Do I need a HDD?

Yongkit

I really don't have much to store.. 1 TB is more than enough for my media actually..

Can you please guide my understanding if SATA SSD is okay for "bukit timah"? Also may I trouble you for recommendations again?
:LOL: not sure about bukit timah, I think you can get the same WD ssd 1TB to synchronize all your SSD using WD software for easy monitoring and if any firmware update. No specific fav in WD ssd for me.

Wah 14tb.. what do you guys store with that kind of volume sia
mainly make a backup of my old hdd (1-4TB) which is slow and hot compare to the new helium-sealed hdd much cooler and fast, then old hdd can go into my storeroom.... :D

86technie

https://www.amazon.sg/Toshiba-7200r...&hvlocphy=2702&hvtargid=pla-844120042795&th=1
Is the 2tb okay to get? Do I need to get cables to put in my PC? And how does this compare to Seagate Firecuda?

Thanks a lot for helping a noob out!

Seagate Firecuda is a waste of money, just get Seagate Barracuda.
Some say SMR VS CMR, CMR wise will be better.
However I have a few Seagate Barracuda hard disk so far no issue.

Between SSD and Hard disk, these day HDD have catch up a lot.

toshiba_desktop_hard_disk_2tb_1636504844_0755073d_progressive

Typical read and write is around this speed so for cost saving HDD is OK.
Use for data/game storage is OK but not as OS drive.

summersky1986

Seagate Firecuda is a waste of money, just get Seagate Barracuda.
Some say SMR VS CMR, CMR wise will be better.
However I have a few Seagate Barracuda hard disk so far no issue.

Between SSD and Hard disk, these day HDD have catch up a lot.

toshiba_desktop_hard_disk_2tb_1636504844_0755073d_progressive

Typical read and write is around this speed so for cost saving HDD is OK.
Use for data/game storage is OK but not as OS drive.
Hey Teo, happy to see you leh.. your advice always appreciated..

Would you recommend a SATA SDD 1tb as a storage or should I get the Seagate Barracuda? I scared loud noise.. typically once a file enters my storage drive.. it will be like a graveyard

Assume budget is not a concern.. I just want the better storage solution.. I have a WD my book 2tb at home too

devilcup

HDD still useful for local storage. I using WD red 4*3tb hdd it in nas (almost 5 yr old liao), 1 Toshiba 2tb on external for backup critical doc from nas. 3tb Toshiba in my pc for games, download games is really slow nowadays due to the size.

as for noise, when idle i do not hear any hdd as it is resting. when playing games, the fan is louder than hdd...

Apex

If you planning to moved your old rig hdd over than no need to buy HDD. But if your current HDD are age 3 year or more suggest you get a new hdd and migrate the data over.

If your old rig data not a lot, than just copy whatever you have into the SSD. For storing or archive large size and rarely use data SPIN drive are still cheaper to do it.

summersky1986

If you planning to moved your old rig hdd over than no need to buy HDD. But if your current HDD are age 3 year or more suggest you get a new hdd and migrate the data over.

If your old rig data not a lot, than just copy whatever you have into the SSD. For storing or archive large size and rarely use data SPIN drive are still cheaper to do it.
No.. old rig 3770K with 2 SSD 1 HDD I plan donate children's home.. I take out HDD, they need to replace and all that.. sua lah.. I just buy new

summersky1986

HDD still useful for local storage. I using WD red 4*3tb hdd it in nas (almost 5 yr old liao), 1 Toshiba 2tb on external for backup critical doc from nas. 3tb Toshiba in my pc for games, download games is really slow nowadays due to the size.

as for noise, when idle i do not hear any hdd as it is resting. when playing games, the fan is louder than hdd...
Thanks bro..

I have decided to go for a 2TB HDD.. I don't need 4TB to be honest cause I just don't have that much media to store.. + I got an external HDD as well..

Can you recommend me the absolute best for HDD? And what's the best value for money too? hehe

86technie

Hey Teo, happy to see you leh.. your advice always appreciated..

Would you recommend a SATA SDD 1tb as a storage or should I get the Seagate Barracuda? I scared loud noise.. typically once a file enters my storage drive.. it will be like a graveyard

Assume budget is not a concern.. I just want the better storage solution.. I have a WD my book 2tb at home too

For data storage get hard disk, not only cost but SSD have lifespan according to write cycles.
Seagate barracuda are quiet for what I know, the only drive that I know have noise
is WD Black HDD.

WD-4TB-3.5inch-BLACK-PC-DRIVE-2LW833475_HeroSquare-75277d61e3a14a9e9e65894c6cec3a7e.jpg

No point getting WD Black Hard disk it's over priced so Seagate Barracuda is decent.
Think I have brought few pieces so far no issue for Seagate.

summersky1986

For data storage get hard disk, not only cost but SSD have lifespan according to write cycles.
Seagate barracuda are quiet for what I know, the only drive that I know have noise
is WD Black HDD.

WD-4TB-3.5inch-BLACK-PC-DRIVE-2LW833475_HeroSquare-75277d61e3a14a9e9e65894c6cec3a7e.jpg

No point getting WD Black Hard disk it's over priced so Seagate Barracuda is decent.
Think I have brought few pieces so far no issue for Seagate.
Thanks bro, have ordered a 4tb Seagate Barracuda

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.