Driving in Taiwan

Anyone has driven in Taiwan, can share experience?

Also how is GPS in Taiwan normally working? Their road names are not standardized in English, so input pinyin for the road names or places of interest? But their pinyin is different from our hanyu pinyin. Or input the co-ordinates?

If travel in late Nov / early Dec, need snow chains?

Thanks

fireworks79

Also how is GPS in Taiwan normally working? Their road names are not standardized in English, so input pinyin for the road names or places of interest? But their pinyin is different from our hanyu pinyin. Or input the co-ordinates?

Thanks
snow chain only needed when the area u driving got snow
Nvr use GPS b4

kevin301

1) Need to apply for International Driving Permit from AA Singapore, in case you didn't know.

2) remind yourself constantly that it's left-hand drive over there! :)

3) Google Maps works quite fine. Get an appropriate windscreen mount, and you should be good to go.

Sauron

I used google maps.

I also drove in and around Taipei, Jiufen and all the way to Cingjing. Also in late Nov, no need snow chain.

calkel20

1) Need to apply for International Driving Permit from AA Singapore, in case you didn't know.

2) remind yourself constantly that it's left-hand drive over there! :)

3) Google Maps works quite fine. Get an appropriate windscreen mount, and you should be good to go.
For 3) dun need a windmount as you are not a uber or grab driver.
I always use a buddy to look out using google map. Do not panic when signals are lost, just go ahead. Usually is a straight road direction.

calkel20

Thanks
Are you planning for next year?

subzero28

I once spent 23 days holidaying in Taiwan and drove round the island. Pretty easy and straightforward.
As a previous poster mentioned, you need to apply for the international driver's license.

subzero28

Also I rented a car together with the GPS and it even showed where all the speed cameras were!

ldlian987

Thanks

I used google maps and just copy and paste the destination's name in chinese into the app (english works sometimes). If they provided GPS, try to see if you can search for destination via phone number (fixed line).

1) Stay clear of heavy vehicles (buses, trucks, trailers). They drive like maniacs and would not care about other smaller vehicles. Even if you are beside them they would should change lane without a care, and they speed like nobody's business (most drive faster than cars)

2) Look out for scooters as they are everywhere, especially when you are turning right at a junction. Scooters will be on the right most lane (scooter lane) and some may be going straight.

3) To remind yourself of the left hand drive, just remember to keep right wherever you go.

4) Look out for vehicles beating red lights as there are plenty of them ignoring traffic signals. Look left and right when you are the first one to move off from the traffic light.

oceanmist73

I'm planning a 12 days trip and intend to drive (maybe 8 days) in Taiwan this end Nov. Basically intend to pick up car from Taoyuan airport to Taichung, Cingjing, along the way down to Xinshe etc., Jianheshan Theme park, back to Taipei, Yeliu, Jiufen, Shifen etc. Once covered these area, I can drop out the car and continue with public transport. Not too adventurous this time becuase travelling with 2 elderly.

I've check a few car rentals (maybe I can write a review on my experience communicating with them later on... hahaha...) and now I need some adv:
1. Was recommended Nissan New Livina 1600cc, anyone tried this car? 5pax full with luggage.
2. Most of the rentals insurance clause:
a)Excess NT10,000,
b)if case of Total loss, excess will be 10% of prevailing market value.
c)In addition, loss of hire during repair period.
d)Do not cover for nature disasters etc.
While most of our travel insurance provide cover rental excess SGD1500 for (a), which is quite sufficient, but (b) is very uncertain. Honestly, the liability for © and (d) is much higher than the excess.
Anyone got any idea to cover this part?

Red_Star

Need advise as planning to rent and drive as well. Taoyuan airport to flying cow ranch and then to Leofoo resort. Based on the distance, request advise if taking taxi better or having a rental car? Tot can drive around during the evenings if having a rental car than stuck at the resort during the late evenings... :)

calkel20

Need advise as planning to rent and drive as well. Taoyuan airport to flying cow ranch and then to Leofoo resort. Based on the distance, request advise if taking taxi better or having a rental car? Tot can drive around during the evenings if having a rental car than stuck at the resort during the late evenings... :)

How many pax have u got?
Got budget, drive lor.

oceanmist73

Depends on the no. of pax bro n the places you going... for my trip, i calculated the main transportation cost i.e. HSR cost n few hired taxi alone cost around sgd850+ liao... so might as well rent a car... more flexi n freedom too...

Red_Star

Depends on the no. of pax bro n the places you going... for my trip, i calculated the main transportation cost i.e. HSR cost n few hired taxi alone cost around sgd850+ liao... so might as well rent a car... more flexi n freedom too...

Yes bro, that was what i was considering. I have only 3 pax, 2 adults and a child. Considering driving from Taoyuan to flying cow and then to Leofoo and will return the car in Taipei after we finish the farm stays. Cos if taxi costs are about the same, i would prefer to drive. Flexi and freedom. :)

oceanmist73

Yes bro, that was what i was considering. I have only 3 pax, 2 adults and a child. Considering driving from Taoyuan to flying cow and then to Leofoo and will return the car in Taipei after we finish the farm stays. Cos if taxi costs are about the same, i would prefer to drive. Flexi and freedom. :)
For a small family of 3, you dun need a big car really. A vios / fit is good enough. I think about $600 for 8 days (when I was browsing thru).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.