the seed must be small??!!! walau that means i kena cheated by botak kho? his msw seed is big big lor. definitely 100% bigger than the ones in the picture
the seed must be small??!!! walau that means i kena cheated by botak kho? his msw seed is big big lor. definitely 100% bigger than the ones in the picture![]()
Msw seeds are usually small and flat leh .
walau like that means confirm kena cheated by botak kho la
it was definitely not flat at all. round and big. should have taken a photo of it
the seeds of the msw i had look like the ones on the left![]()
nowadays, many durian sellers try to pass off other types of durians as mswwalau like that means confirm kena cheated by botak kho la
it was definitely not flat at all. round and big. should have taken a photo of it
the seeds of the msw i had look like the ones on the left![]()
Hello. Anyone know what's Lao shu durian? Just simply 老树 hougang 681 here selling like hot cakes. Uncle say red meat is softer thou. Arnd 12-15 per kg leh. But it's not MSW...
looks fakenowadays, many durian sellers try to pass off other types of durians as msw
Wtf since when msw seed so big ? Always look like those on right leh. My family always get from ah seng always good quality , not sure about botak kho.
Anyone knows around Kovan and Hougang area where can I get good quality durians at ?
you confirmed you bought MSW![]()
confirmed!!! bought from this vendor very long liao some more is my ex-ex-colleague father![]()
Every and any durian will have that "yellow stain" if the moisture content within the durian is high.
Next, the red prawn mentioned here could either be D101 or D13. Dont let the seller fool u.
And big seeded msw does not simply mean the msw is fake.
none was the real stuff and many ppl q up buying.
ah seng is doing a roaring business. went to see him around 745 pm today and there was a super long queue of around 30 or more people.![]()
Solid answer... Thanks again for sharing yr knowledge..The only fake MSW that i know of is the Thai cultivar - Chanee. Everything from inside to outside looks, smells and tastes very similar. Star shape in my opinion is not a very absolute determinant of the cultivar. There are other cultivars that i came across having similar characteristic i.e. Commercial durian D2 Dato Nina and non commercial durians from the wilderness of Singapore namely from Ubin, Mandai and LCK. If u want to see pictures of these, let me know and I will be most glad to share. In essence, thou shalt not judge a msw by its seed nor shell but a totality of its overall characteristics.
Now onto the hot topic of small seed and big seed of msw. Its sicknening and really sad to see members whining that they have been cheated and the seller is dishonest. Well I'm not trying to side anybody here but speak to any farmer, yes durian farmer not seller and they themselves also have no exact clue to why some have big and small seeds.
What I have gathered on why big seed thus far over the years from them farmers are the msw is from a young tree i.e below 10 years of age and the taste is not as shiok as those small seed. So those small flat seeds u get are likely from either bud grafted trees or very old msw trees. Then again, i have personally eaten super old durians 50 and above both commercial and non commercial (wild picked in sg) and some have big while some have small.
To conclude there is no definite answer or reason but i think all u have to do is first stop defaming and whining which i think can be damaging to the durian seller's reputation and livelihood. My take is just simply go to the seller that has the best source that suits your palette. BUT if u dont want to worry of big or small seed and all u want is just quality. Just go to 818 trading and pay and i can almost guarantee u wont be disappointed. As simple as that but having said that, durians are a by product of mother nature and that is something we can never control.
Cheers