Durian 2014

muruku.thick

Malaysian durians selling at lowest prices so far this year: Singapore vendors
Prices of the king of fruit have been going down due to warmer weather, according to some sellers.

By Fann Sim
POSTED: 18 Jun 2015 18:12 UPDATED: 19 Jun 2015 01:00

A A

SINGAPORE: Durian aficionados have reason to rejoice, as several durian vendors are seeing a drop in prices with the start of the harvesting season in Malaysia.

ADVERTISING

Prices for the Mao Shan Wang, the most popular type of durian in Singapore, is at the lowest ever for this year at S$15 to S$16 per kilogramme.

Golden Phoenix durians are being sold at about S$12 a kilogramme in Geylang, compared to S$15 last year. A kampung durian could also be as cheap as 50 cents.

Combat Durian's Linda Ang said on Thursday (Jun 18) prices started falling last week, where Mao Shan Wang durians were going for about S$25 to S$28 per kilogramme.

"It's the start of the harvesting season and supply is going up, hence the lower prices. The hot weather also helped in more durians being harvested in Malaysia," Ms Ang said.

Another vendor, Ms Lee Chien Lan of Ah Soon Durian and Fruit Stall, said prices might fall even further. "The harvesting season has just started. If we are able to get more, it will be cheaper," she said.

But vendor Gan Jiuann Woei from Lian Chun Fruit Shop said it is not just the hot weather that is resulting in a big harvest this year. "There was a drought in Malaysia last year so the quality was not as good. The weather conditions this year are quite ideal, with rainy and sunny days, so we'll see better ones this year," he explained.

Ah Yee from Ah Hung Company said the falling prices could be due to Ramadan. "Many Malays have also started their fasting period. Hence, most of their harvest would come into Singapore, which is causing prices to fall because of the large supply. I think the prices could fall further."

Photo: Fann Sim

However, vendors said the quantity of durians imported into Singapore has fallen compared to last year. :( Combat Durian is bringing in an estimated 750kg to 1,000kg a day for June and July this year. Last year, the stall brought in about 1,200kg to 1,500kg of durians per day in the same period.

Ms Ang said this could be due to fewer durians available for export to Singapore. "This year, China has imported a lot of durians from our supplier in Malaysia, in Johor and Pahang, so we get less," she said.

Mao Shan Wang durian sold for as low as S$12 a kilogramme last year, during the same period.

- CNA/dl

ralliart_ray

The only fake MSW that i know of is the Thai cultivar - Chanee. Everything from inside to outside looks, smells and tastes very similar. Star shape in my opinion is not a very absolute determinant of the cultivar. There are other cultivars that i came across having similar characteristic i.e. Commercial durian D2 Dato Nina and non commercial durians from the wilderness of Singapore namely from Ubin, Mandai and LCK. If u want to see pictures of these, let me know and I will be most glad to share. In essence, thou shalt not judge a msw by its seed nor shell but a totality of its overall characteristics.

Now onto the hot topic of small seed and big seed of msw. Its sicknening and really sad to see members whining that they have been cheated and the seller is dishonest. Well I'm not trying to side anybody here but speak to any farmer, yes durian farmer not seller and they themselves also have no exact clue to why some have big and small seeds.

What I have gathered on why big seed thus far over the years from them farmers are the msw is from a young tree i.e below 10 years of age and the taste is not as shiok as those small seed. So those small flat seeds u get are likely from either bud grafted trees or very old msw trees. Then again, i have personally eaten super old durians 50 and above both commercial and non commercial (wild picked in sg) and some have big while some have small.

To conclude there is no definite answer or reason but i think all u have to do is first stop defaming and whining which i think can be damaging to the durian seller's reputation and livelihood. My take is just simply go to the seller that has the best source that suits your palette. BUT if u dont want to worry of big or small seed and all u want is just quality. Just go to 818 trading and pay and i can almost guarantee u wont be disappointed. As simple as that but having said that, durians are a by product of mother nature and that is something we can never control.

Cheers

quote for truth. me & my granny judge the durians / MSW good or not only by our taste buds... from the other remarks in the the thread like on top of the flesh....they both eat the seeds & the shells (star marks) like that....... :s13::s13::s13:

cybercom8

The only fake MSW that i know of is the Thai cultivar - Chanee.

nice share and i agree that we should not anyhow make allegations about specific durian sellers cheating us about genuine msw.

however, i am sure you will agree there are many unscrupulous durian sellers out there who are charging msw prices for cheaper durians which they pass off as msw.

foreseer

can anyone recommend where in geylang/potong pasir can get good durian? or trusted stalls not too ex?

quite sian of getting cheated at geylang even though i live nearby

all the fuggers charge premium price for lousy durians

coz everytime i go balestier then i feel it's damn ex and somehow too far for me

Kaki369

Oh and recently my farmer friends showed me 6 star MSW. What we use to and still see in the market is 5 star. Well that being said, as what above 2 lao jiaos pointed out. It is all about the taste and whether the seller is a honest one or unscrupulous. Therefore what is most important to me which i have been sharing and emphasizing all these years is the relationship with the seller. Not to get good price but to simply understand and learn the "good to knows" of our favorite fruit and of course to have them know our preference well rather than always going to different sellers and at times end up paying "tuition" fees.

