Do not take big tickets loan.

Bumperbee88

Dear Bumperbee88,

Can you teach me how to survive in this impending crisis?

I am really trembling in fear and witnessing my losses in retirement fund.

I still have family to feed and growing children waiting to school.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.
Don't bluff lah. You act poor and don't know what to do.

You already have your investments doing for you, liao.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

Lchlch

Look around us, people are not feeling bad times.
Many book overseas holidays, buy new cars...eat expensive foods..buy expensive clothing..

Yowe55 mini

Don't bluff lah. You act poor and don't know what to do.

You already have your investments doing for you, liao.

Thank you.

Dear Bumperbee88,

I am humbled by your compliment. But the reality is I am just a peasant who has his retirement savings halved due to recent market rout.

I thought I have enough but realised that I have grossly overestimated my retirement plan.

I need help, I need guidance.

Thank you.

Bumperbee88

Look around us, people are not feeling bad times.
Many book overseas holidays, buy new cars...eat expensive foods..buy expensive clothing..

This show that , we already living Swiss standard. Most of us , having deep buffers, and with the strong currency we can do better than the rest of the world. This is what I see SinkieLand, as of Schweiz of Asia.

I really admire Sinkies. bad times travel, good times also travel. Me stay in Schweiz 1/3 of yearly.

Lchlch

Dear Bumperbee88,

I am humbled by your compliment. But the reality is I am just a peasant who has his retirement savings halved due to recent market rout.

I thought I have enough but realised that I have grossly overestimated my retirement plan.

Thank you.
I hv a jhk lead who is so confidently told me he can retire NOW, (I am still waiting for him to throw letter since last year)...
My question is no matter how good n well we plan, we must hv buffer to cushion any unprecedented events happening especially global events.
But how much buffer is needed?

Bumperbee88

Dear Bumperbee88,

Thank you.
Me also peasant. but I always glossly under-estimate my retirement plan.

Thank you.

Lchlch

This show that , we already living Swiss standard. Most of us , having deep buffers, and with the strong currency we can do better than the rest of the world. This is what I see SinkieLand, as of Schweiz of Asia.

I really admire Sinkies. bad times travel, good times also travel. Me stay in Schweiz 1/3 of yearly.
Mist of the younger generation don't really care much. Spend first, worry later.
Unlike my time, constant worry that when the hikes coming...

Bumperbee88

I hv a jhk lead who is so confidently told me he can retire NOW, (I am still waiting for him to throw letter since last year)...
My question is no matter how good n well we plan, we must hv buffer to cushion any unprecedented events happening especially global events.
But how much buffer is needed?

Exactly!! That is why I am still gainfully employed, as an employee. I know very well , I can retire at anytime. but I still work. Why do that?

1. Avoid loss of brain cells , leading to dementia. As doctors use to say, "Use it, or loss it".
2. When I is in the market, one keep updating and connected.
3. Further buffering of captial.
4. Many retire too early , ended up alone. Especially those are singles. And don't know what to do to keep brain cell stimulating brain cells.

If you don't have kid, all you need is a minimum of 600k, at the age of 60s

From Google AI :
DBS suggests a retirement nest egg ranging from S$550,000 to S$1.3 million for Singaporeans, aiming for a comfortable retirement, with the lower end for conservative needs and the upper end for aspirational goals. This amount should be supplemented with CPF annuity payouts, CPF savings, and other income sources. The range is based on a 20-year drawdown from age 65, considering Singapore's latest Household Expenditure Survey 2023 and an annual inflation rate of 2.5%

Lchlch

Exactly!! That is why I am still gainfully employed, as an employee. I know very well , I can retire at anytime. but I still work. Why do that?

1. Avoid loss of brain cells , leading to dementia. As doctors use to say, "Use it, or loss it".
2. When I is in the market, one keep updating and connected.
3. Further buffering of captial.
4. Many retire too early , ended up alone. Especially those are singles. And don't know what to do to keep brain cell stimulating brain cells.

If you don't have kid, all you need is a minimum of 600k, at the age of 60s

From Google AI :
DBS suggests a retirement nest egg ranging from S$550,000 to S$1.3 million for Singaporeans, aiming for a comfortable retirement, with the lower end for conservative needs and the upper end for aspirational goals. This amount should be supplemented with CPF annuity payouts, CPF savings, and other income sources. The range is based on a 20-year drawdown from age 65, considering Singapore's latest Household Expenditure Survey 2023 and an annual inflation rate of 2.5%
You know what?
My jhk lead asked me last year, when I throw letter so he can throw together......

Am I stupid???

Bumperbee88

Mist of the younger generation don't really care much. Spend first, worry later.
Unlike my time, constant worry that when the hikes coming...

Even though, I am not belong to the older generation, I save during my younger days. I save, work and invest to grow the nest. Once I hit income gerenating waterfall, that's where I have passive income over time during middle age. Especially, when one hit 40s job replacemnet is very high, whether is god or bad times.

Now I have my social housing paid up, and becoming a passive income from rental. On top of this, i have a globally diversified portfoilo passive income is far more than my current salary to fund my yearly expenses, without touching my salary. And yet I am still working for people. But I can sleep soundly every night, whether is bad or good times.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.