Do Not Call (DNC) Registry~

mgsten

not sure why they can't put up an online form to log a complaint? damn cock to hv to send email. :s22:

afraid abuse? well can sign in with singpass.

not sure who manages this dnc thing. really never think thru properly. sigh…

HWZ1973

You all know what started this DNC thing?
Its becos all the MPs are also getting spammed! U tink the govt so free set up this DNC for us? Think again!

smile4good

Earlier, I used to recieve few sms/calls. After registering with the DNC, it has almost doubled.

Tele marketers are not calling random numbers. They call specifically, which goes to show that our numbers have been sold for $$$ to the tele-marketers. Our phone is data to them...

We pay the telco's for mobile usage and then they sell our numbers for a fee. Give us 12gb data quota when didnt have the speed, now we have the 4G speeds and they reduced the data limit to 2G.

Telcos are horrendous and greedy...

mgsten

s'pore still no real privacy law.

maybe when mps get harassed big time, dan they will start working on it. :s22:

koreanlover

Received a call from 62537354, Beautehub International Pte Ltd.

Can lodge complaint already meh?
I registered with DNC on the first day available, 2 Dec. But their website say within first 6 months, need to allow 60 days to take effect? After that 6 months then 30 days.

mgsten

I registered with DNC on the first day available, 2 Dec. But their website say within first 6 months, need to allow 60 days to take effect? After that 6 months then 30 days.

this company is a nuisance. :mad: one of the leading spammers in my blacklist for years!!! :s22:

approx

Useless registry.

I prefer to just take charge of my incoming calls or sms... If its telemarketing, i just say No and hang up.

Hikikomori

Just send in the email and attach a copy of the sms pic to it.

mgsten

Mine's a call, not sms.
Will send the email and see how.

But I have been receiving far less calls these days. :D

put this thread link; put my observation in yr email; and let them know dat this company is a nuisance to others.

the other one is this ms. tham from some tuition agency. :s22:

ricochet

Mine's a call, not sms.
Will send the email and see how.

But I have been receiving far less calls these days. :D

Same situation as you >30 days <60 days. Also received call.
Took screenshot from phone of call log detail and file a complaint.

Even if these firms take advantage of the 'loophole' of 60 days. maybe each complaint will help built a case for them. e.g. repeat offender can more punishment than 1st timer.

I doubt the PDPC take action, at most the 1st 60 days send them warning...
after 60 days all offenders are fair game..

the telemarketer i got really gungho. I ask her if she check DNC, she said no. cut me and say u interested in her promotion or not...
If these telemarketers attitude like that, need more people to complain

Ciccio

Hope below helps.

If you register before 2 July 2014, you may still receive some telemarketing calls and messages within the next 60 days after the registration.

If you register on or after 2 July 2014, you may still receive some telemarketing calls and messages within the next 30 days after the registration.

- See more at: FAQs for Individuals

d515s23

anyone else whom registered on first day, now no longer receive spam sms?

i did it on first day, now my phone quiet sia :s13: seems like no spam sms

My experience is good as well. Registered for my family as well, and feedback from them is positive.

DigDub

received spam for property. just shoot 1 email to dnc for non compliance.

ezowulf

huat ah!! hope ms. tham is among them.

PDPC acts against firms breaching DNC Registry requirements - Channel NewsAsia

SINGAPORE: The Personal Data Protection Commission (PDPC) said it has received 1,500 "valid complaints" from the public and is investigating 580 organisations for allegedly breaching the Do Not Call (DNC) Registry requirements.

The DNC provisions took effect on January 2 and the commission said it had commenced taking enforcement action.

The organisations under probe are from sectors such as private education, property, banking and finance, retail, insurance and telecommunications.

Complaints relating to suspected unlicensed money-lending activities have also been referred to the police.

The commission said it is investigating a recalcitrant organisation, with a view to prosecution, as it has continued to send unsolicited telemarketing messages to numbers listed in the DNC Registry despite being told not to do so.

The commission has also offered to compound the offences committed by at least two other organisations for between S$500 and S$1,000, while more than a hundred other organisations had been issued warnings in lieu of prosecution.

The commission said that it takes the DNC Registry very seriously, and recalcitrant offenders may be prosecuted in court. Fines could be as high as S$10,000.

In considering the appropriate enforcement action to be taken in each case, the commission said it takes into account various factors, including the seriousness of the breach and the number of complaints against the organisation.

"The PDPC will not hesitate to take enforcement action against errant organisations," said the commission's Chairman Leong Keng Thai.

"In addition, we will continue to reach out to organisations to ensure that they understand how to comply with the PDPA so that both organisations and consumers will be able to benefit from telemarketing best practices."

Since January 2, 2014, another 1,300 organisations have registered with the DNC Registry, bringing the total number of registered organisations to 1,800. These organisations have since performed checks on more than 55 million telephone numbers.

The PDPC has been tracking complaints since the Do Not Call Registry was launched at the beginning of the year.

The vast majority of complaints (91 per cent) was regarding SMS. The rest were made up of voice calls and faxes. More than half the number of complaints received was regarding unsolicited contact from the private education sectors.

Other offending sectors included Banking and Finance, Retail and Insurance.

Mr Leong added: "We will continue our outreach programmes to organisations. These are things like workshops, meeting industry associations, to help them to understand what the various provisions under the Personal Data Protection Act are about."

The PDPC said anecdotal feedback from the public about the DNC registry has been positive.

More people are also signing up -- 550,000 people are on the registry today, compared with about 400,000 when it was launched on January 2.

- CNA/ac

worcer

DNC is same as all pap policy. Looks great on the outside but rotten inside because no system and maintence.

See mrt u know

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.