Kaki369

can anyone recommend where in geylang/potong pasir can get good durian? or trusted stalls not too ex?

coz everytime i go balestier then i feel it's damn ex and somehow too far for me

Without second thought, I would go to 818 at Telok Kurau. Their source and QC is tip top. I can't find another seller with the same level of professionalism and quality as them. That said, be prepared to pay for a premium and I can promise u won't regret. But u know what, im happy with my foc wild organic durians :) free! :p

xtwis7

Yesterday night went to kovan along upper serangoon road near the punggol nasi lemak, the msw insane prices. $25/kg but the seller say can do $20/kg.

The seeds were mixed, mostly quite big though. Each durian was about 2kg. 2 durians alr $80 man.

foreseer

Without second thought, I would go to 818 at Telok Kurau. Their source and QC is tip top. I can't find another seller with the same level of professionalism and quality as them. That said, be prepared to pay for a premium and I can promise u won't regret. But u know what, im happy with my foc wild organic durians :) free! :p

to me go telok kurau = no diff as the balestier... or even further coz no direct transport :angel:

thanks anyway

seems like geylang is rly condemned

cybercom8

Yesterday night went to kovan along upper serangoon road near the punggol nasi lemak, the msw insane prices. $25/kg but the seller say can do $20/kg.

The seeds were mixed, mostly quite big though. Each durian was about 2kg. 2 durians alr $80 man.

saw a huge crowd there too last night...for that kind of inflated prices (even at $20), please go to 717 and 818, at least you wont get cheated :o

soarer

many fake MSW around.

yesterday went to jurong west. saw plenty of MSW................. placards around, $10 per MSW and $50 for 3 MSW. none was the real stuff and many ppl q up buying.

Soon there will be MSW 3 for $10.

Erwinlow

my regular store is the one near aljunied mrt(so technically the other side of geylang). aljunied mrt come out walk straight, cross road and the store is there.

curious, how to distinguish between D101 and D13?

store owner told me MSW supply slowly dropping already

xtwis7

saw a huge crowd there too last night...for that kind of inflated prices (even at $20), please go to 717 and 818, at least you wont get cheated :o

I went past midnight and gf had a huge craving so settled for that lor. If I have a choice, I surely won't buy from there again. Not value for money at all.

I see ahseng the queue until sibei scary sia. Durian is a serious biz.

cybercom8

I went past midnight and gf had a huge craving so settled for that lor. If I have a choice, I surely won't buy from there again. Not value for money at all.

I see ahseng the queue until sibei scary sia. Durian is a serious biz.

yeah, last night i had the crave too and went to 717 at 9+...all the msw sold out but they have various types of msw with the best old tree msw at $18 and normal msw at $14-16...still lower than that serangoon stall.

best time to go buy is usually about 6+...fresh stocks just arrived.

Kaki369

to me go telok kurau = no diff as the balestier... or even further coz no direct transport :angel:

thanks anyway

seems like geylang is rly condemned

U want good but don't want exp. U want nearby but u don't want kana chop by geylang. U want cheaper solution but u also want good.

Look at it this way.... Go to 818 and u pain pain one time spend alot but the satisfaction will last for a long long time. Then the rest will be your self control not to go back so often because it's alot of moolah.

My solution as always? Go pick durian lo. Foc and the thrill of hearing that pop sound and hunting for the elusive fruit = priceless. Not forgetting its organic and utterly delicious :)

foreseer

U want good but don't want exp. U want nearby but u don't want kana chop by geylang. U want cheaper solution but u also want good.

Look at it this way.... Go to 818 and u pain pain one time spend alot but the satisfaction will last for a long long time. Then the rest will be your self control not to go back so often because it's alot of moolah.

My solution as always? Go pick durian lo. Foc and the thrill of hearing that pop sound and hunting for the elusive fruit = priceless. Not forgetting its organic and utterly delicious :)

think i stick to balestier bah

Elloell

The price is on the high side eh .. I just walk past here. It's the one Beside the bus stop at nasi lemak there right

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.