Do cheap HDMI cable work?

petetherock

I have posted this in the main HDMI discussion thread:

For short runs, it's not such a big difference. For longer it's all or nothing.
You can get sparkies, so buy better cables.
I tend to use the budget and mid tier Audioquest cables. Not too expensive, well built, and no issue with longer runs too.

Phoenix12

I have posted this in the main HDMI discussion thread:

For short runs, it's not such a big difference. For longer it's all or nothing.
You can get sparkies, so buy better cables.
I tend to use the budget and mid tier Audioquest cables. Not too expensive, well built, and no issue with longer runs too.
Will an 8m or 10m length HDMI cable work satisfactorily???

mrsun18

Some guys may have misunderstood my post. Nowhere did I say cheap cables don't work. Still, with so many people having bad experience with cheap cables, we cannot ignore the fact.

What I tried to do was to explain that, even if cheap cables work, they may not comply to HDMI specs, a 237-page document for ver 1.3 - not just on pq, but a comprehensive requirements on electrical & mechanical properties, dimensions, tolerance, durability, etc.

Quality control and licensing have cost implications.

Phoenix12

no u should only use 1.5m for best preformance...
Thanks.
I looked in Challenger yesterday and Best Denki and the longest HDMI cables sold were 5 m.
Not long enough for me.

Will I be able to buy say 8m or 10m cables anywhere else.

Also I couldn't find any HDMI Hubs and the staff looked a bit surprised that there are such things.

Will an HDMI Hub allow my Blue Ray sound system at the same time as stuff from my SH STB?

Kiwi8

Thanks.
I looked in Challenger yesterday and Best Denki and the longest HDMI cables sold were 5 m.
Not long enough for me.

Will I be able to buy say 8m or 10m cables anywhere else.

Also I couldn't find any HDMI Hubs and the staff looked a bit surprised that there are such things.

Will an HDMI Hub allow my Blue Ray sound system at the same time as stuff from my SH STB?

Can buy 8m or 10m HDMI cables online, either eBay or others.

As for HDMI hub which combines HDMI signals, it's a little hard lor. Besides, I reckon it's going to be more expensive for this HDMI hub.

stamina

disagree... i tried better hdmi cables and i can clearly see a difference in picture/colour quality.

does not have to be expensive HDMI cables. try seaching for Aiborg HDMI cables from china.. cost $10+ only.

If mods dun mind me link a local AVR forum.
HDMI cables - Aiborg vs the rest

True theres different. I have both 8 dollar and the monster cable bought at a good price of 79. I tried them connecting from my desktop PC to my 55 inch LG high end tv LM9600. I could see that the 8 dollar cable produces poor colour quality. The monster cable produces richer colour.

Phoenix12

Carcharias

Honestly I've used a $10 hdmi cable from qisahn for the last 5yrs for my ps3, Xbox, scv.. No issues and picture quality I think is acceptable.. But I think they increased the price already.. Slightly more only tho..

Jeremy1

You pay what you get but if you cannot see the difference, then just buy the cheaper one.

eyz

Since on the topic of HDMI cable, I would like to post a problem I encountered recently and hope someone over here can help me. Tried asking for help in the Audiophile section, but didn't manage to get a response.

I just bought a new IPTV box and it seems that it is messing up the audio connection of my Sony TV and Sony AV receiver/Bluray player.

The receiver and box are connecting to the TV individually.

When I connect my box to the TV, there's an audio communication error between my TV and receiver. Likewise, the same thing happened when I connect the box to the receiver. The error also caused the Bravia sync to stop working. The Bravia sync allows me to control both my TV and receiver with the same remote.

I then pin pointed the fault to the HDMI cable.

I have a 3m long HDMI cable with ethernet function, bearing product code no. E321484, which upon connecting the box to my TV, the audio communication error occured. Another cable bearing E380044 doesn't work as well.

I used another 1m long HDMI cable, bearing product code no. E252840, and it doesn't affect the audio.

The 3m long HDMI cable is also thicker than the other one.

Hence, I would like to know what is the difference in the specification for the E252840 HDMI cable. I suspect it to be a old model cable, however I have no knowledge of it.

Tried calling Sony on the requirement of the HDMI cable, in order for the Bravia Sync to work, they couldn't provide any either. They can only advise me to use a Sony HDMI cable, but the maximum length is only 1.5m.

Thanks.

koroshiya8

wow this thread is so old liao.. refer to my reply back in 2013.. HDMI can be extremely cheap but still serves their purpose for 90% of the people... HDMI is not getting more expensive, in fact it is getting cheaper... dun count those sold in places like challenger etc.. just go to SLS or SLT...5m just over $10.. last time u cant find such price de.

Franzz

Get those gold plated cable. Can't rmb how much I got mine for, but after 3 years still very good quality.

Kiwi8

Since on the topic of HDMI cable, I would like to post a problem I encountered recently and hope someone over here can help me. Tried asking for help in the Audiophile section, but didn't manage to get a response.

I just bought a new IPTV box and it seems that it is messing up the audio connection of my Sony TV and Sony AV receiver/Bluray player.

The receiver and box are connecting to the TV individually.

When I connect my box to the TV, there's an audio communication error between my TV and receiver. Likewise, the same thing happened when I connect the box to the receiver. The error also caused the Bravia sync to stop working. The Bravia sync allows me to control both my TV and receiver with the same remote.

I then pin pointed the fault to the HDMI cable.

I have a 3m long HDMI cable with ethernet function, bearing product code no. E321484, which upon connecting the box to my TV, the audio communication error occured. Another cable bearing E380044 doesn't work as well.

I used another 1m long HDMI cable, bearing product code no. E252840, and it doesn't affect the audio.

The 3m long HDMI cable is also thicker than the other one.

Hence, I would like to know what is the difference in the specification for the E252840 HDMI cable. I suspect it to be a old model cable, however I have no knowledge of it.

Tried calling Sony on the requirement of the HDMI cable, in order for the Bravia Sync to work, they couldn't provide any either. They can only advise me to use a Sony HDMI cable, but the maximum length is only 1.5m.

Thanks.

Your problem with 3m cable is probably still just bad cable. U dun have to use only Sony cables. Can try with other cheaper 3m cables and there must be one that works. Can buy from the various value platforms like eBay, Aliexpress, etc.

eyz

thanks, will consider those online shops.

meanwhile, i'll go look around at SLT. SLS doesn't seem to have much choices for cheap HDMI cable.

Your problem with 3m cable is probably still just bad cable. U dun have to use only Sony cables. Can try with other cheaper 3m cables and there must be one that works. Can buy from the various value platforms like eBay, Aliexpress, etc.

Jeremy1

thanks, will consider those online shops.

meanwhile, i'll go look around at SLT. SLS doesn't seem to have much choices for cheap HDMI cable.

Can checked up LHS, #02-27 at SLT and asked Robert ?

He is quite knowledgable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.