DOTA Auto Chess

DonDonX

Just wanna share with everyone an addictive custom DOTA game that i came across. Google or click on the links below to find out more about this awesome game that got so many people hyped for it's unique and amazing gameplay!

http://gamingepic.com/what-is-dota-auto-chess-and-is-it-the-most-popular-game-of-2019/

https://technocodex.com/dota-auto-chess-emerging-as-the-fastest-growing-new-game-of-2019/

For anyone interested to try it out, all you need to do is download steam, install DOTA 2 and you are good to go

rECKleSSfElla

Playing but already kinda burnout from it mainly because end game rewards are meh(collect candy to exchange for courier is pointless) and the ranking system is just stupid. Once you hit bishop rank, playing in public lobbies is one way ticket to losing rank. If you get paired with bunch of knight ranks or lower, you win you gain 1 rank or not at all. You lose then its down rank by alot. I see those china streamers once they hit bishop rank they only play in private lobbies against other bishops or castle ranks so they stand to gain more from winning and less from losing.

Anyway best beginner tip, you can create private lobby to play against AI bots to learn the game mechanics. This is important before you head straight into rank calibration games against actual human players.

DonDonX

I agree the end game rewards are kinda meh. I think the purpose is just to let some players have something to work towards even though it may seem pointless. As for the ranking system, i was surprised they even have one for a custom game. It may not be perfect but i'm sure the creators are working on it to make it better since the game is still very new

Perhaps we should take a different approach towards this game and play the game just because we enjoy playing it. If they implement a better reward or ranking system, it would be a bonus but for now i'm just happy playing it. Take a break bro if you are burned out and i think it will be more fun playing with friends. Cheers~

rECKleSSfElla

Yeah the game itself is definitely fun and quite addictive. It requires a good combination of skill and luck. But at the same time it can be frustrating when you dont get the hero draws you want or keep getting paired against the same powerful opponent in consecutive rounds. Also there are quite a few bugs and weird chess piece interactions which needs ironing out. Hopefully the creator will introduce more heroes and class types in the near future.

DonDonX

There are some strategies involved like synergies between characters, positioning, when to spend gold and etc. At the same time there are also elements of RNG, whether you are offered the pieces you needed, facing the same opponent repeatedly and etc

Sometimes this game reminds me of playing a card game when both decision making and luck comes into play. With the overwhelming response and growing popularity of the game, i'm sure the creators are motivated and excited to make this game even better

rECKleSSfElla

what are your favourite synergies

In recent updates they have made it such that going full lineup of 1 single synergy is less powerful(e.g. full warrior/knights etc). Essentially they are encouraging people to experiment combining multiple synergies. Personally, i like trolls the best and i have the most success with them since they are a good combo with everything else. Other synergies i go with are warlock and undead. However, most of the time in high level bishop and up games, it all comes down to who has the most 2 stars AOE dmg/control pieces(tide, disruptor, techies etc).

koicafex

ohhh thx for the intro
hahah opened dota 2 after 1yr just to play this game

rECKleSSfElla

Already have cheats and hacks available for this game. Because of this, alot of witch hunting going on. If you get good rolls and full board of 2 star pieces in the early game, other players start accusing you of cheating and what not.

koicafex

ya i keep meeting people
round 2 alr got 2*...
then they very fast get 3* also :s22:

fk when they have 5 3* i only have 1 lol

rECKleSSfElla

ya i keep meeting people
round 2 alr got 2*...
then they very fast get 3* also :s22:

fk when they have 5 3* i only have 1 lol

Round 2 2 star is possible leh. Very fast 3 star also possible if you go druids or get really lucky on rolls for 1 or 2 cost units. 5x 3 stars quite hard if not druid units. Hacks are quite obvious to spot. Blatant cheats like having 3x 3 stars of same hero unit or really early 3 star 5 cost units like gyro, techies etc.

koicafex

Round 2 2 star is possible leh. Very fast 3 star also possible if you go druids or get really lucky on rolls for 1 or 2 cost units. 5x 3 stars quite hard if not druid units. Hacks are quite obvious to spot. Blatant cheats like having 3x 3 stars of same hero unit or really early 3 star 5 cost units like gyro, techies etc.

ya i no luck 1 zzz
always 2 2* and 2 1*
cannot get the last 1 lol

if you're losing
will u try to force buy or still save interest?
i keep losing out on exp near late game
i reach 8 they reach 9
but im still at top 3...but ppl below me all lv9 also wth :s13:

koicafex

then i see ppl get all the op item
crystalis, MoM etc
i get void stone, ring of regen etc or nth at all :s13:

rECKleSSfElla

No point saving money for interest if you are near death, especially in mid-late game scenarios where you might one shot loose more than 10 hp per round. The worst kind of feeling is you die with leftover of 30-40 gold.

Normally when i hit 8 i will just exclusively spend on rerolls unless i need to rush to 9 for higher chance to get 5 cost units or i am running lineups where that extra piece will give a massive power spike.

Item rng is one area alot of players have been complaining about. Yes, on one hand one can argue this game is all about luck and rng, but its totally B.S. when its possible other player have round 4 refresher orb and all you get after 30 rounds is a stout shield and a void stone(happened to me before). Having good items early game allows you to maintain win streaks and snowball hard into the mid game but in most instances post 35 rounds, items have less impact when its more about the lineup and synergies you have. But of cos, things like refresher orb tide/techies poops on everything else..........

rECKleSSfElla

Cheating and hacking has gotten so bad the autochess reddit page has become a dedicated place for people to post(and in some case false witch-hunt) about players they encountered who cheat. But boy....the hacks are so advanced they can literally "hijack" you by rolling and spending your gold for you.
https://clips.twitch.tv/JazzySmoggyEagleCharlieBitMe

Game was fun while it lasted. Guess now can only play with friends in closed lobbies. 道高一尺,魔高一丈. Gonna be hard for the developers to weed out the hackers entirely, especially considering this is a custom game maintained by a small group of coders without much resources. Valve cant even weed out scripters in dota 2 after all these years with all the resource they have and a anti-cheat system in place in the game.

rECKleSSfElla

5 x 3 stars can legitimately be done running druids. Could have been 6 but was short of one piece for 3 star anti-mage
nLhpPTq.jpg

With new patch, they released 3 more new heroes. With the pool getting bigger, the probability of getting the pieces you want also becomes smaller. Like when i want to run early warriors or knights, i keep rolling a mix of assassins and hunters.

koicafex

that day i try druid
i have everything at 2x2*
but i can't get lone druid to get the combo to turn all into 3* lol

defghijsg

I agree the end game rewards are kinda meh. I think the purpose is just to let some players have something to work towards even though it may seem pointless. As for the ranking system, i was surprised they even have one for a custom game. It may not be perfect but i'm sure the creators are working on it to make it better since the game is still very new

Perhaps we should take a different approach towards this game and play the game just because we enjoy playing it. If they implement a better reward or ranking system, it would be a bonus but for now i'm just happy playing it. Take a break bro if you are burned out and i think it will be more fun playing with friends. Cheers~

I like the approach that you are recommending. Have you tried it bro? Did it work well on you?

nexusRAGER

most sian is when you play a game

then everyone in the game is all below your rank..

you win you rank up abit

if you lose you drop alot

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.