days :)

cochran

Hi

wanted to get WD green drive to put into the 323. Then there r 2 different model.

WD 64mb caviar green
WD 32mb green AV-GP (From fuwell pricelist)

What is the different? Can both can use on the 323?

Thanks,

mikezuper

called a couple of stores up - 1 store claim that the promo only valid in Sitex, the other store say no idea of this promotion:mad::mad::mad:
Fuwell already selling at this price, I am planning to hoot this on 1st day at Sitex, hopefully got better deal :D

Questions though:
1.) If I am planning to extend this to become media center as well, any all-in-one device (NAS + Media Center) that is good?
2.) I plan to get 2 x Hitachi 1TB 32MB 5400RPM ($80) and RAID 0 it later (mirroring) - is this a good hdd?

Any comments appreciated! :)

yx2000

Fuwell already selling at this price, I am planning to hoot this on 1st day at Sitex, hopefully got better deal :D

Questions though:
1.) If I am planning to extend this to become media center as well, any all-in-one device (NAS + Media Center) that is good?
2.) I plan to get 2 x Hitachi 1TB 32MB 5400RPM ($80) and RAID 0 it later (mirroring) - is this a good hdd?

Any comments appreciated! :)

1. Should be no issue.

2. Get the new Samsung F4 1TB 7200RPM hard disk. It's cheaper ($70@PC Theme) and is very fast.

mikezuper

1. Should be no issue.

2. Get the new Samsung F4 1TB 7200RPM hard disk. It's cheaper ($70@PC Theme) and is very fast.
1.) Any recommendation for the media center? Or any device out there that already have both NAS with RAID-0 + media center?

2.) Samsung is reliable?

seeyourhead_jiejie

1.) Any recommendation for the media center? Or any device out there that already have both NAS with RAID-0 + media center?

2.) Samsung is reliable?
hdd. i guess it depends on luck...

I am running 4 x samsung 1tb F3 for like 6mths. running on DND343 raid 5

so far 2 has failed on me.

mikezuper

hdd. i guess it depends on luck...

I am running 4 x samsung 1tb F3 for like 6mths. running on DND343 raid 5

so far 2 has failed on me.
Thats my consideration of not getting Samsung - not sure on its reliability - though luck is a factor too.

So far I am using either WD or Hitachi, it works fine (touch wood) :D

seeyourhead_jiejie

Thats my consideration of not getting Samsung - not sure on its reliability - though luck is a factor too.

So far I am using either WD or Hitachi, it works fine (touch wood) :D
i also got samsung tat run for few years... without problem..

WD and hitachi i also encounter problem before...

all got their fair share of problem :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.