Dslr?

Dreaming

Mark 2 doesnt have scenes mode?

What lens can I go for 80d if I want to shoot wildlife? Other than 18-135mm?

Ah_keong

Oh I see... Buying this sure pocket have hole big big

yup, based on your requirements of weather proofing, variety of applications needs, etc. lens are a big investment and will hold value longer than bodies. :D

maxresdefault.jpg

Ah_keong

Mark 2 doesnt have scenes mode?

What lens can I go for 80d if I want to shoot wildlife? Other than 18-135mm?

scene modes? Sorry I don understand this. 80D has a special scene (SCN)mode.
Canon-EOS-80D-Hands-On-Test-00684.jpg

in which many scenes can be selected from the menu. Think is in the manual page 90-100 ranging from food, children, sports, landscapes, close-up, portrait, etc.

if you mean particular scene modes like this? then nope.
303860.image0.jpg

for wildlife and for Canon lens, I would recommend :

maxresdefault.jpg

DSC_7691-600x397.jpg

ludicurious

Wah liddat am I to say that for d5300 the lens that I can buy is limited? :eek:

Due to the auto focus thingy

no lah, I have the Kit lens and recently include the UWA lens into my arsenal. :D
For me (travel and street), this UWA is good enough for me liaoz....
few surprises : have macro capability.

edd4ac10-333f-4c2c-89e0-a0f003b771b1.jpg._CB305739515__SR970,300_.jpg

P1930658.JPG

olympus-7-14-mm-2.8-test-review-opinions-4.jpg

olympus-7-14-mm-2.8-test-review-opinions-5.jpg

olympus-7-14-mm-2.8-test-review.jpg

olympus-7-14-mm-2.8-test-review-opinions.jpg

Dreaming

Ya 80d have but Mark 2 doesnt have scn mode. I dont see it =x

Aiyo data finish soon.. Will ask more questions when im home.. =D

Ah_keong

Wah liddat am I to say that for d5300 the lens that I can buy is limited? :eek:

Due to the auto focus thingy

Sorry, I got kinda of confused:

1) May I ask which lens you using?
2) May I ask limited in what sense?
3) May I ask what you mean by auto focus thingy?

I am not a Nikon pro so I would say for kit lens
I would recommend either 16-85mm or the 18-55mmVR or the 18-200mm VR.
if you don't mind 3rd party, I would recommend Sigma 17-70mm
9013368652_a4a73c00d2_b.jpg

img_9632.jpg

Ah_keong

Ya 80d have but Mark 2 doesnt have scn mode. I dont see it =x

Aiyo data finish soon.. Will ask more questions when im home.. =D

nope, I don think so. I need to consult my friend as I do not own the OM-D EM-1 Mark 2....

Dreaming

i just calculate the price for mark 2 plus lens. Price can make me faint. I will skip that haha.

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/glee/images/1/11/Merida_faint.gif/revision/latest?**=20131203001242

I think i will go for 80d. Save and get other lens for wildlife!

What do you think of EF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM than EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM? Price diff is so much btw these 2 lenses.

Can 80d use other brand lenses for wildlife shots?

Any other good canon lenses for wildlife price cheaper than EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM?

If i have EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM, can i reuse it if i upgrade it to other new canon camera few years down the road?

paiseh ask so many questions

alamakazim

wah so rich leh... all the recommendations arent cheap at all

frankly... just get the kit lens....

BUY NOW!!! u need to familiarize your equipment before the real trip... else photos will be shitty

I would buy a cheap prime 35mm lens and kit lens

that cheap prime lens is good for night street shots and is light

ludicurious

No I still tinking whether to get d5300

If I get it will be 18-55 kit that comes with the set mah haha

Limited as in cuz d5300 can only use all those New lens that is AF-S so all those old lens will nt be useable on this body?

Sorry, I got kinda of confused:

1) May I ask which lens you using?
2) May I ask limited in what sense?
3) May I ask what you mean by auto focus thingy?

I am not a Nikon pro so I would say for kit lens
I would recommend either 16-85mm or the 18-55mmVR or the 18-200mm VR.
if you don't mind 3rd party, I would recommend Sigma 17-70mm
9013368652_a4a73c00d2_b.jpg

img_9632.jpg

bberry

TS seems not to know what he wants. i suggest TS to attempt to reading and educate himself more on photography first..after that, u will know what may be suitable.

now u are asking for a camera that can do everything and expect it to be low cost.

u do not know what constitute is a good portrait shot nor a good wildlife shot

read more first

Dreaming

yes i will read and watch more first :) i plan to take some course too..

Does anyone know which trustable store sell 2nd hand camera?

keenklee

yes i will read and watch more first :) i plan to take some course too..

Does anyone know which trustable store sell 2nd hand camera?

