Does donation really reduces tax?

limster

If I key in $1,000,000 income, Income tax is $178,350

If I key in $100,000 donation, Income tax is 128,350 , which is $50,000 less.

Meaning if you donate $100,000, the government gives $50,000 back. I don't think other countries are as generous.

djchris

Donations to registered charities give you tax deductions for your taxable income. Not income tax.

So you don't see the real benefit in income tax reduction unless that donation helped to bring your taxable income down to a lower tax rate.

anfielder

Donations to registered charities give you tax deductions for your taxable income. Not income tax.

So you don't see the real benefit in income tax reduction unless that donation helped to bring your taxable income down to a lower tax rate.

I think you may have misunderstood the way tax is applied? If your top tax rate is 20%, that rate is only applied the portion of your taxable income that exceeds $320k and doesn't affect the tax payable for your first $320k.

anfielder

djchris

I think you may have misunderstood the way tax is applied? If your top tax rate is 20%, that rate is only applied the portion of your taxable income that exceeds $320k and doesn't affect the tax payable for your first $320k.
I think we are just looking at different angles.

How I see it is that if my taxable income for 2015 is 350k, I could donate enough to reduce the taxable income to 320k and below to avoid the tax for the tier above 320k which is quite hafty.

Sunnydae

If you donate a thousand and your tax rate is 14% (for that bracket),
you save 2.5k x 20% = $350

Seems ok to me, the lower your income tax rate, the less money you save

I noticed the calculator didnt include the 250% tax reduction for donations so your final tax savings should be multiplied by 2.5 to be correct.

If I am not mistaken if he is computating for trade income, he needs to add back The donation expense in order to arrive to assessable income, then less 250%(300% in YA2016) to get the chargable income. The tax rate shall be use on the chargable income.

cscs3

Best donation is to donate to your own CPF account. $7000 and you get both tax deduction and high interest rate in your own CPF account.

zoossh

no. the calculator had some instructions when u hover over the donations area. if u donate 100, u key in 250. i did that already.

tried a few permutations, i think if u donate 1000 (key in 2500), get back only 500.

i also tested the tier to see if there is a difference between above 320k and below 320k chargeble income. still the same. so there dun seem to be a difference in fitting a threshold such that u drop into another category.

in fact, there might even be a limit to it. i tested on a net tax payable of 42000, then donate 40000, end up still got to pay 35000 of tax.

zoossh

Best donation is to donate to your own CPF account. $7000 and you get both tax deduction and high interest rate in your own CPF account.

already cpf 7000 and srs 12750.

life insurance claim no matter what is up to 5k rite?

zoossh

You cannot claim life insurance if you are contributing to cpf

dunno for the past few years, they autocalculate for mee, insai got give a figure for life insurance relief. i didnt change it.

chiokcc

A side track ...

I called in the various Mediacorp charity shows to donate $$ last year. I have not seen the 2.5X donated amount reflected in my Income tax during filing earlier this year.

So, I should expect to see the deduction in the initial assessment?

anfielder

A side track ...

I called in the various Mediacorp charity shows to donate $$ last year. I have not seen the 2.5X donated amount reflected in my Income tax during filing earlier this year.

Did you check whether the organisations you donated to are IPCs?

limster

A side track ...

You already asked this question last month and people say not tax deductible. Why you ask again?
If you don't believe the answer the first time, then go and call IRAS lor?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/iras-srs-4981448.html

wts2013

If u want to donate to charity, dun ask for reward, to get good karma, hahaha

If u want to reduce your tax, "donate" to your loved ones' CPF lor, or your own CPF, hahaha

zoossh

If u want to donate to charity, dun ask for reward, to get good karma, hahaha

If u want to reduce your tax, "donate" to your loved ones' CPF lor, or your own CPF, hahaha

no, i just want to know how things work and about the myth that rich people save tax by donating. apparently it just doesnt.

wts2013

no, i just want to know how things work and about the myth that rich people save tax by donating. apparently it just doesnt.
Yes, they do pay less tax, they prefer to donate to charity than donate more to gahmen lor, so long they pay less regardless of quantum, that amt saved is considered donated to charity not gahmen lor, hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.