Do you remember your ORD day?

batuchka

was a huge Smashing Pumpkins fan back then (still am) so the song before i walked into the gates for the last time as NSF was "Today"

Onvalwar

Didn't feel as happy as I was expecting. Went home started to look for a temporary job while waiting for uni to start. That was when I realised NS days were much more relaxed than the real world.

amransan

Actually I got no feeling if u say if I am happy?

the answer is yes and no.
yes is because I don’t have to greets every officer I meet and I don’t have to go for weekly urine text.

No is because I know there reservist waiting for me so what is there to be happy?

Do u know when I am happy?
When I receive a letter and a silver coin medal from mindef stated I completed all my reservist that was the time i was happy and one month later I was at Changi airport me and wife bought one way plane ticket to Australia that was the happiest moment in my life!

Lolicious

remember my pc wants me to cut short my hair then sign clearance form. i jitao went to csm and oc office kpkb say last day i never disturb you all, why come disturb me. you all want me make problem sibo

Solidus_GZ

I only know my MR days, say good bye and leave the chat group for good. From there on never ready contact anyone of them
Occasionally got a few call and text to ask to borrow money

Kavairs

I cleared all leaves and off to disappear like 3-4weeks before ord.

It was a normal sch day, went camp to ord.

oOsiMm

ORD parade in no.1, then wash up and say bye bye to mates, went out eat with family. didn't feel anything but next day wake up seems surreal, went back return no.1 then get pink IC..

cos mine is 6 days week for entire 2.4years so felt some lost of the familiar place that brings memories, both good and bad.

walk out gate feeling dang....i am a civilian liao, feels weird but know that life is challenging now, cos I can do anything I want.

HWANGCHEOLBUM

Before ORD was clearing leave and didn’t went back for like two weeks. Already handed over prior to leave. So ORD day just enter base in civilian in the morning then go collect IC. After collect IC went to a few places in base to say goodbye to the mates I met and had fun with since our ORD date differs because different intake. Had a good 7 months before university started back then. I think the best day is the day after ORD, no need worry people contact you because of NS. But that’s when reality hits, If never go uni need to find work already.

arsenal_wth

Disrupt early for university, good thing no need wear no.1 take part in parade. Come back serve the difference also ORD alone.

Joe Maya

I don't really remember tbh.

I only remember my ROD, the queue very long, got some issue and some go back bunk play Mobile legend. Really go back bunk.

Dgaf, joined the wait, grab my pink IC and f off. Finally it's over.

fascist

Couldn’t quite believe it when walked out of camp and realise that I won’t see that hell hole ever again.

Quiet and experience that many “FTs” and JHKs wont understand. But these people just happen to be mostly richer than me.

Now I’m wondering what I was supposed to defend..

Joe Maya

Only remember when signing clearance, got one kaysiou officer say he will only sign for those who pass IPPT.

Then heng got one bochup 2IC take his place then he sign for everyone.

CCCustom

i took my pink IC and went around hitting the head of my junior and shouted ROD loh :s13: , but when finally step out of camp immediately can feel a sense of nostalgia, no matter what still spend 2yrs 3mths there, there were both good times and bad times.
A long time ago got tradition of when you are leaving the camp you take your pink IC hit the helmet of the RP on your way out … then 1 day finally enforced the rule that doing so is assault and as long as your feet haven’t step out of the camp you will kenna detain and charged.

pwongkk

Felt very lost next day after ORD. Got one day woke up and was walking to the bus stop, then realised ORD already

Got a few job offers at super low pay. Lobo for 1 month going fishing at Tanjong Rhu and Bedok jetty till I got a better job offer.

zeroX26

Felt very sad on ORD day coz I belonged to a very gd unit where most folks (regulars) worked hard. Was treated very well there too. Really enjoyed my 2.5 yrs of service despite it being hard work at certain seasons. Was given a total of 3 months off + leave in total but still went back on my off days coz felt very meaningless playing my PS2 at home. Just missed TCSS with the regulars in the TV room while eating lunch rations together. 2nd last day specially went back to my unit (coz ORD had to go HQ at another camp to collect pink IC) to run the 2.4km route 1 last time. It was on this 2.4km route where I took my first step as a waist 42 BBFA to attempt to just finish 2.4km non-stop to becoming the unit 10.5 min pacer for 2.4km during IPPT.

DulanMax

Got excess leaves but cannot clear finish cos need practice for smlj ORD parade. Like I give a shiat about wayang parade.

Sibei dulan, chao SAF.

Pui.

Disincarnate

extended ord becuz of overseas exercise..come back want to use ns credits, say all cannot use riaos..

kena owned

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.