After learning more about photography, I realised that I need full frame (FX).
The main "hindrance" is the cost.
Thus the next consideration would be the DX - just have to settle for the limitations.

IMHO, the 18-55mm kit lenses is a limitation for photography.

Ah_keong

i just calculate the price for mark 2 plus lens. Price can make me faint. I will skip that haha.

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/glee/images/1/11/Merida_faint.gif/revision/latest?**=20131203001242

I think i will go for 80d. Save and get other lens for wildlife!

What do you think of EF70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM than EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM? Price diff is so much btw these 2 lenses.

Can 80d use other brand lenses for wildlife shots?

Any other good canon lenses for wildlife price cheaper than EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM?

If i have EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM, can i reuse it if i upgrade it to other new canon camera few years down the road?

paiseh ask so many questions

as you have not stated your budget, I am unable to advice further.

there are other third party lens with EF mount that can be used.

the two lens stated is for different application purposes. In my opinion, The EF100-400mm is a better lens for wildlife. Lens are a better investment as they hold value longer than bodies, you can upgrade your bodies and still reuse the lens.

please understand there is no super-lens that can do all applications in one.
Some lens are for landscapes, some lens are for portraits, some lens are for wildlife, some lens are for action/event, etc.

This is why the body is designed for you to "change" lens. Please also note that the weather proofing add costs to the body and lens price.

if price is a main concern, I would recommend back the 80D kit set (if it fit your budget).

good-fast-cheap.jpg

Ah_keong

wah so rich leh... all the recommendations arent cheap at all

frankly... just get the kit lens....

BUY NOW!!! u need to familiarize your equipment before the real trip... else photos will be shitty

I would buy a cheap prime 35mm lens and kit lens

that cheap prime lens is good for night street shots and is light

agree, when I started 5 years ago, I inherited my friend's Olympus Pen Lite and kit lens. I spend money on photography books and a travel tripod.

I then bought my first Canon dslr 3 years ago and a 3rd party zoom lens to assist in shooting my friend's wedding, remaining lens I borrow from my army friend.

Recently then save up money to get UWA for Olympus (7-14mm PRO) and Canon (10-18mm IS STM) as I am doing a Landscape project and Flash (430EX III-RT) as I am assisting my friend for events shooting.

I would recommend getting the 35mm f/2 IS for everyday shooting and the 85mm f/1.8 for portraits for a start.

For landscapes and wildlife, its two different animals altogether. :D

D3S_9195-oblique-1200.jpg

Canon_2519A003_85mm_f_1_8_USM_Autofocus_12182.jpg

Ah_keong

No I still tinking whether to get d5300

If I get it will be 18-55 kit that comes with the set mah haha

Limited as in cuz d5300 can only use all those New lens that is AF-S so all those old lens will nt be useable on this body?

I am not a pro in Nikon field so do feel free to consult other experts.
I was talking to my friend who use Nikon (D7100 previously) and she recommend D7200.

If you have finalized on Nikon and have the budget, I would recommend D7200 and the kit lens.
If you have extra budget, I would also recommend the 35mm f/1,8 DX lens.

D3S_2282-1200.jpg

D3S_5926-1200.jpg

Ah_keong

TS seems not to know what he wants. i suggest TS to attempt to reading and educate himself more on photography first..after that, u will know what may be suitable.

now u are asking for a camera that can do everything and expect it to be low cost.

u do not know what constitute is a good portrait shot nor a good wildlife shot

read more first

agree. I always recommend educations (books for self study) for beginners. As I was also taught this way by my friend who shoot events and weddings.

First you learn the science part, like exposures, apertures, shutter speed, ISO sensitivity, etc. The resulting effects of the exposure, limits, etc.

Next you learn the art part (the more difficult part), composition, lighting, etc etc etc.

I am still learning and reading this two book currently.
They are works of masters and their personal experience 1st hand.
moment_clicks_cover.jpg

p1674851193-5.jpg

Ah_keong

After learning more about photography, I realised that I need full frame (FX).
The main "hindrance" is the cost.
Thus the next consideration would be the DX - just have to settle for the limitations.

IMHO, the 18-55mm kit lenses is a limitation for photography.

To a certain extend, I agree with you.
It depends on what you shoot. For architecture, indoors, portraits, I believe Full Frame is the way to go, for outdoors, wildlife, etc. Cropped might be the better option.

Two different tools for different applications. In my experience, you can have both. :D

I met this photographer during an event shoot few years back) and he uses both DX (D300s?) and FX (D700) set.

I also met another photographer at an wedding shoot and he also uses both cropped (70D) and full frame (5D mark II).

With two lens (35mm and 85mm) he is able to achieve four focal length (~50mm and ~135mm)

D5_D500.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.