Does cronyism exists in SG?

PetKat

According to dictionary cronyism is defined as

The appointment of friends and associates to positions of authority, without proper regard to their qualifications.

U all know of any family or organisation in sg where u can see their friends or family seem to promote very fast or do very well or get high paid offers? Like father to son or friend to friend type ?

Strawberry^Cheesecake

The appointment of friends and associates to positions of authority, without proper regard to their qualifications.

U all know of any family or organisation in sg where u can see their friends or family seem to promote very fast or do very well or get high paid offers? Like father to son or friend to friend type ?

You sibei no life sia.

Everyday sit on EDMW posting threads.

PetKat

in b4 toystories traits everywhere pic

You mean there are many examples u seen before of cronyism?

Sometimes close cronies can also turn against one another and sue each other

Cronyism is technically legal la. Cus no bribes offered right. But the implicit understanding is cronies will look out for one another lor.

boh lah......................only LEEpotism lah :cool:

Kunkka

20140315_IRC363.png
20160507_IRC277.png

PetKat

U all see a lot of cases right?

Where the friend or family gets above average treatment.

From young can go to top unis to pad credentials. Many have tutors or ghost writers even.

Then later is directorships on boards, business deals, lead big organisations, etc to pad resume

wongkc

tiagong if u dun appoint directly yourself... is ok...

just get a committee of your own pple to do the appointment... say is the committee appoint one... so no cronyism...

Dividends

Of course it does, it exists everywhere, even in NK. The question you should be having is, how rampant is it compared to other developed countries?

Dividends

U all see a lot of cases right?

Where the friend or family gets above average treatment.

From young can go to top unis to pad credentials. Many have tutors or ghost writers even.

Then later is directorships on boards, business deals, lead big organisations, etc to pad resume
That's why networks are very important in life, have to work on establishing that as much as possible early on in your career.

Medicated Oil

TS, just formulate a table of the appointment holders and their wife's appointments.
And you get your answers.

tech90

You see who's on the board on the Temasek linked companies / Stat boards you know liao.

tJ3333

When I got promoted, my boss, who is also my uncle, told me that I got promoted due to my competence.

My grandfather, the sole shareholder of the company, agrees with my uncle.

Meritocracy exists in Singapore.

Only people who don't work hard remains poor.

PetKat

a lot of cronies will try to stifle freedom of speech within or outside their organisations

so they can suck longer

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.